Home >Publications, Resources and Useful Links > Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

STUDY CONDUCTED FOR THE ONTARIO Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration




5. SURVEY OF SETTLEMENT SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS

We conducted an exhaustive survey of all of the organizations that offer welcoming and settlement services to immigrants, whether they speak French or not. This survey was necessary in order to generate a sample of organizations throughout the province for interviews. An Excel database was submitted to MCI. This database contains only information that is available to the public on the websites of the organizations that were surveyed or information on information gateways.

Key information on the organizations surveyed can be found in the schedules. To make this database easier to use, the data are presented alphabetically, by location. To our knowledge, this survey, which identifies the language in which services are offered to immigrants in all sectors, is the first of its kind.

Highlights of our survey of settlement service organizations are described below.

Organizations offering settlement services

Our survey made it possible to identify 189 organizations offering a variety of settlement services to immigrants in Ontario (see Schedule 1 – Organizations offering settlement services).

The websites are revealing. The survey made it possible to identify three types of organizations offering welcoming and settlement services to immigrants:

Our interviews with service providers made it possible to validate this assumption.

Of the 189 organizations identified, 113 did not indicate whether they offer services in French. Seventy-six indicated that French-language services are available.

Of these 76 organizations, 45 indicated that French is one of three, four, five or even more languages of service being offered. Thirty-one organizations indicated that the language of service is French-only or French and English.

An analysis of the websites of these 31 organizations confirms that approximately 12 organizations have a Francophone identity. These are organizations such as ACFO London-Sarnia, Centre de santé communautaire de Hamilton-Niagara, and Contact interculturel francophone de Sudbury.

Approximately 12 organizations appear to actively offer services in French and in English. These are organizations such as the YMCA, the Cornwall & District Immigrant Services Agency, the Ottawa Community immigrant Services Organization, and Brampton Multicultural Community Centre.

Organizations offering language training

Our survey identified 95 organizations in the province that offer language training; 18 of these offer services in French (see Schedule 2 – Organizations Offering Language Training ). These are well-known organizations such as French-language school boards, Collège Boréal, and La Cité collégiale. Other organizations, such as some YMCAs, offer language assessment testing in French.

Organizations Offering Employability Services

Our survey identified 93 organizations that offer immigrants employability services (see Schedule 3 – Organizations Offering Employability Services ). Of these, 54 offer services in French. Once again, our survey made it possible to identify organizations with a Francophone identity and organizations actively offering services in French and English.

Our survey revealed an interesting fact: of the 93 organizations identified, 43 are private-sector organizations, such as Spherion and Drake International. The websites of these firms are all bilingual. The survey counted the regional offices of a single firm, which increased the total number of organizations in the survey.

Settlement Workers in Schools

Settlement workers provide settlement and adaptation services to Francophone immigrants in schools so that they can become adequately integrated into Canadian society. These services include:

The Settlement Workers in Schools Program has been made possible with funding from Citizenship and Immigration Canada.

Table 13 provides a breakdown of these programs in 66 French-language elementary and secondary schools in Ontario’s public and Catholic school systems (for detailed information, see Schedule 4 – Settlement Workers in French Schools).

Table 13 – Settlement Workers in Schools Program, distribution in Ontario’s French-language public and Catholic schools - 2010-2011
Settlement Workers in Schools Program, distribution in Ontario’s French-language public and Catholic schools - 2010-2011
French-language School Boards Elementary Level Secondary Level Total
Public Schools 22 12 34
Catholic Schools 22 10 32
Total 44 22 66

Ethnic and Cultural Organizations

Our research revealed the existence of ethnic and cultural organizations in French-speaking immigrant communities. All of the information presented was taken from public sources, such as websites and information gateways (see Schedule 5 – Ethnic and Cultural Organizations in Immigrant Communities). Our research identified 95 organizations, 91 of which offer services in French. In the case of four organizations, the language of service was not identified. All of these organizations are located in southern Ontario, Ottawa or Ottawa-Gatineau. Approximately 40 organizations are well-established and have a website, an office, and staff who are identified.

Places of Worship

Our research identified 32 Christian places of worship within immigrant communities that offer services in French, in addition to offering services in English or in other languages. In most cases, these are evangelical Christian churches (see Schedule 6 – Christian Places of Worship in Francophone Immigrant Communities). Many Francophone immigrants are also members of Roman Catholic churches, but the websites do not identify these worshippers. Our research identified 137 mosques in Ontario. Their websites did not indicate whether services were offered in French, in addition to other languages (see Schedule 7 – Mosques and Islamic Centres ).

The Media in Francophone Immigrant Communities

Our research identified nine French-language media organizations within immigrant communities. These are primarily newspapers, magazines, and web portals (see Schedule 8 – Media in Francophone Immigrant Communities ).

School Boards Offering Language Courses

Our research identified 41 school boards that receive funding from the province to offer language courses to immigrants (see Schedule 9 – School Boards Offering Language Courses). This list includes five French-language school boards: one Catholic and one public French-language school board in Ottawa, one Catholic and one public French-language school board in North Bay, and one Catholic French-language school board in Windsor.


Table of Contents

Executive Summary
List of Tables
1. Mandate
2. Organization of the Report
3. Demographic Analysis
4. Review of the Literature
5. Survey of Settlement Service Organizations
6. Finding of Our Interviews with Service Providers
7. Findings of Interviews with Francophone Leaders
8. Findings of the Focus Groups
9. French Language Bridge Training Programs
10. Summary of Research Findings
11. Conclusion: Further Avenues for Research
Schedules

Accueil > Publications, ressources et liens utiles > Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

ÉTUDE RÉALISÉE POUR LE Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration – PROVINCE DE L’ONTARIO




5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS

Nous avons réalisé une recension la plus complète possible de tous les organismes qui offrent des services d’accueil et d’établissement aux immigrants, qu’ils soient francophones ou non. Il était nécessaire de faire cette recension afin de construire un échantillon d’organismes partout en province auprès desquels tenir des entrevues. Une banque de données en format Excel a été remise au MACI. Cette base de données contient uniquement des informations publiques disponibles sur les sites Web des organismes recensés, ou encore des informations incluses dans des portails d’information.

Les informations essentielles sur les organismes recensés se trouvent en annexe. Pour faciliter l’utilisation de cette base de données, les données sont présentées en ordre alphabétique selon la localité. À notre connaissance, cette recension des organismes identifiant la langue des services offerts aux immigrants dans tous les secteurs représente une recherche originale.

Les faits saillants de la recension des organismes sont les suivants.

Organismes offrant des services d’accueil et d’établissement

La recension a pu identifier 189 organismes qui offrent des services variés en matière d’accueil et d’établissement d’immigrants en Ontario (voir Annexe 1 - Organismes offrant des services d’accueil et d’établissement).

Les sites Web sont révélateurs. La recension permet de cartographier trois types d’organismes offrant des services d’accueil et d’établissement aux immigrants :

Les entrevues auprès des fournisseurs de services ont permis de valider cette hypothèse.

De ces 189 organismes, 113 organismes n’indiquent pas s’ils offrent des services en français et 76 indiquent que des services en français sont disponibles.

De ces 76 organismes, 45 organismes indiquent que le français est une langue de services parmi trois, quatre ou cinq langues et même plus, alors que 31 organismes indiquent que le français seulement ou le français et l’anglais sont les langues de services.

Une analyse des sites Web de ces 31 organismes permet de comprendre qu’environ une douzaine d’organismes ont une identité francophone. Il s’agit d’organismes tels l’ACFO de London-Sarnia, le Centre de santé communautaire de Hamilton-Niagara et le Contact interculturel francophone de Sudbury, à titre d’exemple.

Environ une douzaine d’organismes semblent avoir une offre active de services en français et en anglais. Il s’agit d’organismes tels certains YMCA, le Centre des immigrants de Cornwall, l’Organisme Communautaire des Services aux Immigrants d’Ottawa (OCISO) et le Centre communautaire multiculturel de Brampton, à titre d’exemple.

Organismes offrant une formation linguistique

La recension a identifié 95 organismes offrant une formation linguistique dans la province, dont 18 offrent des services en français (voir Annexe 2 - Organismes offrant une formation linguistique). Il s’agit d’organismes bien connus tels certains conseils scolaires de langue française, le Collège Boréal et La Cité collégiale. D’autres organismes, notamment certains YMCA, offrent des services en français dans l’évaluation des capacités linguistiques.

Organismes offrant des services en employabilité

La recension a identifié 93 organismes offrant des services en employabilité aux immigrants (voir Annexe 3 - Organismes offrant des services d’employabilité). De ces 93 organismes, 54 offrent des services en français. Encore une fois, la recension permet d’identifier les organismes qui ont une identité francophone et les organismes ayant une offre active en français et en anglais.

La recension relève un fait notable : parmi les 93 organismes identifiés, 43 sont du secteur privé. Il s’agit de firmes bien connues telles Spherion ou Drake International, à titre d’exemple. Les sites Web de ces firmes sont tous bilingues. La recension a relevé les bureaux régionaux d’une même firme, ce qui augmente le nombre total d’organismes recensés.

Travailleurs d’établissement dans les écoles

Des travailleurs et travailleuses en établissement fournissent dans les écoles des services d'établissement et d'adaptation aux immigrants francophones afin qu'ils puissent s'intégrer adéquatement dans la société canadienne. Ces services sont notamment les suivants :

Le programme Travailleurs d’établissement dans les écoles est rendu possible grâce à un financement fourni par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Le Tableau 13 présente la répartition de ces programmes dans 66 écoles élémentaires et secondaires des systèmes catholique et publique de langue française en Ontario (pour les informations détaillées, voir Annexe 4 - Travailleurs d’établissement dans les écoles françaises).

Tableau 13 - Programme Travailleurs d’établissement dans les écoles - répartition dans les écoles françaises catholiques et publiques de l’Ontario - 2010-2011
Programme Travailleurs d’établissement dans les écoles - répartition dans les écoles françaises catholiques et publiques de l’Ontario - 2010-2011
Conseils scolaires de langue française Palier élémentaire Palier secondaire Total
Écoles publiques 22 12 34
Écoles catholiques 22 10 32
Total 44 22 66

Regroupements ethnoculturels

La recherche a recensé les organismes issus des communautés ethnoculturelles francophones. Toutes les informations présentées sont tirées de sources publiques, soit de sites Web ou de portails (voir Annexe 5 - Organismes ethnoculturels issus des communautés immigrantes). La recherche a repéré 95 organismes, dont 91 offrent des services en français. La langue de services n’est pas identifiée dans le cas de quatre organismes. Tous ces organismes se trouvent dans le Sud de l’Ontario et à Ottawa ou Ottawa-Gatineau. Environ quarante (40) organismes sont bien établis et disposent d’un site Web, d’un bureau et d’un personnel identifié.

Lieux de culte

La recherche a identifié 32 lieux de culte chrétiens issus des communautés immigrantes qui offrent des services en français en plus d’offrir des services en anglais ou dans d’autres langues. Il s’agit dans la plupart des cas d’églises du réveil (voir Annexe 6 - Lieux de culte chrétiens issus des communautés immigrantes francophones). De nombreux immigrants francophones sont aussi membres des églises catholiques romaines, mais les sites Web n’identifient pas ces fidèles. La recherche a recensé 137 mosquées en Ontario. Les sites Web n’indiquent pas si les services sont offerts en français, en plus des autres langues (voir Annexe 7 - Mosquées et centres musulmans).

Médias francophones issus des communautés immigrantes

La recherche a identifié neuf (9) médias francophones issus des communautés immigrantes. Il s’agit notamment de journaux, de magazines ou encore de portails Web (voir Annexe 8 - Médias issus des communautés immigrantes francophones).

Conseils scolaires offrant des cours de langue

La recherche a identifié 41 conseils scolaires qui reçoivent un appui de la province pour offrir des cours de langues aux immigrants (voir Annexe 9 - Conseils scolaires offrant des cours de langue). Cette liste compte 5 conseils scolaires de langue française, soit les conseils catholiques et publics de la région d’Ottawa (2) et de la région de North Bay (2) et le conseil scolaire catholique de la région de Windsor (1).


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

SOMMAIRE
LISTE DES TABLEAUX
1. LE MANDAT
2. L’ORGANISATION DU RAPPORT
3. L’ANALYSE DÉMOGRAPHIQUE
4. LA REVUE DOCUMENTAIRE
5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS
6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES
7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES
8. LES RÉSULTATS DES GROUPES TÉMOINS
9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES
10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE
11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES
ANNEXES