Home > Key Services > Ontario Bridge Training > Engineering

Ontario Bridge Training

Engineering

The following Bridge Training programs can help internationally trained engineers gain the knowledge and information required to get a job in th is field in Ontario. Some of these programs also help participants gain licensure in the profession.

 

Engineering Connections

This program helps internationally trained engineers learn about the engineering labour market and the licensure process in Ontario. Participants study effective job search strategies, workplace communication and employer expectations. In addition, the program provides workshops on project management, software for engineers and Canadian Engineering Codes.

Engineering Software Skills Enhancement Program

Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning

Phone: 416-675-6622 ext. 2613
E-mail: iti-esse@humber.ca
Location: Toronto

This program assists internationally trained civil, electrical, mechanical engineers and architects to prepare for employment in their professions in one semester. Training is provided in sector-specific skills such as AutoCAD, MS Project, Revit, LEED, Engineering Codes & Standards, Workplace Safety, etc. Participants can also access advising services, mentoring opportunities, job search and job development supports. Program graduates have secured jobs as Electrical Designers, Project Managers, Architectural Technologists, Estimators, Construction Coordinators, and such.

Examination Skills Preparation for Internationally Trained Engineers

Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE)

Contact: Aarthi Vig, Program Development Manager
Phone: 1866-763-1654 ext. 238
E-mail: avig@ospe.on.ca
Location: Toronto



This program helps internationally trained engineers seeking licensure in Ontario to prepare for the Professional Practice Examination. Participants learn about the role and context of exam writing in Canada as well as legal and ethical practices in the workplace. Participants will also be prepared with the technical information needed to pass the exam.

Internationally Educated Engineers Qualification Bridging Program

The IEEQB Program provides internationally educated engineers with an opportunity to meet the academic requirements for professional engineering licensure in Ontario. The program is offered in collaboration with Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO). Eligible participants will: fulfill the PEO's academic requirements for licensure; receive an academic bridging education and career and social counselling; update technical knowledge and learn the English terminology required for engineering discipline; learn Canadian economic principles and engineering law and ethics; and expand social network with other engineering students.

Licensing International Engineers into the Profession

University of Toronto

E-mail: learn@utoronto.ca
Phone: 416-978-2400
Location: Toronto

This program helps internationally trained engineers get the training needed to get licensed and employed as professional engineers in Ontario. This program offers engineering-specific language training, workplace culture and communication training, technical engineering courses and preparation to write the Professional Practice Examination (PPE). Participants are also provided with networking opportunities in their field.

Professional Access and Integration Program

Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

Contact: Leigha Abergel
Phone: (416) 661-6600 ext. 5343
E-mail: labergel@trca.on.ca
Location: Toronto


The program helps internationally trained environmental engineers and geoscientists get licensed and employed in their field. Participants are provided with technical training, as well as occupation-specific language and Workplace Communication and Culture training. Employment counselling and individual support is also provided.

Participants also complete a 12-month paid work placement with environmental industry employers and take the Professional Practice Exams to fulfill the requirements to become licensed as Professional Engineers and Professional Geoscientists with Professional Engineers of Ontario (PEO) and the Association of Professional Geoscientists of Ontario (APGO) respectively.

Accueil >Services principaux > Formation relais en Ontario > Ingénierie

Formation relais en Ontario

Ingénierie

Les programmes de formation relais ci-après visent à aider les ingénieurs formés à l’étranger à acquérir les connaissances et à obtenir l’information nécessaires pour trouver un emploi dans leur domaine en Ontario. Certains de ces programmes aident également les participants à obtenir un permis d’exercer leur profession.

Connexions en ingénierie

Ce programme aide les ingénieurs formés à l’étranger à en apprendre davantage sur le marché du travail des ingénieurs et sur le processus d’obtention d’un permis d’exercer en Ontario. Les participants apprennent à mettre sur pied des stratégies de recherche d’emploi efficaces, à communiquer en milieu de travail et à cerner les attentes des employeurs. De plus, le programme comporte des ateliers sur la gestion de projet, l’utilisation de logiciels destinés aux ingénieurs et les codes techniques canadiens.

Octroi du permis d’exercer aux ingénieurs formés à l’étranger

Université de Toronto

TĂ©lĂ©phone : 416-978-2400
Courriel : learn@utoronto.ca
Lieu : Toronto

Ce programme aide les ingénieurs formés à l’étranger à obtenir la formation nécessaire pour obtenir leur permis d’exercer et un emploi d’ingénieur professionnel en Ontario. Ce programme offre une formation linguistique centrée sur le domaine de l’ingénierie, une formation sur la culture et la communication en milieu de travail, des cours techniques d’ingénierie et une préparation à l’examen de pratique professionnelle de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario. Les participants se voient aussi offrir des possibilités de réseautage dans leur domaine.

Programme de perfectionnement en utilisation de logiciels d’ingénierie

Institut de technologie et d’apprentissage supérieur du Collège Humber

Téléphone : 416 675-6622, poste 2613
Courriel : iti-esse@humber.ca
Lieu : Toronto

Ce programme aide les ingénieurs civils, ingénieurs électriciens, ingénieurs en mécanique et architectes formés à l’étranger à se préparer en un semestre à un emploi dans leur profession. Il fournit une formation en compétences propres aux secteurs, comme AutoCAD, MS Project, Revit, LEED, codes et normes du génie, sécurité au travail, etc. Les participantes et participants peuvent aussi avoir accès à des services de conseils, à des possibilités mentorat et à des soutiens en recherche et prospection d’emploi. Les diplômés du programme ont obtenu des emplois de concepteur en électricité, de gestionnaire de projet, de technologue en architecture, d’estimateur, de coordonnateur de la construction, etc.

Préparation à l’examen des compétences pour les ingénieurs formés à l’étranger 

Société des ingénieurs professionnels de l’Ontario
Personne-ressource : Aarthi Vig, Program Development Manager
Téléphone : 1-866-763-1654 oste 238
Courriel : avig@ospe.on.ca
Lieu : Toronto

Ce programme permet aux ingénieurs formés à l’étranger d’obtenir l’autorisation d’exercer en Ontario et de se préparer à passer l’examen qui leur permettra d’exercer la profession. Les participants se familiarisent avec le rôle et le contexte des examens au Canada et avec les pratiques juridiques et éthiques en milieu de travail, et reçoivent l’information technique nécessaire pour passer l’examen.

Programme de formation relais axé sur les qualifications à l’intention des ingénieurs formés à l’étranger 

Université Ryerson : faculté de génie, d’architecture et de science

Contact: Sothy Son, coordonnateur administratif
Téléphone : 416 979-5000, poste 4263
Courriel : ieeqb@ryerson.ca
Website:www.ryerson.ca/feas/programs/ieeqb/
Lieu : Toronto

 

Le Programme de formation relais axé sur les qualifications à l’intention des ingénieurs formés à l’étranger donne aux ingénieurs formés à l’étranger la possibilité de répondre aux exigences universitaires pour le permis d’exercer des ingénieurs professionnels en Ontario. Le programme est offert en collaboration avec l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario (OIO). Les participants admissibles : répondront aux exigences universitaires de l’OIO pour le permis d’exercer; recevront une formation relais universitaire et bénéficieront d’une orientation professionnelle et d’une orientation sociale; mettront à niveau leurs connaissances techniques et apprendront la terminologie anglaise qu’exige leur discipline; apprendront les principes économiques canadiens ainsi que les lois sur le génie et l’éthique du génie, et enrichiront leur réseau social avec d’autres étudiants en ingénierie.

Programme d’amélioration de l’accès et de l’intégration aux professions

Office de protection de la nature de Toronto et de la région (en anglais seulement)
Personne-ressource : Leigha Abergel
Téléphone : 416 661-6600, poste 5343
Courriel : labergel@trca.on.ca
Lieu : Toronto

 

Le programme aide les ingénieurs en environnement et les géoscientifiques formés à l’étranger à obtenir un permis d’exercer et un emploi dans leur domaine. Les participants suivent une formation technique, ainsi qu’une formation linguistique axée sur leur profession accompagnée d’une formation sur la culture et la communication en milieu de travail. Un counselling d’emploi et un soutien individualisé sont aussi offerts.

Les participants effectuent également un stage professionnel rémunéré de 12 mois auprès d’employeurs de l’écoindustrie avant de passer les examens d’exercice professionnel, en vue de satisfaire aux exigences pour obtenir leur accréditation en tant qu’ingénieurs et géoscientifiques professionnels auprès, respectivement, de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario et de l’Ordre des géoscientifiques professionnels de l’Ontario.