Home >Publications, Resources and Useful Links > Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

STUDY CONDUCTED FOR THE ONTARIO Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration




7. FINDINGS OF INTERVIEWS WITH FRANCOPHONE LEADERS

Our research methodology called for interviews with eight organizations in Francophone immigrant communities. These organizations offer their members a variety of services such as athletic activities for young people, social and cultural activities for members of the public, training in cultural competency, and general information.

Seven of the eight organizations that were invited to do so participated in the research. Six of the seven are not-for-profit organizations. Some have 100 members; others have 200 members; and one has 700 members. Others have no members but offer services to a diverse clientele.

Representatives of these organizations report that the overwhelming majority of their members immigrated to Ontario directly. Fewer than 20% of their members immigrated to another part of Canada, then moved to Ontario. All were aware of the welcoming and settlement organizations in their region and, if necessary, referred their members. Most had tacit, informal partnerships with welcoming and settlement organizations.

The respondents reported that the overwhelming majority of their members enrolled their children in local French-language schools. Only a small number of immigrants preferred English-language schools or immersion programs. On the other hand, the respondents reported that many of their members’ children pursued a postsecondary education at a college or university in English. According to the respondents, these individuals believed that getting a postsecondary education in English would help their economic integration in Ontario. In some regions, in particular in Toronto, this was because of the availability of programs.

The respondents shared their opinions on the integration of members of their organization in Ontario. The challenges are mainly related to economic integration, which has an impact on cultural and social integration.

The respondents suggested various ways to promote the integration of Francophone immigrants in Ontario. They suggested an advertising campaign to explain the value of Francophone immigration to Ontario, training in cultural competency, and work with employers to support them to hire immigrants.


Table of Contents

Executive Summary
List of Tables
1. Mandate
2. Organization of the Report
3. Demographic Analysis
4. Review of the Literature
5. Survey of Settlement Service Organizations
6. Finding of Our Interviews with Service Providers
7. Findings of Interviews with Francophone Leaders
8. Findings of the Focus Groups
9. French Language Bridge Training Programs
10. Summary of Research Findings
11. Conclusion: Further Avenues for Research
Schedules

Accueil > Publications, ressources et liens utiles >Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

ÉTUDE RÉALISÉE POUR LE Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration – PROVINCE DE L’ONTARIO




7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES

La méthodologie de la recherche prévoyait la tenue d’entrevues avec huit (8) organismes issus des communautés immigrantes francophones. Ces organismes offrent à leurs membres des services variés comme des activités sportives pour les jeunes, des activités sociales et culturelles pour le public, des formations en compétences culturelles et des informations générales.

Sept (7) organismes parmi les huit organismes invités ont participé à la recherche. Six organismes parmi les sept sont constitués en société à but non lucratif. Certains comptent 100 membres, d’autres 200 membres et un organisme compte 700 membres. D’autres n’ont pas de membres, mais offrent des services à une clientèle diversifiée.

Les représentants de ces organismes rapportent que la très grande majorité de leurs membres ont immigré directement en Ontario. Moins de 20 % des membres ont immigré ailleurs au Canada avant de déménager en Ontario. Tous les organismes connaissent les organismes d’accueil et d’établissement de leurs régions et y dirigent leurs membres au besoin. La plupart ont établi un partenariat tacite et informel avec les organismes d’accueil et d’établissement.

Les répondants affirment que la très grande majorité de leurs membres inscrivent leurs enfants dans les écoles de langue française de leur localité. Seul un petit nombre d’immigrants préfère l’école anglaise ou l’école d’immersion. Par contre, les répondants affirment aussi qu’une partie importante des enfants de leurs membres poursuivent des études postsecondaires en anglais, dans les collèges ou les universités. Selon les répondants, ces personnes perçoivent qu’une éducation postsecondaire en anglais favorisera davantage leur intégration économique en Ontario. Dans certaines régions, notamment à Toronto, il s’agit d’une question de disponibilité de programmes.

Les répondants ont partagé leurs opinions concernant le succès de l’intégration des membres de leur organisme en Ontario. Les défis sont surtout liés à l’intégration économique et se répercutent sur l’intégration culturelle et sociale.

Les répondants proposent diverses actions pour favoriser l’intégration des immigrants francophones en Ontario. Entre autres, on souligne l’utilité de campagnes de publicité pour expliquer la valeur ajoutée de l’immigration francophone en Ontario, de la formation en compétences culturelles et du travail auprès des employeurs pour appuyer l’embauche d’immigrants.


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

SOMMAIRE
LISTE DES TABLEAUX
1. LE MANDAT
2. L’ORGANISATION DU RAPPORT
3. L’ANALYSE DÉMOGRAPHIQUE
4. LA REVUE DOCUMENTAIRE
5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS
6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES
7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES
8. LES RÉSULTATS DES GROUPES TÉMOINS
9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES
10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE
11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES
ANNEXES