Home > Active Citizenship > Honours and Awards > Order of Ontario

Honours and Awards

Order of Ontario

Order of Ontario

Frequently Asked Questions

 

What does it mean to be invested?

Investiture is a ceremony in which someone becomes a member of a group. In this case, appointees or those named as members become invested into The Order of Ontario, and are members for the rest of their lives.

Members of The Order of Ontario can use the initials 'O.Ont.' after their name.

Who can be nominated for this honour?

Anyone who has lived in Ontario for a long period of time and who has demonstrated a high level of individual excellence and achievement in any field, benefiting the people of Ontario or anywhere in the world.

How many people receive the Order of Ontario?

About 25 people are invested into The Order of Ontario each year.

What is the Order of Ontario Insignia?

Order of Ontario Medal

The Order of Ontario medal is in the shape of the Ontario trillium, our floral emblem. It includes Ontario’s Shield of Arms, and the Crown. The colours of the ribbon are red (the colour of the Ontario Ensign), white and green (the colours of the trillium), and gold. The member’s name and year of investiture are engraved on the back of the medal.

Who can nominate someone for The Order of Ontario?

Anyone can make a nomination.

Your nominee must be living at the time you make the nomination. Order of Ontario nominations are often received for individuals with ill health. We encourage people to nominate regardless of the circumstance in the event that the person may survive for a longer period. As a result we would prefer to err on the side of caution. It would be unfortunate if an ill person did survive through the nomination period and was not nominated or considered for the Order of Ontario.

If your nominee’s achievement is in community service, you may also wish to consider a nomination for the Volunteer Service AwardsOutstanding Achievement Awards for Voluntarism in Ontario, the Ontario Medal for Good Citizenship or the Ontario Medal for Young Volunteers.

Are there other Orders in Canada?

Yes. They include:

  • National Order of Canada
  • Order of Quebec
  • Saskatchewan Order of Merit
  • Order of British Columbia
  • Alberta Order of Excellence
  • Order of Prince Edward Island
  • Order of Manitoba
  • Order of New Brunswick
  • Order of Nova Scotia
  • Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

Accueil > Citoyenneté active > Prix et distinctions > L’Ordre de l’Ontario > Foire aux questions

Prix et distinctions

L’Ordre de l’Ontario

L’Ordre de l’Ontario

Foire aux questions

 

En quoi consiste l’investiture?

L’investiture est une cérémonie durant laquelle une personne devient membre d’un groupe. Dans le présent cas, les personnes nommées membres de l’Ordre de l’Ontario sont investies et restent membres durant toute leur vie.

Les membres de l’Ordre de l’Ontario peuvent faire suivre leur nom du sigle « O.Ont. ».

Qui est admissible?

Toute personne vivant en Ontario ou ayant vécu dans la province pendant une longue période qui a fait preuve du plus haut niveau d’excellence personnelle et de réussite dans un domaine quelconque, pour le plus grand profit de la population de l’Ontario ou ailleurs dans le monde.

Combien de personnes reçoivent l’Ordre de l’Ontario?

Environ 25 personnes deviennent membres de l’Ordre de l’Ontario chaque année.

En quoi consiste l’insigne de l’Ordre de l’Ontario?

La médaille de l’Ordre de l’Ontario a la forme d’un trille, l’emblème floral de la province. Elle inclut les armoiries de l’Ontario et la Couronne. Les rubans de l’Ordre sont de couleur rouge (la couleur du drapeau de l’Ontario), blanche et verte (la couleur du trille) et or. Le nom du récipiendaire et l’année de son investiture sont gravés au dos de la médaille.

Qui peut proposer une candidature?

Tout le monde peut proposer une candidature.

La candidate ou le candidat doit être en vie au moment où vous proposez la candidature. Nous recevons souvent des propositions de candidatures à l’Ordre de l’Ontario pour des personnes en mauvaise santé. Nous incitons les gens à proposer des candidatures quelles que soient les circonstances, au cas où la personne peut survivre plus longtemps. Nous préférerions donc pécher par excès de prudence. Il serait regrettable qu’une personne en mauvaise santé survive effectivement pendant la période de proposition des candidatures, et qu’elle ne soit pas proposée ni prise en considération pour recevoir l’Ordre de l’Ontario.

Si les réalisations de la personne dont vous proposez la candidature sont dans le secteur du service communautaire, vous pouvez envisager de proposer aussi sa candidature pour les distinctions suivantes : Distinctions de l’Ontario pour service bénévole, Distinctions de l’Ontario pour contribution bénévole exceptionnelle, Médaille du mérite civique de l’Ontario ou Médaille de l’Ontario pour les jeunes bénévoles.

Existe-t-il d’autres ordres au Canada?

Oui. Les voici :

  • Ordre du Canada
  • Ordre national du Québec
  • Ordre du mérite de la Saskatchewan
  • Ordre de Colombie-Britannique
  • Ordre de l’excellence de l’Alberta
  • Ordre de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Ordre du Manitoba
  • Ordre du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Ordre de la Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Ordre de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador