Home >Publications, Resources and Useful Links > Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

STUDY CONDUCTED FOR THE ONTARIO Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration




6. FINDINGS OF OUR INTERVIEWS WITH SERVICE PROVIDERS

Participation in Interviews

Together with MCI, we identified 41 organizations offering welcoming and settlement services that we would approach for interviews. The goal was to determine how many Francophone immigrants were served by these organizations, the strengths and challenges involved with these services, and suggestions for action steps. The organizations identified are in all parts of the province. They represent a sampling of small and large organizations and offer a wide range of welcoming and settlement services.

Of these 41 organizations:

The interview questionnaire was emailed to all of these groups, along with a letter of introduction prepared by MCI. There were three follow-up telephone calls to each organization, including one before the mailing and two after the mailing, if necessary. We communicated in English with the five organizations that do not offer services in French. With all of the other organizations, we communicated in French because they had indicated that they offered services in French.

Of the 41 organizations targeted, we were successful in reaching representatives of 33 organizations in person. The findings are as follows:

Observations from our Interviews

All seven Francophone organizations participated in the research. Of the 29 organizations that stated that they offered services in French, six participated in the research and answered the questions primarily in French. None of the five English-only organizations participated.

Year in which Organizations were Founded

Most Anglophone organizations were founded in the 1970s or 1980s or introduced immigrant programs during these decades. The Francophone organizations were founded more recently, for the most part in the late 1990s or introduced immigrant programs around the year 2000. Generally speaking, Francophone organizations and programs were established 15 to 20 years after Anglophone organizations and programs.

Number of Francophone Immigrants Served

The Anglophone organizations reported that the number of Francophone immigrants they serve is minimal. Some were very specific, indicating, for example, 18 individuals out of 740. Others gave an approximate number, for example 20% of the 2,000 individuals served. Yet others reported that they did not compile statistics for their programs as a whole.

The Francophone organizations reported that the overwhelming majority of clients served are Francophones. The precision of their data varies; some organizations were very precise. One reported that it had received 182 immigrants in the past 12 months. Others were less precise, reporting that the number was somewhere between 600 and 1,000.

As a result, it is difficult to provide an exact figure for the number of Francophone immigrants served by the 15 organizations that participated in the research. The approximate number is 6,000 individuals per year: 2,000 in Toronto, 2,500 in Ottawa, 1,200 in the London-Windsor corridor, and 250 in Sudbury. We should also assume that an individual may be helped by more than one organization in a given city.

We do not know the year in which these Francophone immigrants arrived in Ontario. As a result, it is not possible to draw conclusions about the total percentage of recent Francophone immigrants who use French-language services. However, we can conclude that the overwhelming majority of these 6,000 individuals use the services of the seven Francophone organizations.

Types of Services Offered and Knowledge of Services

The 15 organizations offer a wide range of welcoming and settlement services, which include:

We noted an interesting fact: eight of the 15 organizations offer to pair newcomers up with Canadian families or with immigrant families who have been in Canada for a long time. Some reported that this program was very important for newcomers. Others reported that, due to budget restrictions, they had had to discontinue this program. Our research did not make it possible to determine why this type of initiative succeeded or failed.

All of the organizations have websites, distribute flyers, and participate in immigration networks. Most report that Francophone immigrants hear about them through friends and families that have used their services in the past.

Country of Origin and Characteristics of Francophone Immigrants

All of the organizations reported that the overwhelming majority of Francophone immigrants served are of African origin and either from North Africa or from sub-Saharan Africa. A few mentioned Haiti and Europe. Some of the immigrants they serve do not speak English or French; these are often relatives of immigrants who do speak French.

Most of the Francophone immigrants served are young, i.e., 44 years of age or younger. While there are no specific data, it appears that approximately 30% of Francophones served are either sponsored refugees or asylum seekers. Sudbury is the exception; here, a large percentage of the clientele is made up of post-secondary-level students.

Main Challenges Faced by Francophone Immigrants Served

All of the respondents reported that the Francophone immigrants they served found accommodation. There were certain challenges, in particular, signing a lease without references and paying rent. The respondents were aware of agencies that specialized in this field and could refer immigrants to them if necessary.

All of the respondents were of the opinion that Francophone immigrants face two major hurdles: language barriers caused by their lack of knowledge of English and difficulty entering the labour market. The respondents reported that these challenges were closely connected.

The other challenges identified were cultural adaptation and family adaptation to Canadian customs. The respondents reported that successful economic integration made cultural adaptation and adaptation to Canadian customs much easier.

Actions to be Taken to Promote the Integration of Francophone Immigrants

All of the respondents gave the name of other Francophone organizations to which they referred clients. These included French-language school boards, Collège Boréal, La Cité collégiale, health centres, day care centres, housing services, legal aid clinics, and cultural organizations. In some regions, respondents reported that there wasn’t a Francophone centre nearby, and that they had to refer the few Francophone immigrants they served to English-language services in their city. This situation is quite rare.

Respondents suggested the following actions to promote the integration of Francophone immigrants.


Table of Contents

Executive Summary
List of Tables
1. Mandate
2. Organization of the Report
3. Demographic Analysis
4. Review of the Literature
5. Survey of Settlement Service Organizations
6. Finding of Our Interviews with Service Providers
7. Findings of Interviews with Francophone Leaders
8. Findings of the Focus Groups
9. French Language Bridge Training Programs
10. Summary of Research Findings
11. Conclusion: Further Avenues for Research
Schedules

Accueil > Publications, ressources et liens utiles > Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

ÉTUDE RÉALISÉE POUR LE Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration – PROVINCE DE L’ONTARIO




6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES

La participation aux entrevues

De concert avec le MACI, la firme a identifié quarante et un (41) organismes offrant des services d’accueil et d’établissement à approcher aux fins d’entrevues. L’objectif était de connaître les nombres d’immigrants francophones servis par ces organismes, les forces et les défis en matière de services rendus et des suggestions d’actions à mettre en œuvre. Les organismes identifiés sont répartis dans toutes les régions de la province, représentent un échantillon de petits et de grands organismes et offrent une panoplie diversifiée de services d’accueil et d’établissement.

Parmi ces 41 organismes :

Le questionnaire d’entrevue a été envoyé par courriel à tous ces groupes, accompagné d’une lettre de présentation préparée par le MACI. Trois suivis téléphoniques ont eu lieu auprès de chaque organisme, dont un avant l’envoi et deux après l’envoi, si nécessaire. Nous avons communiqué en anglais avec les cinq organismes n’offrant aucun service en français. Les communications ont eu lieu en français avec tous les autres organismes puisqu’ils indiquaient qu’ils offraient des services en français.

Au total, nous avons joint en personne des représentants de trente-trois (33) organismes parmi les 41 ciblés. Les résultats des démarches sont les suivants":

Les constats des entrevues

Les sept organismes francophones ont tous participé à la recherche. Parmi les vingt-neuf organismes qui disent offrir des services en français, six ont participé à la recherche et ont répondu aux questions surtout en français. Aucun des cinq organismes n’offrant que des services en anglais n’a participé.

L’année de fondation des organismes

La plupart des organismes anglophones ont été fondés durant les années 1970 ou 1980, ou ont lancé des programmes pour immigrants durant ces années. Les organismes francophones sont plus récents; ils ont été fondés pour la plupart à la fin des années 1990, ou ont lancé des programmes pour immigrants aux environs de l’an 2000. En général, les organismes ou les programmes francophones desservant les immigrants ont été établis quelque 15 à 20 ans après les organismes et programmes anglophones.

Le nombre d’immigrants francophones desservis

Les organismes anglophones indiquent que le nombre d’immigrants francophones desservis est minime. Certains sont très précis et indiquent, par exemple, 18 personnes sur 740. D’autres donnent un chiffre approximatif, par exemple 20 % des 2 000 personnes desservies. D’autres indiquent qu’ils ne colligent pas de statistiques pour l’ensemble de leurs programmes.

Les organismes francophones indiquent que la très grande majorité des gens desservis sont francophones. La précision des nombres rapportés varie entre les organismes. Certains sont très précis et indiquent qu’ils ont reçu 182 immigrants durant les 12 derniers mois. D’autres sont imprécis et indiquent que le chiffre varie entre 600 et 1 000, à titre d’exemple.

Il est donc difficile de donner un chiffre exact du nombre d’immigrants francophones desservis par les 15 organismes ayant participé à la recherche. En additionnant les données, le total se chiffre à environ 6 000 personnes par année, dont quelque 2 000 à Toronto, 2 500 à Ottawa, 1 200 dans le corridor London-Windsor et 250 à Sudbury. On peut présumer que dans une même ville, il arrive que différents organismes servent la même personne.

Nous ne disposons pas des années d’arrivées de ces immigrants francophones. Par conséquent, les données sont trop imprécises pour tirer des conclusions sur la proportion totale d’immigrants francophones récents qui utilisent des services en français. Il est cependant possible de conclure que la très grande majorité des 6 000 personnes utilisent les services des sept organismes francophones.

Types de services rendus et connaissance des services

Les 15 organismes offrent une large gamme de services d’accueil et d’établissement, dont les suivants, entre autres :

Nous avons relevé un fait intéressant : huit (8) des 15 organismes offrent des services de jumelage avec des familles canadiennes ou des familles immigrantes installées de longue date. Certains indiquent que ce programme est très important pour les nouveaux arrivants. D’autres indiquent que leur programme a fermé ses portes en raison de restrictions budgétaires. La recherche n’a pas pu déterminer les facteurs qui conduisent au succès ou à l’échec de ce type d’initiative.

Tous les organismes ont des sites Web, distribuent des dépliants et participent à des réseaux d’immigration. La plupart des organismes indiquent que les immigrants francophones les connaissent par l’entremise d’amis ou de familles ayant utilisé leurs services auparavant.

Pays d’origine des immigrants francophones et caractéristiques

Tous les organismes indiquent que la grande majorité des immigrants francophones desservis sont d’origine africaine, soit de l’Afrique du Nord et de l’Afrique subsaharienne. Quelques-uns mentionnent Haïti et des pays européens. Un certain nombre d’immigrants desservis ne parlent ni le français ni l’anglais. Il s’agit souvent de membres de familles d’immigrants qui, eux, parlent le français.

La grande majorité des immigrants francophones desservis sont jeunes, étant âgés de 44 ans et moins. Les données ne sont pas précises, mais il est possible de constater qu’environ 30 % des francophones desservis sont des réfugiés parrainés ou des demandeurs d’asile. La région de Sudbury fait exception, puisqu’une proportion importante de la clientèle y est constituée d’étudiantes et d’étudiants de niveau postsecondaire.

Les principaux défis des immigrants francophones desservis

Tous les répondants confirment que les immigrants francophones desservis trouvent un logement. Certains défis se présentent, notamment la difficulté à signer des baux de location sans références ou la difficulté à défrayer les coûts de location. Les répondants connaissent les agences qui se spécialisent dans ce domaine et y dirigent les immigrants au besoin.

Tous les répondants sont d’avis que les immigrants francophones sont confrontés à deux grands défis, soit les barrières linguistiques causées par le manque de connaissance de l’anglais et les difficultés à intégrer le marché du travail. Les répondants indiquent que les deux défis sont intimement liés.

Les autres défis soulignés concernent l’adaptation culturelle et l’adaptation familiale aux coutumes du Canada. Les répondants indiquent que l’intégration économique réussie facilite grandement l’intégration culturelle et l’adaptation aux coutumes du Canada.

Actions à mettre en œuvre pour favoriser l’intégration des immigrants francophones

Tous les répondants donnent le nom d’autres organismes francophones vers lesquels ils dirigent des clients. Ils indiquent notamment les conseils scolaires de langue française, le Collège Boréal et La Cité collégiale, les centres de santé, les garderies, les services de logement, les cliniques d’aide juridique et les organismes culturels. Dans certaines régions, les répondants indiquent qu’ils sont éloignés de centres francophones et qu’ils doivent aiguiller les quelques immigrants francophones qu’ils desservent vers les services anglais de leur ville. Cette situation est plutôt rare.

Les actions suivantes sont suggérées par les répondants afin de favoriser l’intégration des immigrants francophones.


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

SOMMAIRE
LISTE DES TABLEAUX
1. LE MANDAT
2. L’ORGANISATION DU RAPPORT
3. L’ANALYSE DÉMOGRAPHIQUE
4. LA REVUE DOCUMENTAIRE
5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS
6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES
7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES
8. LES RÉSULTATS DES GROUPES TÉMOINS
9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES
10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE
11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES
ANNEXES