Home > Active Citizenship > Support for Nonprofit Organizations > Current Projects

Support for Nonprofit Organizations

Current Projects

We are funding these initiatives in 2009/10 as part of our support for volunteerism and the voluntary sector.

National Volunteer Week: Ontario Youth Volunteer Challenge

We funded 20 volunteer centres across Ontario to deliver the 2010 ChangeTheWorld: Ontario Youth Volunteer Challenge. Go here for a list of these 20 centres and more information about the Challenge.

Ministry of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade-Ontario Trillium Foundation Capacity Building Partnership

We provided project funding to a leading Ontario Franco-Ontario organization, Le centre canadien de leadership en évaluation (Le Clé). This funding will support a provincial cross-sectoral Francophone project, Espace Leadership. Espace Leadership will help increase the organizational capacity of Francophone organizations in Ontario, particularly Francophone ethnocultural organizations that demonstrate capacity building needs. These organizations will learn how to expand their capacities for governance, leadership and evaluation by developing five personal leadership modules in six regions of Ontario. Up to 200 leaders and staff from 20 Francophone organizations across Ontario are expected to benefit.

 

Small projects that promote social enterprise and social innovation.

Name of organization that received funding

Brantford Arts Block

 

 

 

 

 

 

How the project promotes social enterprise and social innovation

Two-day conference, Turning Ideas into Practice, in March 2010

The conference goals are to transform municipal recommendations on the creation of a cultural district in downtown Brantford into viable projects. Participants will work with leading cultural/creative sector organizations to explore innovative business models, develop networking opportunities and generate practical ideas and projects that meet the needs of the community and show the most potential for success.


Centre for Social Innovation in Toronto

 

 

 

 

 

 


Spaces for Social Innovation: Sharing the CSI Model

The Centre will produce a How to Build a Shared Space Guide that documents its successful shared spaces model. This project will expand the nonprofit sector’s social innovation capacity by:

  • Producing tools and templates to support new shared spaces
  • Developing training materials for shared space practitioners and
Delivering a workshop series in at least three Ontario regions.

Imperial Cotton Centre for the Arts in Hamilton 

 

 

 

Imperial Cotton Social Enterprise

This project will provide 16 small organizations and social entrepreneurs with shared space, mentoring assistance and training workshops. This support will help them help launch new projects or strengthen existing projects in the local arts and creative community.


Leadership Ottawa

 

 

 

 

 

Sharing the 3i Summit Model

Our support will help this organization follow up its successful November 2009 two-day community summit and follow-up workshops with an innovative citizen engagement model that encourages local action to address global issues. It will share the model with nine other community leadership programs across Ontario, including Leadership Thunder Bay, Leadership Peel and Leadership Windsor-Essex . 


Ontario Nonprofit Network in Toronto

 

 

 

 

 

Ontario Nonprofit Trend Watch Report

This organization will assess whether it is feasible to prepare and publicize an annual report that compiles and assesses research, issues and trends in Ontario's nonprofit sector. Such a report would provide nonprofits, foundations, governments and other stakeholders with information needed to make better policy and funding decisions. If feasible, the project will develop a social enterprise business plan based on a subscription model.


Pillar Nonprofit Network in London

 

 

 

 

 

Innovation & Resilience Forum

This will be a one-day community discussion in May 2010. One hundred people from the nonprofit sector in London and Middlesex will explore and share innovative solutions and new ways to generate and save money in tough economic times and beyond. Participants will be encouraged to join two to three Action Groups so they can learn as much as possible about how to create action plans that develop key relationships and innovative opportunities.


Capacity Waterloo Region (Tides Canada)

 

 

 

 

Peer Learning Network

This five-year pilot will provide a learning forum and networking opportunities to support increased innovation, collaboration and leadership in the nonprofit sector. Our funding will support joint educational events that will help connect than 60 nonprofit and social enterprise leaders and business leaders.


United Way/Centraide in Ottawa

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community Campus-Multi-Tenant Nonprofit Centre

The United Way of Ottawa is working with Leadership Ottawa, Volunteer Ottawa and the Ottawa Chamber of Voluntary Organizations to form a multi-tenant nonprofit centre for Ottawa's nonprofit sector. Such a centre will reduce costs, increase sustainability and support creative idea-sharing, capacity building and joint action.  They plan to develop a three-year strategic plan to promote creative idea-sharing, capacity building and joint action within the community campus.


Volunteer Centre of Guelph/Wellington

 

 

 

 

 

 

Together 2009 & Together 2010: Sharing our Story

The centre plans to create an electronic toolkit on how to hold an annual general meeting. They will base this toolkit on learnings from two innovative annual general meetings. One of these meetings was successfully held in 2009, and included five local Guelph organizations. Another is planned for 2010, and it will also include several organizations. The centre will share this toolkit with other nonprofit organizations across Ontario. It will be a working model they can adopt in their communities to save costs and raise the profile of participating organizations. 


Young Social Entrepreneurs of Canada in Toronto

 

 

 

 

 

Young Social Entrepreneurs’ Outreach

We are supporting a pilot project that will help youth groups and youth in Toronto create social enterprises themselves. We are funding a series of workshops, informal learning opportunities, networking events and direct, customized mentoring support with established social entrepreneurs and experts. The project also includes monthly discussion groups and round tables on funding.

Accueil > Citoyenneté active > Soutien aux organismes sans but lucratif > Projets actuels

Citoyenneté active

Soutien aux organismes sans but lucratif

Projets actuels

Nous finançons les initiatives ci-après en 2009-2010 dans le cadre de notre soutien au secteur bénévole.

Semaine de l'action bĂ©nĂ©vole : DĂ©fi des jeunes bĂ©nĂ©voles de l'Ontario

Nous avons fourni un soutien financier Ă  20 centres d'action bĂ©nĂ©vole de la province pour qu'ils puissent mettre en Ĺ“uvre le DĂ©fi des jeunes bĂ©nĂ©voles de l'Ontario : ChangeLeMonde, de 2010. Cliquez ici pour consulter la liste des centres et obtenir plus de renseignements sur le DĂ©fi.

Partenariat entre le ministère des Affaires civiques, de l’Immigration et du Commerce international et la Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario visant à renforcer les capacités des organismes

Nous avons versĂ© des fonds au Centre canadien de leadership en Ă©valuation (CLÉ), un des principaux organismes franco-ontariens de la province, lesquels serviront Ă  financer une initiative intersectorielle provinciale menĂ©e en français et appelĂ©e Espace Leadership. Le projet contribuera Ă  accroĂ®tre la capacitĂ© opĂ©rationnelle des organismes francophones de l'Ontario, particulièrement les organismes ethnoculturels qui dĂ©montrent un besoin de renforcer leur capacitĂ© d'action. Ces organismes apprendront comment Ă©largir leurs capacitĂ©s en matière de gouvernance, de leadership et d'Ă©valuation grâce Ă  cinq modules sur le leadership personnel offerts dans six rĂ©gions de l'Ontario. On prĂ©voit qu'environ 200 dirigeants et employĂ©s de 20 organismes francophones de la province bĂ©nĂ©ficieront de cette initiative.

Organisme ayant obtenu du financement

Brantford Arts Block

 

 

 

 

 

 

Façon dont le projet favorise l'innovation sociale et la création d'entreprises à but social

Conférence de deux jours sur le thème Turning Ideas into Practice (concrétiser les idées), en mars 2010

L'objectif de la conférence est de transformer en projets viables les recommandations municipales liées à la création d'un quartier culturel au centre-ville de Brantford. Les participants travailleront avec des chefs de file du secteur culturel et créatif afin d'examiner des modèles d'affaires novateurs, d'envisager des possibilités de réseautage et de proposer les idées et les projets pratiques répondant aux besoins de la collectivité qui ont le plus de chances de réussite.


Centre for Social Innovation de Toronto

 

 

 

 

 

 


Spaces for Social Innovation: Sharing the CSI Model (espaces pour l'innovation sociale : faire connaĂ®tre le modèle CSI)

Le Centre for Social Innovation produira un document intitulĂ© How to Build a Shared Space Guide (guide sur la crĂ©ation d'un espace partagĂ©) portant sur son modèle Ă©prouvĂ© d'espaces partagĂ©s. Ce projet contribuera Ă  Ă©largir la capacitĂ© d'innovation sociale du secteur des organismes sans but lucratif au moyen :

  • d'outils et de modèles visant Ă  faciliter l'amĂ©nagement de nouveaux espaces partagĂ©s;
  • de documents de formation pour les personnes qui ont recours Ă  des espaces partagĂ©s;
d'ateliers organisés dans au moins trois régions de l'Ontario.

Imperial Cotton Centre for the Arts de Hamilton 

 

 

 

Imperial Cotton Social Enterprise (entreprise Ă  but social)

Ce projet mettra des espaces partagés à la disposition de 16 petits organismes et entrepreneurs sociaux et leur offrira un service de mentorat ainsi que des ateliers de formation. Ce soutien leur permettra de lancer de nouvelles initiatives ou de renforcer des projets existants au sein de la communauté artistique et créative locale.


Leadership Ottawa

 

 

 

 

 

Sharing the 3i Summit Model (sommet sur le modèle des 3 Â« i Â» : imaginer, interagir, inspirer)

Notre financement aidera cet organisme Ă  donner suite Ă  son sommet communautaire, qui s'est tenu avec succès pendant deux jours en novembre 2009, et Ă  organiser des ateliers basĂ©s sur un modèle novateur axĂ© sur l'engagement des citoyens qui encourage la mise en Ĺ“uvre d'initiatives Ă  l'Ă©chelle locale en rĂ©ponse aux problèmes qui existent Ă  l'Ă©chelle mondiale. L'organisme fera connaĂ®tre le modèle Ă  neuf autres groupes de leadership communautaire de la province, dont Leadership Thunder Bay, Leadership Peel et Leadership Windsor-Essex. 


Ontario Nonprofit Network de Toronto

 

 

 

 

Rapport sur les tendances observées relativement aux organismes sans but lucratif de l'Ontario

Cet organisme déterminera s'il est possible ou non de préparer un rapport annuel qui compilera et évaluera la recherche, les enjeux et les tendances du secteur des organismes sans but lucratif de l'Ontario et d'en faire la promotion. Un tel rapport fournirait aux organismes, aux fondations, aux gouvernements et aux autres intervenants les renseignements nécessaires pour prendre de meilleures décisions stratégiques et de financement. Si le projet est réalisable, un plan d'affaires pour l'entreprise sociale fondé sur un modèle de souscription sera élaboré.


Pillar Nonprofit Network de London

 

 

 

 

 

Forum sur l'innovation et la résilience

Il s'agit d'une rencontre communautaire d'une journĂ©e qui aura lieu en mai 2010. Une centaine de personnes du secteur bĂ©nĂ©vole de London et de Middlesex examineront et mettront en commun des solutions novatrices et de nouvelles façons de trouver des fonds et d'Ă©pargner de l'argent dans le contexte Ă©conomique difficile actuel, mais aussi dans une perspective d'avenir. On invitera les participants Ă  se joindre Ă  deux ou trois groupes d'action afin d'en apprendre le plus possible sur la crĂ©ation de plans d'action visant Ă  Ă©tablir des relations clĂ©s et des projets novateurs.


Capacity Waterloo Region (Tides Canada)

 

 

 

 

RĂ©seau d'apprentissage pour homologues

Ce projet pilote de cinq ans prĂ©voit un forum d'apprentissage ainsi que des occasions de rĂ©seautage pour encourager l'innovation, la collaboration et le leadership au sein du secteur bĂ©nĂ©vole. Notre financement servira Ă  organiser des Ă©vĂ©nements Ă©ducatifs conjoints qui contribueront Ă  mettre en relation plus de 60 dirigeants d'organismes sans but lucratif, d'entreprises Ă  but social et de sociĂ©tĂ©s.


Centraide / United Way d'Ottawa

 

 

 

 

 

 

Création d'espaces partagés à l'intention d'organismes sans but lucratif au campus communautaire

L'organisme Centraide d'Ottawa travaille avec Leadership Ottawa, Bénévoles Ottawa et la Chambre des organismes bénévoles et communautaires d'Ottawa pour mettre sur pied un centre qui hébergera plusieurs organismes du secteur sans but lucratif d'Ottawa. Un tel centre permettra de réduire les coûts, d'améliorer la viabilité des organismes et de favoriser la mise en commun d'idées créatives, le renforcement des capacités et les projets conjoints.  Les partenaires prévoient élaborer un plan stratégique de trois ans pour promouvoir la mise en commun des idées, le renforcement des capacités et la réalisation de projets conjoints au sein du campus communautaire.


Volunteer Centre of Guelph/Wellington

 

 

 

 

 

 

Together 2009 & Together 2010: Sharing our Story (ensemble, racontons notre histoire)

Le centre prévoit créer une trousse d'outils électronique sur l'organisation d'une assemblée générale annuelle. La trousse sera inspirée des leçons tirées lors de deux assemblées annuelles innovatrices. L'une d'entre elles s'est déroulée avec succès en 2009 et a réuni cinq organismes locaux de Guelph. L'autre aura lieu en 2010 et plusieurs organismes y prendront part également. Le centre diffusera la trousse d'outils à d'autres organismes sans but lucratif de l'Ontario. Elle pourra servir de modèle de travail à mettre en application dans les collectivités pour économiser des coûts et mieux faire connaître les organismes participants. 


Young Social Entrepreneurs of Canada Ă  Toronto

 

 

 

 

 

Action Ă©ducative Ă  l'intention des jeunes entrepreneurs sociaux

Nous appuyons un projet pilote qui aidera les regroupements de jeunes et les jeunes de Toronto à mettre eux-mêmes sur pied des entreprises à but social. Nous finançons une série d'ateliers, d'activités d'apprentissage informelles, d'événements de réseautage et de rencontres de mentorat personnalisé avec des entrepreneurs sociaux établis et des experts. Le projet comprend également des réunions de groupe mensuelles et des tables rondes sur le financement.