Home >Publications, Resources and Useful Links > Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

Final Report: Research on Settlement Services Available in French for Francophone Newcomers to Ontario

STUDY CONDUCTED FOR THE ONTARIO Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration




11. CONCLUSION: FURTHER AVENUES FOR RESEARCH

The purpose of this project was to identify emerging issues in the area of Francophone immigration to Ontario, not to make recommendations. Our observations suggest a number of areas for follow-up and a number of possibilities for further research that must be pursued in order to more fully understand the issues surrounding Francophone immigration in Ontario. Close to 70% of all Francophone immigrants outside of Quebec live in Ontario; close to 50% of all Francophone immigrants outside Quebec live in southern Ontario, in particular, in the Greater Toronto Area. Further research is, therefore, important; Ontario is clearly the most attractive province to Francophone immigrants who settle outside of Quebec.

11.1 The Definition of a Francophone Immigrant

The federal government and the province of Ontario use different parameters to identify Francophone immigrants. The federal government data present immigrants admitted to Ontario according to the preferences they expressed in their country of origin. The English term for this is “landings”. Where language is concerned, the federal government presents the data on immigrants according to mother tongue; however, the language parameter used by the federal government will be expanded somewhat here. Ontario uses the Inclusive Definition of Francophone (IDF). The definitions used by these two levels of government yield very different results in terms of numbers of Francophone immigrants. This difference is significant and involves a public policy issue because funding for settlement programs is allocated on the basis of numbers served. In terms of follow-up, it will be important to ensure consistency in the definitions used by these two levels of government, to guide future research.

11.2 Recruitment of Francophone Immigrants

According to the research, there have been few initiatives to recruit Francophone immigrants to Ontario. Our survey of the literature suggests that the recruitment of both Francophone and non-Francophone immigrants will become an increasingly important issue in the future. So far, the Provincial Nominee Program is fairly modest in Ontario; however, it offers some interesting possibilities for Francophone communities. This program has a different impact on Anglophone communities and Francophone communities. Recruiting 100 Anglophone immigrants to Toronto would have a minimal impact. On the other hand, recruiting 100 Francophone immigrants to a city such as Hawkesbury would have a major impact on the local Francophone community. We need to expand our knowledge of best practices that can be introduced to recruit Francophone immigrants to Ontario. Other provinces are making a major effort to welcome Francophone immigrants and help them to get settled. Ontario cannot take it for granted that Francophone immigrants will continue to settle here in the same numbers.

11.3 The Role of Community Organizations and Organizations in the Public and Broader Public Sectors in Welcoming Francophone Immigrants and Helping Them to get Settled

One interesting observation came out of the focus groups: approximately 50% of participants felt that their integration process had been successful from every standpoint. These individuals had made scant use of community group services. They had benefited from advice and support from their family and friends. Immigration involves a number of major steps; these include recruiting, welcoming, settlement, economic, cultural, and social integration, and putting down permanent roots. The research indicates that some Francophone immigrants need the services of specialized organizations very soon after their arrival in the province. These organizations include government organizations providing information on statutes and regulations, municipalities with economic development strategies for their territories, school boards and postsecondary institutions of learning that deliver educational services, and institutions in the broader public sector such as health centres. Generally speaking, these are services that community organizations are not able to deliver.

The research confirms that French-language services must be grouped together in a single place; immigrants who need ongoing services need a wide range of services. Delivering a critical mass of French-language services requires significant financial resources. As a result, we need to ask whether community organizations or organizations in the public and broader public sector are better equipped to deliver these services.

One avenue for research that was suggested is to expand our knowledge of the results achieved by those delivering services to Francophone immigrants in order to measure the impact of services to individual clients, where integration is concerned, in particular where economic integration is concerned. Well-structured research on this issue would make it possible to track the settlement, integration, and rootedness of Francophone immigrants and to identify critical areas where investments of public funds would have the greatest impact on the individual.

Francophone immigrants who need ongoing support in order to become integrated have great needs. The organizations that serve them must have the ability to offer accompaniment services over the longer term. Further research would make it possible to answer the following question: given the fact that the Francophone population is spread out over a vast area, in order to provide settlement and integration services to Francophone immigrants over the longer term, would it be better to invest in permanent Francophone institutions in the public or broader public sector or in community organizations that depend on yearly grants and contributions? This question is all the more relevant because the number of Francophones immigrating to Ontario is expected to increase.

11.4 The Efficacy of English Language Training Programs

Many of the participants in the research reported that their experience of learning English had not been satisfactory. Almost all of the welcoming and settlement organizations reported that English language learning was a major challenge. Our research did not explore this issue in depth. Discussions with officials from government programs confirmed that this is a complex issue. Given the increasing number of Francophone immigrants in Ontario, research into the efficacy of English learning techniques and the accessibility of these programs for Francophone immigrants would be appropriate. Several issues could be explored. For example, do Francophone immigrants and non-Francophone immigrants learn English differently? Does the fact that Canada has two official languages have a bearing on the motivation of Francophone immigrants living outside of Quebec to learn English? How can we ensure that Francophone immigrants learn English, while remaining within the sphere of the Francophone community?

11.5 The Challenges of Economic Integration

The research confirms that economic integration is a key issue for some Francophone immigrants. The research indicates that this issue exceeds the capability of community welcoming and settlement organizations. Our interviews confirmed that assistance with employability must involve more than writing a résumé and preparing for job interviews. The research suggests that the process by which public funds are invested in the economic integration of immigrants must be entirely re-thought and that the approaches that are adopted must be reviewed. The models currently in use do not appear to be achieving the desired results. We must expand our knowledge of this issue in order to find answers to a number of different questions. A few of these questions are: What are the determinants of successful economic integration for Francophone immigrants? What factors influence economic integration for Francophone immigrants, compared to Anglophone immigrants or immigrants whose language most commonly used is neither English nor French? Are there factors that are unique to Francophone immigrants? If so, what measures could be taken to influence these factors?


Table of Contents

Executive Summary
List of Tables
1. Mandate
2. Organization of the Report
3. Demographic Analysis
4. Review of the Literature
5. Survey of Settlement Service Organizations
6. Finding of Our Interviews with Service Providers
7. Findings of Interviews with Francophone Leaders
8. Findings of the Focus Groups
9. French Language Bridge Training Programs
10. Summary of Research Findings
11. Conclusion: Further Avenues for Research
Schedules

Accueil > Publications, ressources et liens utiles > Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

Rapport final : recherche sur les services d’établissement offerts en français aux nouveaux arrivants francophones en Ontario

ÉTUDE RÉALISÉE POUR LE Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration – PROVINCE DE L’ONTARIO




11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES

Le mandat de ce projet était d’identifier les enjeux émergents en matière d’immigration francophone en Ontario et non d’élaborer des recommandations. Les constats suggèrent certaines pistes de suivis, ainsi que des pistes de recherche qui doivent être explorées pour améliorer la compréhension des enjeux entourant l’immigration francophone en Ontario. Près de 70 % de tous les immigrants francophones à l’extérieur du Québec vivent en Ontario et presque 50 % de tous les immigrants francophone à l’extérieur du Québec vivent dans le Sud de l’Ontario, notamment dans la grande région urbaine de Toronto. Ces recherches s’avèrent donc importantes puisque l’Ontario est manifestement la province d’attraction principale des immigrants francophones qui s’installent à l’extérieur du Québec.

11.1. La définition d’un immigrant francophone

Le gouvernement fédéral et la province de l’Ontario n’utilisent pas les mêmes paramètres pour identifier les immigrants francophones. Les données du gouvernement fédéral présentent les immigrants admis en Ontario, selon leur intention exprimée dans leur pays d’origine. Le terme anglais est « landings ». En ce qui concerne la langue, le gouvernement fédéral présente les données selon la langue maternelle des immigrants, mais le paramètre linguistique utilisé par le gouvernement fédéral sera élargi d’ici peu. L’Ontario utilise la définition inclusive de francophone (DIF). Les définitions utilisées par les deux paliers de gouvernement donnent des résultats très différents en ce qui concerne le nombre d’immigrants francophones. La différence est significative et comporte un enjeu de politique publique, puisque les fonds attribués à l’établissement d’immigrants le sont en fonction des nombres desservis. En termes de pistes de suivi, il serait important d’assurer une concordance entre les définitions utilisées par les deux paliers de gouvernement pour guider les futures recherches.

11.2 Le recrutement d’immigrants francophones

La recherche confirme que peu d’initiatives de recrutement d’immigrants francophones ont cours en Ontario. La revue de la documentation laisse prévoir que le recrutement d’immigrants, francophones ou non-francophones, deviendra un enjeu de plus en plus important dans les années à venir. Le programme des candidats des provinces est modeste à ce jour en Ontario dans son ensemble, mais présente une piste intéressante pour les communautés francophones. Les enjeux de ce programme pour les communautés anglophones et francophones en Ontario sont différents. Recruter 100 immigrants anglophones à Toronto aura un effet minime sur la ville tandis que le recrutement de 100 immigrants francophones dans une ville comme Hawkesbury aura un impact très important sur la francophonie locale. Il serait nécessaire d’approfondir les connaissances sur les meilleures pratiques à mettre en œuvre pour recruter des immigrants francophones en Ontario. D’autres provinces déploient des efforts importants dans l’accueil et l’établissement d’immigrants francophones. L’Ontario ne peut pas tenir pour acquis que les immigrants francophones continueront à s’installer dans la province au même rythme que par le passé.

11.3 Les rôles des organismes communautaires et des institutions publiques et parapubliques en matière d’accueil et d’établissement des immigrants francophones

Les groupes témoins ont généré un constat important : environ 50 % des participants considèrent que leur projet d’intégration est bien réussi à tous les points de vue. Ces gens ont très peu utilisé les services des groupes communautaires et ont plutôt bénéficié des conseils et de l’appui de leurs familles et amis dans leurs parcours d’intégration. Le parcours de l’immigration comprend de grandes étapes dont le recrutement, l’accueil et l’établissement initial, l’intégration économique, culturelle et sociale et l’enracinement à long terme. La recherche semble indiquer qu’un certain nombre d’immigrants francophones ont besoin de services qui sont offerts par des organismes ayant une capacité spécialisée très tôt après leur arrivée dans la province. Il peut s’agir d’organismes gouvernementaux qui donnent des informations précises sur des lois et des règlements, de municipalités qui mettent en œuvre des stratégies de développement économique sur leurs territoires, de conseils scolaires et d’institutions postsecondaires qui livrent des services éducatifs, ou encore d’institutions parapubliques comme les centres de santé. Ce sont des services que les organismes communautaires, de façon générale, ne sont pas en mesure de livrer.

La recherche semble confirmer qu’il est nécessaire d’avoir dans un lieu une masse critique de services en français pour les immigrants puisque les immigrants qui ont besoin de services continus ont effectivement besoin d’une panoplie de services. Livrer une telle masse critique de services en français exige des ressources financières importantes. Une question se pose donc concernant les limites dans la capacité des organismes communautaires à appuyer l’intégration des d’immigrants francophones dans la province, comparativement à la capacité des institutions publiques et parapubliques à rendre de tels services.

Une piste de recherche suggérée est d’approfondir la connaissance des résultats atteints par les prestataires de services aux immigrants francophones pour mesurer l’effet des services rendus à l’individu en matière d’intégration, notamment sur le plan économique. Une recherche bien structurée sur cette question permettrait de cartographier le parcours d’établissement, d’intégration et d’enracinement des immigrants francophones et d’identifier les points névralgiques où un investissement de fonds publics aurait le meilleur effet sur l’individu.

Le segment des immigrants francophones qui ont besoin d’une aide soutenue pour s’intégrer démontre effectivement de grands besoins. Les organismes qui les servent doivent avoir une capacité importante pour rendre des services d’accompagnement sur une plus longue durée. La recherche permettrait de répondre à une question clé : étant donné le contexte d’une population francophone dispersée sur un grand territoire, est-il préférable d’investir dans des institutions francophones publiques et parapubliques permanentes ou dans des organismes communautaires qui dépendent de subventions et contributions annuelles pour rendre des services d’établissement et d’intégration de plus longue durée aux immigrants francophones? Cette question est d’autant plus pertinente que l’on prévoit une augmentation dans le nombre d’immigrants francophones qui s’établiront en Ontario.

11.4 Le rendement des programmes d’enseignement de l’anglais

Une partie importante des participants à la recherche ont indiqué que leur expérience de l’apprentissage de l’anglais n’a pas été satisfaisante. Les organismes d’accueil et d’établissement ont presque tous indiqué que l’apprentissage de l’anglais est un grand défi. La recherche n’a pas approfondi cette question. Les discussions avec quelques responsables des programmes gouvernementaux confirment la complexité du dossier. Étant donné le nombre croissant d’immigrants francophones en Ontario, il serait approprié de mener une recherche concernant l’efficacité des techniques d’apprentissage de l’anglais et l’accessibilité de ces programmes pour les immigrants francophones. Différentes questions pourraient être explorées, dont les suivantes, à titre d’exemple. Y a-t-il des différences dans les modes d’apprentissage de l’anglais chez les immigrants francophones et chez les immigrants non francophones? Le fait que le Canada a deux langues officielles influence-t-il la motivation des immigrants francophones vivant à l’extérieur du Québec dans l’apprentissage de l’anglais? Comment s’assurer que les immigrants francophones apprennent l’anglais tout en demeurant dans la sphère communautaire francophone?

11.5 Les défis de l’intégration économique

La recherche confirme que l’intégration économique est l’enjeu prioritaire pour une partie des immigrants francophones. La recherche semble indiquer aussi que cet enjeu dépasse la capacité des organismes d’accueil et d’établissement communautaires. Les entrevues confirment que l’aide à l’employabilité doit aller au-delà de la rédaction du curriculum vitae et de la préparation aux entrevues. La recherche suggère qu’il est nécessaire de repenser entièrement la logique d’investissement de fonds publics visant l’intégration économique des immigrants et de revoir les approches utilisées. Les modèles actuels ne semblent pas donner les résultats souhaités. Il serait nécessaire d’approfondir les connaissances sur cet enjeu pour trouver des réponses à diverses questions telles les suivantes. Quels sont les déterminants de la réussite de l’intégration économique des immigrants francophones? Quels sont les facteurs qui influencent l’intégration économique des immigrants francophones comparativement aux facteurs en cause chez immigrants anglophones et les immigrants n’ayant ni le français ni l’anglais comme langue d’usage? Y a-t-il des facteurs particuliers aux immigrants francophones? Si oui, quelles seraient des mesures à prendre pour influencer ces facteurs?


TABLE DES MATIÈRES

SOMMAIRE
LISTE DES TABLEAUX
1. LE MANDAT
2. L’ORGANISATION DU RAPPORT
3. L’ANALYSE DÉMOGRAPHIQUE
4. LA REVUE DOCUMENTAIRE
5. LA RECENSION DES ORGANISMES OFFRANT DES SERVICES AUX IMMIGRANTS
6. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC LES FOURNISSEURS DE SERVICES
7. LES RÉSULTATS DES ENTREVUES AVEC DES CHEFS DE FILE FRANCOPHONES
8. LES RÉSULTATS DES GROUPES TÉMOINS
9. LES PROGRAMMES DE FORMATION RELAIS FRANCOPHONES
10. SOMMAIRE DES CONSTATS DE LA RECHERCHE
11. CONCLUSION : PISTES DE SUIVIS EN MATIÈRE DE RECHERCHES
ANNEXES