Home >Publications, Resources and Useful Links > Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

STUDY CONDUCTED FOR THE ONTARIO Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration




10. SUMMARY OF RESEARCH FINDINGS

10.1 Quantitative Findings

The following quantative findings are based on the demographic analysis and information found on websites.

10.2 Qualitative Findings

Our qualitative findings are based on discussions with 188 persons, 147 of whom were chosen randomly to take part in one of nine focus groups in different regions of the province. Thirty-three of these are individuals working in organizations that offer welcoming and settlement services. Eight are leaders of Francophone organizations.

10.2.1 Strengths

The research identified three strengths, where the welcoming and settlement of Francophone immigrants in Ontario are concerned.

1. According to the research, Francophone immigrant families are very capable of becoming integrated by themselves, relying on advice from more established family members and friends. Approximately 25% of focus group participants had never heard of welcoming and settlement services in French or in English. Approximately 20% reported that they used welcoming services only a few times but had not needed to go back. These individuals were primarily looking for information on their community. Approximately 50% of focus group participants indicated that they had received help with settlement from more firmly established family members and/or friends who had settled in Ontario before them. They reported that they were very satisfied with their immigration process. They prepared themselves well in their country of origin, studying the websites for Canada and for Ontario. When they arrived, they took the time to learn English and spoke it well enough to use it at work. When necessary, they had gone back to school to obtain Canadian equivalencies and, after three, four or five years in the country, they now felt that they were well integrated.

2. The participants expressed a high level of satisfaction with the educational services that are offered to immigrant children in French-language schools, whether public or Catholic. Generally, the French-language schools are a determining factor in the success of Francophone immigration.

3. Another strength identified by the research is the number and relevance of cultural, social, athletic, and religious organizations in Francophone immigrant communities. These organizations do not receive government funding; however, they play an important role in the lives of their members and congregants. Participants in the focus groups reported that Francophone immigrants sometimes had a tendency to limit themselves to the activities of these organizations and were not creating ties with the broader community.

10.2.2 Weaknesses

The research identified four weaknesses in the area of welcoming and settlement services for Francophone immigrants in Ontario.

1. Clearly, the greatest weakness identified by both focus group participants and key respondents from organizations is the difficulty that Francophone immigrants encounter in entering the labour market. Approximately 50% of participants in focus groups reported that they had participated in numerous workshops on employment and had attended discussion groups on employment at the invitation of settlement organizations. When sharing their experience of preparing a résumé, their frustration was palpable. They reported that these activities did not help them with their job search. To date, they do not have a job or are under-employed. This anecdotal evidence echoes the findings of various studies on this topic reported in the media in recent years.

2. Another weakness identified by the research was English language training. Most of the respondents expressed major dissatisfaction with the availability of English language courses and the methodology used. They shared their own personal experiences, but were unable to shed light on the causes of this challenge.

In undated research entitled Helping Newcomers Unlock Their Potential (see http://www.td.com/economics/special/ca0909_literacy.pdf), TD Bank Financial Group published data confirming the challenges Canada must address in teaching English to immigrants. This research analyzed the limitations of the LINC program (Language Instruction for Newcomers to Canada) and offered some possible causes.

The mandate for this research project and the resources allocated to it do not allow us to explore this issue for Francophone immigrants in greater depth. During the research, we found hundreds of Ontario websites, including many that promoted LINC programs. In some cases, we found poor translations that may make the situation difficult for Francophone immigrants. For example, the English version of one LINC website in a region with several thousand Francophone immigrants indicates that clients must bring the original copies of their immigration documents. On this website, the term "landed immigrant" on the English version of the website had been translated as "immigrant clandestin" [illegal immigrant] on the French version. These are small irritations; however, when combined, they create a negative impression.

The participants in the focus groups indicated that they were disoriented and had difficulty navigating the eligibility criteria for language courses. Different programs had different criteria, including citizenship status, mother tongue, and employment situation. These eligibility criteria determine whether an individual must pay for a language course. One observation that can be made is that these participants do not know the criteria for admission to language courses, in particular, English language courses.

In order to work in Ontario, one must speak English. The 2006 Census confirms this4. In Ontario, 28% of workers whose mother tongue is French never use French at work; 25% use English regularly or most often at work, although they do use French. Only 9% of workers use only French at work. In the Greater Toronto Area, 46% of workers whose mother tongue is French never use French at work; 15% use English regularly or most often at work, although they do use French. Only 4% use only French at work.

It is reasonable to conclude that there is a connection between these two challenges. Language difficulties in English no doubt have a major impact on access to paying jobs in the labour market. Key respondents from the colleges confirmed that a lack of English language skills negatively impacts the placement of Francophone immigrant students in work terms (which are primarily English-language in southern Ontario). This then negatively impacts their placement in the labour market.

3. A third weakness concerns the advice provided to newcomers by settlement services. Participants in six of the nine focus groups reported that the staff of welcoming and settlement organizations did not accompany them effectively. Their most common complaint was that settlement workers encouraged them to go on social assistance because they believed that these immigrants were not bilingual enough to get a job and if by chance they got a job, it would not pay enough. The research was unable to validate this claim. We consulted social assistance services in Ottawa on this matter. Their response was that the system provides for an in-depth assessment of the person's situation and level of employability before they are referred to social assistance.

4. Individuals who took part in a program that matched them up with a Canadian family or with an immigrant family that was well-established in Canada reported that they like the program very much. The weakness is that there are few such programs for Francophone immigrants in Ontario. The research did not enable us to determine why this is so.

10.2.3 Best Practices

The research identified five best practices.

1. One employer in northern Ontario recruited Francophone workers overseas to participate in the Destination Canada program. The young men in question had a trade for which there was a shortage of skilled workers in the province. The Francophone employer organized housing for these workers and supported their efforts to bring their families to Canada. Contact interculturel francophone de Sudbury, the local welcoming and settlement organization, has many connections in the community. This organization provides settlement services for these workers. The partnership ensures that these workers are very happy in Canada. These immigrants then start recruiting other workers in their country of origin to come and settle in Canada.

2. ACFO de London-Sarnia successfully brought together several different welcoming and settlement services and employability services for Francophone immigrants in the London-Sarnia region. This made it possible to concentrate French-language services in a region that has few Francophones. Half of the individuals who attended the focus group in this region reported that they had found work thanks to the services offered at this organization's employment resource centre.

3. RDÉE Ontario has a program called La bonne affaire [Opportunities for All]. It offers good training services to Francophone immigrants who want to start a business. Participants reported that they liked the services but added that they did not have access to microcredit funding to start their sole proprietorship or family business.

4. The Settlement Workers in Schools Program is in itself a good practice. The impact of this program was addressed on several occasions during the research. Parents who are aware of this program reported that they appreciated the services their children and, by extension their families, had received. The school support workers supervise young immigrants who are already part way through the immigration process so that they, in turn, can support the integration of newcomers into the school. The fact that the program is already operating in 66 French-language schools in the province is an indication of its success. Some workers reported that they have offices in the schools, which makes their job easier and is conducive to contact with the students.

5. Bridge training programs are a best practice. Key institutional respondents reported that the success rate was in the order of 80%. In other words, 80% of participants succeeded in obtaining and holding a job after participating in these programs. Given the level of investment per participant, such a high success rate is to be expected. Although they are recent, these programs appear to be well-structured and well-delivered. All of the bridge training programs offered in French welcome small number of Francophone immigrants in the province.

Other than the best practices described above, few other best practices were noted by the research. This can be explained by the fact that Francophone welcoming and settlement services are a very recent phenomenon. In many cases, Francophone services have been offered for less than two years. Practices have not yet had a chance to mature, unlike the services offered in English in the Ottawa region, for example. In some cases, Anglophone organizations have been offering welcoming and settlement services for over 30 years. This has enabled these organizations to refine their practices and even to choose where to locate their offices in order to facilitate access for immigrants. Different organizations such as the YMCA and the Catholic Immigration Centre are located on the same street. The participants in some focus groups reported on how handy this was because they could visit both services in a single trip to the city centre.

In other provinces, the Francophone community has created a welcoming and settlement service for immigrants and refugees. In Manitoba, this service has been in place for over seven years. There is already evidence of some interesting best practices. For example, Accueil francophone has a system where Francophone immigrants and refugees are met by staff at the airport. The community has also created interim housing for Francophone immigrants. It should be noted that Manitoba receives 400 to 500 Francophone immigrants per year and that most settle in Winnipeg. As a result, it is relatively easy to organize these services within such a well-defined area.

4See http://www.statcan.gc.ca/bsolc/olc-cel/olc-cel?catno=97-555-XWE2006037&lang=eng


Table of Contents

Executive Summary
List of Tables
1. Mandate
2. Organization of the Report
3. Demographic Analysis
4. Review of the Literature
5. Survey of Settlement Service Organizations
6. Finding of Our Interviews with Service Providers
7. Findings of Interviews with Francophone Leaders
8. Findings of the Focus Groups
9. French Language Bridge Training Programs
10. Summary of Research Findings
11. Conclusion: Further Avenues for Research
Schedules

Accueil > Publications, ressources et liens utiles > Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

ÉTUDE RÉALISÉE POUR LE Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration – PROVINCE DE L’ONTARIO




10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE

10.1 Les constats quantitatifs

Les constats quantitatifs suivants sont fondés sur l’analyse démographique et les informations publiées sur les sites Web.

10.2 Les constats qualitatifs

Les constats qualitatifs sont fondés sur la tenue de discussions avec 188 personnes. Il s’agit de 147 personnes choisies de façon aléatoire et qui ont participé à l’une des 9 rencontres de groupes témoins dans différentes régions de la province, de 33 personnes œuvrant dans des organismes offrant des services d’accueil et d’établissement et de 8 chefs de file d’organismes francophones.

10.2.1 Les points forts

La recherche a identifié trois points forts en matière d’accueil et d’établissement des immigrants francophones en Ontario.

1. Selon la recherche, les familles immigrantes francophones font preuve d’une grande capacité à s’intégrer par elles-mêmes en Ontario, en ayant recours aux conseils de leurs amis et de leurs proches déjà établis. Environ 25 % des participants aux groupes témoins n’avaient jamais entendu parler de services d’accueil et d’établissement, ni en français ni en anglais. Environ 20 % des gens ont indiqué avoir utilisé des services d’accueil à quelques reprises seulement à leur arrivée, mais qu’ils n’avaient plus besoin d’y retourner par la suite. Ces gens cherchaient surtout des informations factuelles sur leur localité. Environ 50 % des participants aux groupes témoins indiquaient qu’ils ont reçu de l’aide de leur famille et/ou de leurs amis qui vivaient en Ontario avant eux pour faciliter leur établissement. Ces personnes se disent très satisfaites de leur projet d’immigration en Ontario. Elles se sont bien préparées dans leur pays d’origine en étudiant attentivement les sites Web du Canada et de l’Ontario. Elles ont investi le temps nécessaire à leur arrivée pour apprendre l’anglais et le maîtriser suffisamment pour pouvoir l’utiliser au travail. Elles ont refait des études pour obtenir leurs titres de compétence canadiens au besoin et elles se sentent maintenant bien intégrées au Canada après trois, quatre ou cinq années au pays.

2. Les participants ont exprimé un haut niveau de satisfaction concernant les services éducatifs offerts aux enfants immigrants dans les écoles de langue française, qu’elles soient publiques ou catholiques. D’une manière générale, les écoles de langue française sont un des déterminants du succès de l’immigration francophone.

3. Le nombre et la pertinence des organismes culturels, sociaux, sportifs ou religieux issus des communautés immigrantes francophones constituent un autre point fort identifié par la recherche. Ces organismes ne reçoivent pas de fonds des gouvernements, mais jouent un rôle important dans la vie de leurs membres et de leurs fidèles. Les participants aux groupes témoins affirment cependant que les immigrants francophones ont parfois trop tendance à participer uniquement aux activités de ces organismes et n’établissent pas assez de liens avec la communauté dans son ensemble.

10.2.2 Les points faibles

La recherche a identifié quatre points faibles en matière d’accueil et d’établissement des immigrants francophones en Ontario.

1. Les difficultés d’intégration au marché du travail représentent sans équivoque le point faible le plus important identifié dans la recherche, tant par les participants aux groupes témoins que par les répondants clés des organismes. Environ 50 % des participants aux groupes témoins affirment qu’ils ont participé à de nombreux ateliers sur l’emploi et à des rencontres de partage concernant l’emploi à l’invitation des organismes d’établissement. Les gens expriment une frustration palpable lorsqu’ils partagent leurs expériences de rédaction d’un curriculum vitae. Ils rapportent que ces activités n’ont pas aidé à la recherche de l’emploi. À ce jour, ces gens n’ont pas d’emploi ou sont sous-employés. Ces propos anecdotiques reflètent les conclusions de diverses études sur cet enjeu qui ont été médiatisées au cours des dernières années.

2. Un second point faible identifié dans la recherche concerne l’apprentissage de l’anglais. La majorité des répondants ont exprimé une insatisfaction importante concernant la disponibilité et la méthodologie des cours d’apprentissage de l’anglais. Les participants ont partagé leur vécu, mais ils n’ont pas pu approfondir la réflexion sur les causes de ce défi.

Dans une recherche non datée intitulée Helping Newcomers Unlock Their Potentiel (voir http://www.td.com/economics/special/ca0909_literacy.pdf), ), le Groupe financier Banque TD a publié une série de données confirmant les défis à relever au Canada dans l’enseignement de l’anglais aux immigrants. Cette recherche analyse notamment les limites de la performance du programme CLIC (Cours de langue pour immigrants au Canada ou, en anglais, Language Instruction for Newcomers to Canada - LINC) et présente des causes possibles.

Le mandat de ce projet et les ressources allouées ne permettent pas d’approfondir davantage cet enjeu pour les immigrants francophones. Durant la recherche, nous avons recensé des centaines de sites Web de l’Ontario, incluant plusieurs qui font la promotion des programmes CLIC. Nous avons décelé dans certains cas des traductions désolantes qui peuvent rendre la situation difficile pour des immigrants francophones. À titre d’exemple, la version anglaise d’un site Web LINC dans une région où vivent quelques milliers d’immigrants francophones indique que les clients doivent apporter les originaux de leurs documents d’immigration. Sur ce site, le terme « landed immigrant » du site anglais est traduit par l’expression « immigrants clandestin » (sic) sur le site français. Ce sont des petites frustrations qui, ajoutées aux autres, créent une impression négative chez les gens.

Enfin, des participants aux groupes témoins indiquaient qu’ils étaient désorientés et avaient de la difficulté à démêler les critères d’admissibilité aux cours de langue. Différents programmes ont différents critères, dont le statut de citoyenneté, la langue maternelle ou la situation d’emploi, à titre d’exemple. Ces critères d’admissibilité déterminent entre autres si une personne doit payer ou non pour s’inscrire à un cours de langue. Le constat qui se dégage est que ces participants ne connaissent pas les critères pour l’admission aux cours de langue, notamment ceux de langue anglaise.

La maîtrise de l’anglais est une nécessité pour travailler en Ontario. Les données du Recensement 2006 le confirment . En Ontario, quelque 28 % des travailleurs de langue maternelle française n’utilisent jamais le français au travail et quelque 25 % utilisent l’anglais régulièrement ou le plus souvent au travail, tout en utilisant le français. Seulement 9 % des travailleurs n’utilisent que le français au travail. Dans le grand Toronto, quelque 46 % des travailleurs de langue maternelle française n’utilisent jamais le français au travail et quelque 15 % utilisent l’anglais régulièrement ou le plus souvent au travail, tout en utilisant le français. Seulement 4 % utilisent seulement le français au travail.

Il serait raisonnable de croire qu’il y a un lien entre ces deux premiers défis. Les difficultés langagières en anglais ont sans doute un effet important sur l’accès au marché du travail dans des emplois rémunérateurs. Des répondants clés des collèges ont confirmé que le manque d’habiletés en anglais nuit au placement d’étudiants issus de l’immigration francophone dans des milieux de stage (qui sont surtout anglophones dans le Sud de la province) et nuit par la suite au placement sur le marché du travail.

3. Un troisième point faible concerne les avis donnés par les organismes qui donnent des services aux nouveaux arrivants. Des participants dans six des neuf groupes témoins estiment que le personnel dans les organismes d’accueil et d’établissement ne les accompagne pas de façon efficace. La plainte exprimée le plus souvent est la suivante. Ces participants considèrent que les agents les incitent à vivre de l’aide sociale, parce qu’ils estiment que ces immigrants ne sont pas assez bilingues pour décrocher un emploi et que si par chance ils décrochaient un emploi, cet emploi ne serait pas bien rémunéré. La recherche n’a pas pu valider le bien-fondé de cette affirmation. Nous avons consulté les services d’aide sociale à Ottawa concernant cette question. Leur réponse était que le système prévoit une évaluation approfondie de la situation de la personne et de son degré d’employabilité avant de la diriger vers l’aide sociale.

4. Les programmes de jumelage avec les familles canadiennes ou avec les familles immigrantes arrivées au Canada depuis longtemps sont très appréciés par les gens qui y ont participé. Le point faible est qu’il y a peu de programmes de jumelage destinés aux francophones en Ontario. La recherche n’a pas permis d’expliquer pourquoi cette situation persiste.

10.2.3 Les pratiques exemplaires

La recherche a identifié cinq pratiques exemplaires.

1. Dans le Nord de l’Ontario, un employeur a recruté des travailleurs francophones de l’étranger en participant au programme Destination Canada. Les jeunes hommes en question pratiquent un métier pour lequel il n’y a pas assez de main-d’œuvre dans la province. L’employeur francophone a organisé le logement pour ces travailleurs et appuie leurs démarches pour faire venir leur famille. Le Contact interculturel francophone de Sudbury, l’organisme d’accueil et d’établissement local, est bien branché dans sa communauté. Cet organisme assure les services d’établissement pour ces travailleurs. Le partenariat fait en sorte que ces immigrants sont très heureux au Canada. Ces immigrants commencent à leur tour à recruter des compatriotes pour qu’ils viennent s’installer au Canada.

2. L’ACFO de London-Sarnia a réussi à regrouper plusieurs services d’accueil et d’établissement ainsi que des services d’employabilité pour les immigrants francophones de sa région. Cette approche a permis de concentrer efficacement les services en français dans une région où les francophones sont peu nombreux. La moitié des gens présents au groupe témoin dans cette région ont confirmé qu’ils ont obtenu leur emploi grâce aux services offerts par le centre de ressources à l’emploi de cet organisme.

3. Le projet La bonne affaire de RDÉE Ontario offre de bons services de formation à des immigrants francophones désireux de se lancer en affaires. Les participants confirment qu’ils apprécient les services, mais ajoutent qu’ils n’ont pas accès à un financement de microcrédit pour lancer leur petite entreprise individuelle ou familiale.

4. Le programme Travailleurs d’établissement dans les écoles est en soi une bonne pratique. L’effet de ce programme a été abordé à différentes occasions dans le cadre de la recherche. Les parents qui connaissent ce programme indiquaient qu’ils appréciaient les services rendus à leurs enfants et, par extension, aux familles. Les travailleurs encadrent les jeunes immigrants qui ont déjà un certain parcours d’immigration pour qu’eux, à leur tour, facilitent l’intégration des nouveaux immigrants dans les écoles. Le fait que le programme soit déjà implanté dans 66 écoles françaises de la province témoigne de son succès. Certains travailleurs ont indiqué que leurs bureaux sont situés dans les écoles, ce qui facilite leur tâche et favorise leurs contacts avec les étudiants.

5. Les programmes de formation relais constituent une pratique exemplaire. Les répondants clés des institutions indiquent que le taux de succès est de l’ordre de 80 %, c’est-à-dire que 80 % des participants obtiennent et maintiennent un emploi après avoir participé à ces programmes. Compte tenu du niveau de ressources investies par participant, on doit s’attendre à un taux de succès élevé. Bien que récents, ces programmes semblent bien structurés et bien livrés. Tous les programmes de formation relais offerts en français accueillent de petits nombres d’immigrants francophones dans la province.

Peu de pratiques exemplaires, outre celles-ci, ont été notées par la recherche. Cela s’explique par le fait que les services d’accueil et d’établissement francophones sont très récents. Dans plusieurs cas, les services sont en place depuis moins de deux ans. Le processus de maturation des pratiques n’a pas encore eu lieu, alors que c’est le cas pour les services offerts en anglais à Ottawa, à titre d’exemple. Des organismes anglophones offrent des services d’accueil et d’établissement depuis plus de 30 ans dans certains cas. Cette longue expérience a permis aux organismes de raffiner leurs interventions et même de choisir le lieu d’aménagement de leurs bureaux afin de faciliter l’accès pour les immigrants. Par exemple, différents organismes tels le YMCA et le Catholic Immigration Center sont situés sur la même rue. Les participants à certains groupes témoins ont indiqué comment cela leur rendait service, puisqu’ils peuvent aller d’un service à l’autre durant la même visite au centre-ville.

Dans d’autres provinces, la communauté francophone a lancé un service d’accueil et d’établissement pour les immigrants et les réfugiés; dans le cas du Manitoba, ce service est en place depuis plus de 7 ans. Déjà, on peut y voir émerger des pratiques exemplaires intéressantes. Par exemple, l’Accueil francophone a établi un système par lequel le personnel rencontre les immigrants et réfugiés francophones à l’aéroport même. La communauté a aussi organisé un site pour loger temporairement les immigrants francophones. Il faut signaler que la province reçoit quelque 400 à 500 immigrants francophones par année et que la très grande majorité s’établit à Winnipeg même. Il est donc relativement facile d’organiser ces services, puisque la zone géographique desservie est bien circonscrite.

4Voir http://www.statcan.gc.ca/bsolc/olc-cel/olc-cel?catno=97-555-XWF2006037&lang=fra


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

SOMMAIRE
LISTE DES TABLEAUX
1. LE MANDAT
2. L’ORGANISATION DU RAPPORT
3. L’ANALYSE DÉMOGRAPHIQUE
4. LA REVUE DOCUMENTAIRE
5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS
6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES
7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES
8. LES RÉSULTATS DES GROUPES TÉMOINS
9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES
10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE
11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES
ANNEXES