Home >Publications, Resources and Useful Links > Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

STUDY CONDUCTED FOR THE ONTARIO Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration


 

1. MANDATE

This report was prepared in response to a request for proposals from the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration (MCI).

The Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration welcomes newcomers in addition to supporting and promoting equal opportunities and measures for responsible citizenship and voluntarism, in the economic and social interests of Ontario’s communities. The Ministry has a mission to build a province in which newcomers are warmly welcomed, diversity is celebrated, voluntarism is valued and recognized, and people are engaged in working together to improve quality of life for everyone.

The Immigration Policy Branch and the Immigration Programs Branch support the social and economic integration of newcomers by developing policies and offering a number of programs, specifically, settlement services, language training, and labour market integration. The Ministry funds third-party organizations to deliver a wide range of programs such as the Newcomer Settlement Program, the Ontario Bridge Training programs, the Language Interpreter Services Program, and Ontario’s Community Builders. Settlement services are offered in a variety of languages to meet the needs of newcomers to Ontario.

Francophones have lived in Ontario for over 350 years. The preamble to the French Language Services Act (1986) states that the Legislative Assembly recognizes the contribution of the cultural heritage of the French speaking population and wishes to preserve it for future generations. Supporting immigration in Francophone communities is one way of ensuring that they continue to flourish. After Quebec, Ontario is the province that welcomes the greatest number of Francophone newcomers to Canada.

MCI is committed to ensuring that Francophone newcomers receive services in French that enable them to fully participate in all areas of life in Canada and that optimize the benefits of their participation in, and contribution to, Canadian society.

The overall objective of the study is to help MCI to better understand the strengths, weaknesses, best practices, and gaps in the settlement services offered to Francophone newcomers to Ontario. MCI is also interested in the challenges and obstacles that Francophone newcomers face in accessing services in French that are adapted to their needs.

The mandate of the study is to perform the following tasks:

In the context of this study, the following terms and expressions have the following definitions:

"Francophone Newcomer": refers to a newcomer:

  • whose mother tongue, with or without another language, is French;
  • whose mother tongue is not one of the official languages (i.e., who is an Allophone), and who, of Canada’s two official languages, speaks only French;
  • whose mother tongue is not one of the official languages; who speaks both French and English; and who usually speaks either a language that is not an official language or French, alone or in combination with another language, in the home.
  • This meets the new Inclusive Definition of Francophone (IDF) introduced by the Government of Ontario in June 2009 (see http://www.ofa.gov.on.ca/en/news-090604.html)

    "Organization delivering services": refers to a non-government organization that delivers services to immigrants, refugees, and refugee claimants.

    "Settlement services": these services include client needs assessment, support in settlement and orientation, information and orientation, counselling, language training, interpretation and translation services, and employment support services such as help finding work, writing a résumé and preparing for an interview, labour market integration, and career planning.

    The mandate of the study required us to perform the following tasks:

    1. The preparation of a preliminary report with a review of the literature on the settlement and integration of Francophone newcomers in Ontario.

    2. A series of consultations with Francophone newcomers and French-language service providers (Francophone and non-Francophone organizations). These consultations included conversations with key leaders in the Francophone community, Francophone newcomers whether or not they had used settlement services adapted to their needs (by means of a sample of Francophone newcomers from various regions of Ontario), and with representatives from a variety of service providers (small, large, exclusively Francophone, bilingual).

    3. In the context of the consultations, we examined the strengths, weaknesses, and quality of settlement services for Francophone newcomers to Ontario. We also examined best practices and gaps in services.

    In accordance with the mandate, the final report had to address the strengths, weaknesses, best practices, and gaps in the settlement services adapted and offered to Francophone newcomers to Ontario. It had to include:

    1. A summary including the main research findings and the impact in terms of policy-making;

    2. An analysis of the information collected during the consultations;

    3. An overview of the links between our review of the literature and our conclusions.


    Table of Contents

    Executive Summary
    List of Tables
    1. Mandate
    2. Organization of the Report
    3. Demographic Analysis
    4. Review of the Literature
    5. Survey of Settlement Service Organizations
    6. Finding of Our Interviews with Service Providers
    7. Findings of Interviews with Francophone Leaders
    8. Findings of the Focus Groups
    9. French Language Bridge Training Programs
    10. Summary of Research Findings
    11. Conclusion: Further Avenues for Research
    Schedules

Accueil > Publications, ressources et liens utiles > Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

ÉTUDE RÉALISÉE POUR LE Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration – PROVINCE DE L’ONTARIO




1. LE MANDAT

Ce rapport a été réalisé en réponse à une demande de proposition du Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration (MACI).

Le Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration (MACI) accueille les nouveaux arrivants en plus de soutenir et de promouvoir l’égalité des chances ainsi que les mesures citoyennes et bénévoles responsables, dans l’intérêt économique et social des collectivités de l’Ontario. Le Ministère s’est donné pour mission de bâtir une province au sein de laquelle les nouveaux arrivants sont chaleureusement accueillis, où la diversité est célébrée, où le bénévolat est valorisé et reconnu, et où la population s'engage à travailler de concert pour améliorer la qualité de vie de tout un chacun.

La Direction des politiques d’immigration et la Direction des programmes d’immigration appuient l’intégration sociale et économique des nouveaux arrivants en élaborant des politiques et en offrant un certain nombre de programmes, notamment des services d’établissement, de formation linguistique et d’intégration sur le marché du travail. Le Ministère subventionne des organismes tiers pour offrir un vaste éventail de programmes tels que le Programme d’aide à l’établissement des nouveaux arrivants, les programmes ontariens de formation relais, le Programme de services d’interprétation et le programme Bâtisseurs communautaires de l’Ontario. Des services d’établissement sont fournis dans une variété de langues pour répondre aux besoins des divers nouveaux arrivants de l’Ontario.

La présence francophone en Ontario remonte à plus de 350 ans. Dans son préambule, la Loi sur les services en français (1986) souligne que l’Assemblée législative reconnaît l’apport du patrimoine culturel de la population francophone et désire le sauvegarder pour les générations à venir. Favoriser l’immigration dans les communautés francophones est un moyen d’œuvrer afin de préserver leur vitalité. Après le Québec, l’Ontario est la province qui accueille le plus grand nombre de nouveaux arrivants francophones au Canada.

Le MACI s’engage à faire en sorte que les nouveaux arrivants francophones reçoivent des services en français qui leur permettent de participer pleinement à tous les aspects de la vie canadienne et qui optimisent les avantages de leur participation et de leur contribution à la société canadienne.

L’objectif global de l’étude est d’aider le MACI à mieux comprendre les points forts, les points faibles, les pratiques exemplaires et les lacunes dans les services d’établissement offerts aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario. Le MACI s’intéresse également aux défis et obstacles auxquels les nouveaux arrivants francophones sont confrontés pour accéder à des services en français qui sont adaptés aux nouveaux arrivants francophones.

Le mandat de l’étude est d’effectuer les tâches suivantes :

Dans le cadre de cette étude, les mots et expressions ci-après s’entendent de la façon suivante :

« Nouvel arrivant francophone » : il s’agit d’un nouvel arrivant qui présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • sa langue maternelle, seule ou avec une autre langue, est le français;
  • sa langue maternelle n’est pas une des langues officielles (allophones), et des deux langues officielles, il ne connaît que le français ;
  • sa langue maternelle n’est pas une des langues officielles; il connaît à la fois le français et l’anglais et parle le plus souvent soit une langue non officielle soit le français, seul ou avec une autre langue, à la maison.
  • Cela est conforme à la nouvelle définition inclusive de francophone (DIF) annoncée par le gouvernement de l’Ontario en juin 2009 (voir http://www.ofa.gov.on.ca/fr/annonces-090604.html).

    « Organisme de prestation de services » : il s’agit d’un organisme non gouvernemental servant les immigrants, les réfugiés ou les demandeurs du statut de réfugié.

    « Services d’établissement » : ces services comprennent, entre autres, l’évaluation des besoins des clients, l’aide en matière d’établissement et d’orientation, l’information et l’orientation, le counselling, la formation linguistique, les services d’interprétation et de traduction, de même que les services de soutien à l’emploi comme l’aide à la recherche d’emploi et la préparation du curriculum vitae et de l’entrevue, l’intégration sur le marché du travail et la planification de la carrière.

    Le mandat accordé prévoyait l’exécution des tâches suivantes :

    1. La production d’un rapport préliminaire présentant un examen de la documentation sur l’établissement et l’intégration des nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario.

    2. La tenue d’une série de consultations auprès de nouveaux arrivants francophones et de fournisseurs de services en français (organismes francophones et non francophones). Les consultations ont inclus des conversations avec les principaux leaders dans la communauté francophone, avec des nouveaux arrivants francophones qui utilisent ou non des services d’établissement adaptés aux nouveaux arrivants francophones (en prévoyant un échantillon de nouveaux arrivants francophones diversifié sur le plan géographique en Ontario), de même qu’avec des représentants d’une variété de types de fournisseurs de services (petit, grand, exclusivement francophone, bilingue).

    3. Dans le cadre des consultations, il convenait d’examiner les points forts, les points faibles et la qualité des services d’établissement adaptés aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario. Les consultations devaient aussi examiner les pratiques exemplaires et les lacunes dans les services.

    Selon le mandat, le rapport final doit traiter des points forts, des points faibles, des pratiques exemplaires et des lacunes dans les services d’établissement adaptés et offerts aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario. Le rapport doit comprendre :

    1. Un sommaire comprenant les principales conclusions de la recherche et les retombées sur le plan des politiques;

    2. Une analyse de l’information recueillie dans le cadre des consultations;

    3. Un aperçu des liens entre l’examen de la documentation et les conclusions.


    TABLE DES MATIÈRES

    SOMMAIRE
    LISTE DES TABLEAUX
    1. LE MANDAT
    2. L’ORGANISATION DU RAPPORT
    3. L’ANALYSE DÉMOGRAPHIQUE
    4. LA REVUE DOCUMENTAIRE
    5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS
    6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES
    7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES
    8. LES RÉSULTATS DES GROUPES TÉMOINS
    9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES
    10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE
    11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES
    ANNEXES