Home >Publications, Resources and Useful Links > Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

STUDY CONDUCTED FOR THE ONTARIO Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration




9. FRENCH LANGUAGE BRIDGE TRAINING PROGRAMS

The three French-language postsecondary institutions that offer bridge training programs for foreign-trained professionals in Ontario took part in the research: Collège Boréal, La Cité collégiale, and the Alfred Campus of Guelph University. French-language bridge training programs are a fairly recent phenomenon in Ontario; most of these programs were created between 2008 and 2010. The oldest programs were introduced between 2003 and 2004 in the form of pilot projects and became regular programs around 2008. Descriptions of the bridge training programs are available on the websites of these institutions and are therefore not provided here.

Approximately 400 Francophone immigrants received support from these institutions to enter the labour market. It is not possible to calculate the benefit of the bridge programs alone, because immigrants also take Occupation-Specific Language Training (OSLT), Language Instruction for Newcomers to Canada (LINC), and Enhanced Language Training (ELT) with an employability component, which in some cases included a supervised work term.

During the interviews, key respondents from these institutions confirmed that the challenges encountered by immigrants related to their knowledge of the English language, their lack of Canadian experience, and their lack of professional references from Canada, other than academic credentials. Students who register in these programs come from North Africa, East Africa, and Central Africa. Many clients come from Latin America, the West Indies, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East. Recently, there has been an increase in clients from Asia.

Respondents report that approximately 80% of the graduates of bridge training programs find employment. Approximately 20% are still looking for work for a variety of reasons, including insufficient knowledge of English, difficulty adapting to Canadian business culture, and onerous family responsibilities.

Not all students registered in a bridge training program achieve their objective. Some drop out of the program due to multiple personal, family, and systemic challenges: learning difficulties, adaptation difficulties, psychological problems due to trauma, difficulty obtaining equivalence for foreign training and experience, restricted access to certain professions, a difficult personal economic situation, and so forth.

The challenges that these professionals encounter in becoming integrated often have to do with their language skills in English and their ability to adapt to the Canadian business culture or with certain forms of discrimination that persist in certain communities and sectors. The main difficulties in finding a work placement are the negative perception that certain employers have of immigrants, particularly where their knowledge of English is concerned. Another challenge mentioned was the inability of some students to take constructive criticism from employers during work terms.


Table of Contents

Executive Summary
List of Tables
1. Mandate
2. Organization of the Report
3. Demographic Analysis
4. Review of the Literature
5. Survey of Settlement Service Organizations
6. Finding of Our Interviews with Service Providers
7. Findings of Interviews with Francophone Leaders
8. Findings of the Focus Groups
9. French Language Bridge Training Programs
10. Summary of Research Findings
11. Conclusion: Further Avenues for Research
Schedules

Accueil > Publications, ressources et liens utiles >Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

ÉTUDE RÉALISÉE POUR LE Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration – PROVINCE DE L’ONTARIO




9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES

Les trois institutions postsecondaires francophones qui offrent des programmes de formation relais aux diplômés internationaux en Ontario ont participé à la recherche. Il s’agit du Collège Boréal, de La Cité collégiale et de l’Université de Guelph, Campus d’Alfred. Les projets de formation relais de l’Ontario dispensés en français sont assez récents, la majorité de ces programmes ayant vu le jour entre 2008 et 2010. Les plus anciens ont été mis sur pied entre 2003 et 2004 sous forme de projets pilotes et ils sont devenus des programmes réguliers vers 2008. Les descriptions des programmes relais sont disponibles sur les sites Web des institutions et nous ne les reprenons pas ici.

Quelque 400 immigrants francophones ont bénéficié d’un appui soutenu offert par ces institutions en vue d’intégrer le marché du travail. Il n’a pas été possible de cerner uniquement les effets des programmes relais, puisque les immigrants bénéficient aussi des programmes de langue dont la Formation linguistique axée sur les professions (FLAP), les Cours de langue pour les immigrants au Canada (CLIC) et les Cours de langue de niveau avancé (CLNA) avec une composante en employabilité, incluant des stages supervisés dans certains cas.

Lors d’entrevues, les répondants clés de ces institutions ont confirmé que les défis que rencontrent les immigrants dans leur intégration sont liés à la connaissance de la langue anglaise, au manque d’expérience canadienne et au manque de références professionnelles canadiennes, autres qu’académiques. Les étudiants inscrits viennent notamment des pays de l’Afrique du Nord, de l’Afrique de l’Est et de l’Afrique Centrale. Une clientèle importante provient des pays d’Amérique latine, des Antilles, de l’Europe de l’Est et du Moyen-Orient. De plus, il y a eu récemment une augmentation de la clientèle asiatique.

Les répondants affirment qu’environ 80 % des finissants des programmes relais trouvent un emploi. Environ 20 % sont toujours à la recherche d’un emploi pour diverses raisons, dont les suivantes : le niveau d’anglais est trop faible; les gens connaissent des difficultés d’adaptation à la culture canadienne en entreprise; ou les responsabilités familiales sont trop exigeantes.

Tous les étudiants inscrits dans les programmes relais n’arrivent pas à atteindre leur objectif. Certains d’entre eux décrochent. Le décrochage est lié à de multiples défis personnels, familiaux et systémiques, notamment les difficultés d’apprentissage, les difficultés d’adaptation, les problèmes psychologiques suite à des traumatismes, la difficulté de faire reconnaître ses diplômes et ses acquis, l’accès restreint à certaines professions, la situation économique personnelle difficile, ainsi de suite.

Les défis que rencontrent ces professionnels dans leur intégration sont souvent liés à leurs capacités langagières en anglais et à leur capacité d’adaptation à la culture canadienne en entreprise, ou encore aux enjeux d’une certaine forme de discrimination encore présente dans certaines communautés et dans certains secteurs. Les principales difficultés pour le placement en milieu de stage sont la perception négative de certains employeurs à l’égard de la clientèle immigrante, notamment en ce qui concerne la connaissance de l’anglais. Enfin, le manque de flexibilité de certains étudiants face à la critique constructive des employeurs lors des stages est aussi rapporté comme enjeu.


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

SOMMAIRE
LISTE DES TABLEAUX
1. LE MANDAT
2. L’ORGANISATION DU RAPPORT
3. L’ANALYSE DÉMOGRAPHIQUE
4. LA REVUE DOCUMENTAIRE
5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS
6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES
7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES
8. LES RÉSULTATS DES GROUPES TÉMOINS
9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES
10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE
11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES
ANNEXES