Home > Key Services > Ontario Bridge Training > Health Care

Ontario Bridge Training

Health Care

The following Bridge Training programs can help internationally educated health professionals prepare to enter specialized bridging programs, obtain licensure and find employment in their field.


Bridge Training for Internationally Trained Psychologists and Allied Mental Health Professionals

Mennonite New Life Centre of Toronto

Phone: 647-776-2057 ext.307
E-mail: nisrael@mnlct.org 
Website:  http://www.bridgingprograms.org/
Location: Toronto

The BTMH program is designed to help internationally trained mental health professionals integrate successfully in the Canadian mental health labour market. Combining classroom instruction, supervised work experience and job search supports, this full-time, 11 months program is designed to:

  • Expose participants to current developments and best practices with regards to the mental health system and mental health practice with diverse populations in Ontario
  • Help participants develop professional confidence through acquiring occupation and culture specific communication skills
  • Enhance professional competency specific to the practice of mental health in Ontario
  • Offer an opportunity to acquire Canadian experience through an unpaid supervised placement
  • Support participants through employment supports and services

Bridge Training in Healthcare Interpreting for Internationally Educated Professionals

York University

Website: www.yorku.ca
Location:  Toronto

This program provides internationally educated health professionals with specialized training in healthcare interpretation services in languages other than English and French. It provides participants with workplace culture and communication training, occupation-specific language training, opportunities to gain Canadian work experience, preparation for the National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters exam and employment services.

The program will be accessible Ontario-wide in an online format and aims  to increase stakeholder networks so that internships and other opportunities are available in municipalities across the province.

Pathways to Health Care Employment in North-Western Ontario for Internationally Trained Individuals

Confederation College

Website: www.confederationc.on.ca/splash
E-mail: tim.kerbashian@confederationc.on.ca
Phone: (807) 475-6172
Location: Thunder Bay

This project works to connect qualified bridge training participants seeking employment in a health-care field with employers in North-Western Ontario looking to hire health-care professionals.

Access to Health Services Program for Immigrants "AHSPI"

This program provides specialized training to internationally trained health services professionals to help them find employment in the same field in Ontario. This program includes occupation-specific language training, communication and the culture of the work environment; work environment simulation exercises and opportunities for visiting, networking and job shadowing with employers in related fields.

Career Transitions for International Medical Doctors

Catholic Centre for Immigrants

Phone: (613) 232-9634
E-mail: settlement@cic.ca
Website:  http://www.cic.ca
Location: Ottawa

This program helps internationally educated medical graduates and other healthcare professionals explore employment options in the non-regulated alternative healthcare sector. The program includes workshops on transferable skills and healthcare sector orientation. It also provides occupation-specific language education, workplace culture and communications training, and employment opportunities.

Michener Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Medical Laboratory Technologists


Phone: (416) 596-3101 ext. 3147
E-mail: bridgingprogram@michener.ca
Website:  www.michener.ca/access/expl.php?main=1&sub=6&sub2=1
Location: Toronto

The Michener Bridging Program for internationally educated medical laboratory technologists is an in class 16 week program. You will gain valuable simulated laboratory experience, intensive theory review, and thorough preparation to write the CSMLS certification exam. The simulated laboratory courses will assist you in obtaining Canadian work experience. This course will also fulfill all refresher course requirements from your Prior Learning Assessment (PLA). Bridging Program students will have access to a variety of student supports offered at the Michener Institute.

Michener Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Radiological (X-Ray) Technologists

The Michener Bridging Program for internationally educated medical laboratory technologists is an in class 15 week program. You will review core theory and obtain thorough preparation to write the CAMRT certification exam. Bridging Program students will have access to a variety of student supports offered at the Michener Institute.

Accueil >Services principaux > Formation relais en Ontario > Soins de santé

Formation relais en Ontario

Soins de santé

Les programmes de formation relais ci-après peuvent aider les professionnels de la santé formés à l'étranger à se préparer à suivre des programmes de rattrapage spécialisés, à obtenir leur permis d'exercer et à trouver un emploi dans leur domaine.

 

Formation relais en interprétation médicale pour les professionnels formés à l'étranger

Université York

Site Web : www.yorku.ca
Lieu : Toronto

Ce programme offre aux professionnels de la santé formés à l'étranger une formation spécialisée en services d'interprétation médicale dans des langues autres que le français et l'anglais. Il offre aux participants une formation sur la culture du travail et la communication en milieu de travail, une formation linguistique centrée sur le domaine, des occasions d'acquérir une expérience de travail canadienne, une préparation à l'examen du National Board of Certification for Medical Interpreters et des services d'emploi.

Ce programme sera accessible en ligne dans toute la province et vise à étendre le réseau des intervenantes et intervenants de façon à rendre les stages et autres occasions disponibles dans des municipalités de toute la province.

Perspectives d'emploi dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario pour les professionnels de la santé formés à l'étranger

Confederation College

Site Web : www.confederationc.on.ca/splash
Courriel : tim.kerbashian@confederationc.on.ca
TĂ©l: 807-475-6172
Lieu : Thunder Bay

Ce projet vise à mettre les participants à un programme de formation relais qui cherchent un emploi dans un domaine de la santé en relation avec les employeurs dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario qui désirent engager des professionnels de la santé.

Programme d'accès aux services de santé pour les immigrants (PASSI)

Ce programme offre une formation spécialisée aux professionnels des services de santé formés à l'étranger pour les aider à trouver un emploi dans leur domaine en Ontario. Ce programme comprend une formation linguistique centrée sur leur domaine, une formation sur la communication en milieu de travail et la culture du travail, des exercices de simulation de l'environnement de travail et des occasions de visite, de réseautage et de jumelage avec des employeurs de domaines connexes.

Programme de formation relais pour les psychologues et les professionnels paramédicaux en santé mentale formés à l’étranger

Mennonite New Life Centre of Toronto

TĂ©l : 647-776-2057, poste 307
Site Internet : http://www.bridgingprograms.org/
Courriel : nisrael@mnlct.org 
Lieu : Toronto

Le Programme de formation relais pour les professionnels en santé mentale formés à l’étranger est conçu pour aider les professionnels de la santé mentale formés à l’étranger à s’intégrer avec succès dans le marché du travail canadien dans ce domaine. Alliant cours en classe, expérience de travail supervisé et soutien pour la recherche d’emploi, ce programme de 11 mois à temps complet est conçu pour :

  • Faire connaĂ®tre aux participants les dĂ©veloppements actuels et les pratiques exemplaires relativement au système de santĂ© mentale et Ă  la pratique dans ce domaine auprès de populations diverses de l’Ontario
  • Aider les participants Ă  ĂŞtre plus confiants sur le plan professionnel en acquĂ©rant des aptitudes Ă  communiquer propres Ă  leur profession et Ă  sa culture
  • AccroĂ®tre la compĂ©tence professionnelle relativement Ă  la pratique dans le domaine de la santĂ© mentale en Ontario
  • Offrir une possibilitĂ© d’acquĂ©rir une expĂ©rience au Canada grâce Ă  un stage supervisĂ© non rĂ©munĂ©rĂ©
  • Soutenir les participants au moyen de services relatifs Ă  l’emploi

Réorientation professionnelle pour les médecins formés à l'étranger

Centre catholique pour immigrants

Téléphone : 613-232-9634
Courriel : settlement@cic.ca
Lieu : Ottawa

Ce programme a pour but d’aider les médecins et d’autres professionnels de la santé formés à l’étranger à explorer les possibilités d'emploi dans le secteur non réglementé et parallèle des soins de santé. Il comprend des ateliers sur les compétences transférables et une introduction au secteur de la santé, ainsi qu'un cours de langue se rapportant aux activités professionnelles, un cours sur la culture et les communications dans les milieux de travail et un cours sur les possibilités d'emploi.

Michener Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Medical Laboratory Technologists

Science de laboratoire médical

Téléphone : 416-596-3101 poste 3147
Courriel : bridgingprogram@michener.ca
Site Internet : www.michener.ca/access/expl.php?main=1&sub=6&sub2=1
Lieu : Toronto

Le programme de formation relais de l'Institut Michener pour les technologistes de laboratoire médical formés à l'étranger (Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Medical Laboratory Technologists) est un cours en salle de classe qui dure 16 semaines. Il vous permettra d'acquérir de l'expérience grâce à des travaux en laboratoire simulé, de revoir de manière intensive la matière théorique et de vous préparer à fond pour l'examen écrit qui mène au certificat de la SCSLM. Les travaux en laboratoire simulé vous aideront à acquérir une expérience professionnelle au Canada. Pour ce qui est de la mise à niveau de vos connaissances et compétences, le cours vous permettra aussi de remplir toutes les conditions rattachées à votre reconnaissance des acquis. Les personnes qui suivent le programme de formation relais ont accès aux différentes aides que l'Institut Michener offre à ses étudiants.

Michener Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Radiological (X-Ray) Technologists

Science de laboratoire médical

Téléphone : 416-596-3101 poste 3147
Courriel : bridgingprogram@michener.ca
Site Internet : www.michener.ca/access/expl-ra.php?main=1&sub=6&sub2=1
Lieu : Toronto

Le programme de formation relais de l'Institut Michener pour les technologues en radiologie formés à l'étranger (Michener Bridging Program for Internationally Educated Radiological Technologists) est un cours en salle de classe qui dure 15 semaines. Il vous permettra de revoir la matière théorique fondamentale et de vous préparer à fond pour l'examen écrit menant au certificat de l'ACTRM. Les personnes qui suivent le programme de formation relais ont accès aux différentes aides que l'Institut Michener offre à ses étudiants.