Home > Active Citizenship > Honours and Awards > David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility

Image of the David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility web banner

Nomination deadline is December 3.

HOW TO NOMINATE

If you’re having trouble downloading a form, follow these guidelines or and we’ll send you a form.

The David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility recognizes Ontarians who have gone above and beyond in improving accessibility for people with disabilities.

The award recognizes four individuals or organizations each year for outstanding leadership and commitment in supporting awareness of accessibility and disability issues.

Recipients receive a personalized certificate and $5,000, except the Champion Award recipient who receives a personalize certificate and will be placed on the Honour Roll.

The Ontario government is pleased to support this important program to commemorate the Honourable David C. Onley’s term as Ontario's 28th Lieutenant Governor and Ontario’s first Lieutenant Governor with a physical disability.

Inaugural David C. Onley Awards Celebrate Ontario's Accessibility Champions

Back L-R: Jeremy Williams (Mayor of Orangeville), Joanne Jordan (Access Orangeville), Diva Anderson (Access Orangeville), the Honourable Brad Duguid, Minister of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure, Michael Gravelle (Access Orangeville), Sarah Murray (Access Orangeville), Sarah Dinsdale, Kathryn Church, Lois Davies. Front L-R: Hubert Peter Roy (Access Orangeville), Gail Campbell (Access Orangeville), Her Honour the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, the Honourable David C. Onley, Special Advisor to the Minister on Accessibility and Honourary Chair, 10th Anniversary of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, Larry Rankin (Access Orangeville).

Back L-R: Barbara Collier (Communication Disabilities Access Canada), Debby-Lyn Sabo (Durham Region Police Service), Michele Richardson (County of Wellington), Laura McKeen (Cohen Highley LLP), Sean Messenger (Hand Over Hand), Carolyn Payne (Town of Innisfil), Donna McAllister (Durham Region Employment Network), Leo Plue (Abilities Centre).
Front L-R:Maayan Ziv, the Honourable David C. Onley, Special Advisor to the Minister on Accessibility, Her Honour the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Linda D. Crabtree. Absent: Mark Wafer.

Who is eligible?

Nominee(s) must be:

  • An Ontario-registered company, organization or individual;
  • A resident of Ontario;
  • A living person or existing institution.

Self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations are not accepted for elected federal, provincial or municipal representatives while they are in office; or for political appointees if the achievements for which they are being nominated are related to their current appointment.

Categories

Awards are given out in four categories:

Champion Award (Organization: Honour Roll)

Recognizes outstanding leadership in the integration of people with disabilities into its work force; provides barrier-free working conditions for its employees with disabilities; and is compliant with the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA).

Employee Engagement Award (Individual: $5,000 Award)

Recognizes an employee or volunteer who, through work initiatives, has created opportunities to break down barriers for fellow employees or volunteers with disabilities.

Role Model (Individual: $5,000 Award)

Recognizes outstanding support for positive change and significant contributions to the integration, independence and overall improvement of quality of life for people with disabilities. Supports actions and activities that inspire all people through personal example.

Youth Leadership Award (Individual: $5,000 Award)

Recognizes an individual, between the ages of 16-24 years, who has shown leadership and commitment to developing the potential in people with disabilities.

How do I nominate someone?

Submit by post:

  • You will not be able to save any information you type in the submission form.
  • You will be able to type information in the form then print it, or print the form first then complete it by hand.
  • Please include all mandatory documentation with the completed form prior to posting.
  1. Download the latest version of Adobe Reader Adobe Reader free from the Adobe website.
  2. Right-click and save the blank form on your computer desktop.
  3. First open Adobe Reader, then open the form saved on your computer desktop.
  4. Fill out the form according to the instructions.
  5. Print a copy of the completed form for your records.
  6. Submit your completed form and all mandatory supporting documents by post.

When is the deadline?

The deadline is December 3 each year. If December 3 falls on a weekend or holiday, nominations are accepted the following business day.

Nominations may be submitted at any time. Eligible nominations received after the deadline will be considered for the following year.

How are recipients selected?

An independent selection committee reviews the nominations and recommends the candidates. The committee is appointed by the Minister of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure who is responsible for the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005.

David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility: Champion Award Honour Roll

Organization Year City Achievements
Durham Region Employment Network 2016 Oshawa Since 1993, the Durham Region Employment Network (DREN) has been committed to making workplaces and hiring processes accessible to people of all abilities. They have created a network of 35 community organizations that share leads, research best practices, and boost business awareness. DREN's awards programs and conferences inspire local businesses to expand their talent pool and increase inclusion. Their website brings thousands of job seekers together to find opportunities and services tailored to their skills and needs, making employment more accessible and achievable across the region.
County of Wellington 2016 Guelph The County of Wellington's work to promote accessibility has consistently met or exceeded the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act's requirements. Their innovative policies, training, and funding programs have helped make them a model of accessibility in action. The county's Accessibility Fund Incentive Programme has helped local municipalities complete more than 20 projects to improve access for people of all abilities. They are also dedicated to expanding employment opportunities for people with disabilities in the area. Canada's Safest Employer Awards honoured the county in 2014 as the most psychologically safe workplace in the country.
Abilities Centre 2016 Whitby The Abilities Centre opened its doors in 2012 with a commitment to promoting inclusion and enriching the quality of life for people of all ages and abilities. Four years later, it continues to raise the level of discussion, policies and practices on accessibility in Durham region and beyond. Recognized as a Community Hub, the Centre serves local, national and international communities by providing resources and research tools that promote inclusivity and accessibility. Staff have helped members follow their passions, explore their creativity and connect with their community.
Town of Innisfil 2016 Innisfil The Innisfil Accessibility Advisory Committee was created in 2002 to raise awareness of disability issues and educate the public on ways to build a more accessible community. This active group of volunteers has been relentless and creative in pursuit of their goals, painting town curbs yellow, developing an awareness program for elementary schools, building an accessible garden, and consulting regularly with organizations on accessibility requirements. Their wheelchair and sensory obstacle challenge has become a popular part of Innisfil's annual Family Fun Day, highlighting the benefits of accessibility for people of all abilities.
Hand Over Hand 2016 Markham Hand over Hand (HOH) is a not-for-profit dedicated to creating a community where young adults with developmental disabilities can feel safe, accepted and supported. It was formed by a group of high school students in 2005 to address the shortage of services and recreational programs available to those who have completed high school. Their growing team of volunteers have partnered with local businesses and organizations to host social activities, sponsor networking events and share resources with families and individuals. By increasing access to networks and support systems, HOH is helping more youth with developmental disabilities feel connected to their community, while promoting inclusion across York region.
Durham Region Police Service 2016 Oshawa The Durham Region Police Service is dedicated to helping children with disabilities participate in sports, while promoting accessibility in the community. For the last 31 years, they have partnered with the City of Pickering, the Campbell Children's School, the Grandview Children's Centre and now the March of Dimes to host the annual Durham Regional Police Children's Games. This popular event gives local youth with disabilities the chance to discover new inclusive sports, challenge and overcome barriers, and participate as organizing volunteers. By engaging children, their families and the broader community, the Durham Region Police Service -- in collaboration with its partners -- is helping to break down barriers and strengthen connections among people of all abilities.
Cohen Highley LLP 2016 London Cohen Highley LLP is a well-established law firm with offices in London, Kitchener, Sarnia, and Chatham. Their track record of supporting accessibility for more than 25 years comprises inclusive hiring practices, a positive workplace culture and community involvement. Their talented team of nearly 100 employees, consisting of lawyers, paralegals and support staff, include several individuals with a disability. Staff members have helped to raise nearly $400,000 for Community Living London. By advising clients and organizations on Ontario's accessibility standards, Cohen Highley is helping to strengthen inclusion in legal circles and communities in southwestern Ontario.
Communication Disabilities Access Canada 2016 Toronto Communication Disabilities Access Canada (CDAC) has worked for the past 15 years to support the needs of people with speech and language disabilities. Their research, education and outreach have highlighted the barriers these individuals experience when accessing goods, services, health care and justice supports. As a trailblazer in inclusive communication, CDAC published the world's first research project defining what accessibility means for those with speech and language disabilities. Today, their online training module is being used by businesses, hospitals, city services and justice personnel to help break down communication barriers throughout Ontario.

Need more information?

Refer to the nomination form to get more details about program requirements.

Contact Us

Email: ontariohonoursandawards@ontario.ca

Phone: 416-314-7526
Toll-free: 1-877-832-8622
TTY: 416-327-2391

Mail:
Ontario Honours and Awards Secretariat
Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration
400 University Avenue, 4th Floor
Toronto, ON   M7A 2R9

Accueil > Citoyenneté active > Prix et distinctions > Prix David C. Onley pour le leadership en matière d'accessibilité

Image du bandeau publicitaire pour le Prix David C. Onley pour le leadership en matière d’accessibilité

Le 3 décembre est la date limite pour les candidatures.

COMMENT PROPOSER UNE CANDIDATURE

Si vous avez des difficultés à télécharger un formulaire, suivez ces directives ou et nous vous enverrons un formulaire.

Le Prix David C. Onley pour le leadership en matière d’accessibilité est décerné aux Ontariennes et Ontariens qui manifestent un engagement hors du commun afin d’améliorer l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées.

Il est décerné chaque année à quatre personnes ou organismes qui ont fait preuve d’un leadership exemplaire dans la défense et la promotion de la sensibilisation aux problèmes d’accessibilité et d’incapacité.

Les récipiendaires reçoivent un certificat personnalisé et une somme de 5 000 $, sauf pour le Prix du champion. Celui-ci ne comprend pas un prix en argent, mais les organismes qui le reçoivent sont inscrits au Tableau d’honneur.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a le plaisir de soutenir cet important programme qui rend hommage à l’honorable David C. Onley, 28e lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario et première personne handicapée physique à avoir rempli cette fonction.

Les tout premiers Prix David C. Onley célèbrent des champions ontariens de l'accessibilité

Dernière rangée dans l’ordre habituel : Jeremy Williams (maire d’Orangeville), Joanne Jordan (Access Orangeville), Diva Anderson (Access Orangeville), l’honorable Brad Duguid, ministre du Développement économique, de l’Emploi et de l’Infrastructure, Michael Gravelle (Access Orangeville), Sarah Murray (Access Orangeville), Sarah Dinsdale, Kathryn Church, Lois Davies.
Première rangée dans l’ordre habituel : Hubert Peter Roy (Access Orangeville), Gail Campbell (Access Orangeville), Son Honneur l’honorable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, lieutenante-gouverneure de l’Ontario, l’honorable David C. Onley, conseiller spécial du ministre en matière d’accessibilité et président d’honneur du 10e anniversaire de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario, Larry Rankin (Access Orangeville).

Rangée arrière, de gauche à droite : : Barbara Collier (Communication Disabilities Access Canada), Debby-Lyn Sabo (Durham Region Police Service), Michele Richardson (County of Wellington), Laura McKeen (Cohen Highley LLP), Sean Messenger (Hand Over Hand), Carolyn Payne (Town of Innisfil), Donna McAllister (Durham Region Employment Network), Leo Plue (Abilities Centre).
Première rangée, de gauche à droite : Maayan Ziv, l’honorable David C. Onley, conseiller spécial sur l’accessibilité du ministre du Développement économique, de l’Emploi et de l’Infrastructure, Son Honneur l'honorable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, lieutenante-gouverneure de l'Ontario, Linda D. Crabtree. Absent: Mark Wafer.

Qui est admissible?

Votre candidate ou candidat doit :

  • Être une compagnie enregistrée en Ontario, une organisation ou une personne;
  • Résider en Ontario;
  • Être une personne vivante ou une institution existante.

Les mises en candidature seront rejetées si elles sont : Présentées par la candidate elle-même ou le candidat lui-même; pour des représentants fédéraux, provinciaux ou municipaux élus pendant leur mandat; ou pour des bénéficiaires de nominations gouvernementales, si les réalisations pour lesquelles ceux-ci sont mis en candidature sont reliées à leur nomination gouvernementale.

Catégories

Les prix sont décernés dans quatre catégories :

Prix du champion (tableau d’honneur)

Célèbre une organisation qui respecte la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO), qui a fait montre d’un leadership exemplaire en ce qui concerne l’intégration des personnes handicapées au sein de ses effectifs et qui a offert des conditions de travail exemptes d’obstacles aux personnes handicapées.

Prix de la participation des employés (prix de 5 000 $)

Célèbre une employée ou un employé ou une ou un bénévole qui, grâce à des initiatives au travail, a créé des occasions ou éliminé des obstacles pour les collègues ou les bénévoles handicapés.

Prix du modèle de rôle (prix de 5 000 $)

Célèbre une personne remarquable qui s’est fait l’avocate d’un changement positif et a apporté des contributions importantes à l’intégration, à l’amélioration globale de la qualité de vie des personnes handicapées, ou dont les actions et les activités sont un exemple pour tous.

Prix du jeune chef de file (prix de 5 000 $) 

Célèbre une personne de 16 à 24 ans qui a fait montre de leadership et d’engagement pour développer le potentiel des personnes handicapées.

Comment puis-je proposer une candidature?

Pour soumettre par la poste :

Si vous soumettez par la poste :

  • Vous ne serez pas en mesure d’enregistrer les données que vous avez saisies dans ce formulaire de candidature.
  • Vous serez en mesure de saisir des données dans ce formulaire puis l’imprimer, ou imprimer le formulaire et ensuite le remplir à la main.
  • Veuillez inclure toutes les composantes du dossier de candidature avec le formulaire dûment rempli avant de poster le tout.
  1. Téléchargez la dernière version gratuite Adobe Reader d’Adobe Reader à partir du site Web d’Adobe.
  2. avec le bouton droit de la souris et sauvegardez le formulaire vierge sur le bureau de votre ordinateur.
  3. Ouvrez d’abord Adobe Reader, ensuite ouvrez le dossier sauvegardé sur le bureau de votre ordinateur.
  4. Remplissez les champs obligatoires selon les instructions.
  5. Imprimez une copie du formulaire rempli et du matériel d’appui pour vos dossiers.
  6. Envoyez le formulaire dûment rempli et tout matériel d’appui obligatoire par la poste.

Date limite

Le 3 décembre est chaque année la date limite pour les candidatures. Lorsque le 3 décembre tombe un week-end ou un jour férié, les candidatures sont acceptées le jour ouvrable suivant.

Les candidatures peuvent être présentées n’importe quand. Les candidatures admissibles qui sont reçues après la date limite sont prises en considération pour les prix de l’année suivante.

Sélection des récipiendaires

Un comité de sélection indépendant examine les candidatures et fait ses recommandations. Les membres du comité sont nommés par le ministre du Développement économique, de l’Emploi et de l’Infrastructure, cette personne étant responsable de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario.

Prix du champion (tableau d’honneur)

Organisation Année Lieu Les réalisations
Durham Region Employment Network 2016 Oshawa Depuis 1993, le Durham Region Employment Network (DREN) est déterminé à rendre les lieux de travail et les processus d'embauche accessibles aux personnes de toutes aptitudes. Il a créé un réseau de 35 organismes communautaires qui partagent des pistes d'emploi et des pratiques exemplaires en matière de recherche d'emploi, et qui accroissent la sensibilisation des entreprises. Les programmes de prix et les conférences du DREN inspirent les entreprises locales à élargir leur bassin de talents et à accroître l'inclusion. Son site Web met en contact des milliers de chercheurs d'emploi pour trouver des occasions et des services adaptés à leurs compétences et à leurs besoins, rendant l'emploi plus accessible et atteignable dans toute la région.
Comté de Wellington 2016 Guelph Les efforts du comté de Wellington pour promouvoir l'accessibilité ont constamment respecté ou dépassé les exigences de la Loi sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario. Ses politiques et ses programmes de formation et de financement novateurs ont contribué à en faire un modèle de l'accessibilité en action. L'Accessibility Fund Incentive Programme du comté a aidé les municipalités locales à réaliser plus de 20 projets pour améliorer l'accès pour les personnes de toutes aptitudes. Le comté est également déterminé à accroître les possibilités d'emploi des personnes handicapées dans la région. Le comté s'est vu décerner en 2014 un prix Safest Employer Awards du Canada en tant que lieu de travail le plus psychologiquement sûr au pays.
Abilities Centre 2016 Whitby L'Abilities Centre a ouvert ses portes en 2012, avec l'engagement de promouvoir l'inclusion et d'enrichir la qualité de vie des personnes de tout âge et de toutes aptitudes. Quatre ans plus tard, il continue d'accroître le niveau de discussion, les politiques et les pratiques en matière d'accessibilité dans la région de Durham et au-delà. Reconnu comme un carrefour communautaire, le Centre dessert les collectivités locales, nationales et internationales en offrant des ressources et des outils de recherche qui font la promotion de l'inclusivité et de l'accessibilité. Son personnel a aidé les membres à suivre leurs passions, à explorer lur créativité et à établir des liens avec leur collectivité.
Ville d'Innisfil 2016 Innisfil Le comité consultatif de l'accessibilité d'Innisfil a été créé en 2002 afin d'accroître la sensibilisation aux questions touchant les personnes handicapées et d'éduquer le public sur les façons de bâtir une collectivité plus accessible. Ce groupe actif de bénévoles a poursuivi ses objectifs sans relâche et de manière créative, peignant les bordures de trottoir de la ville en jaune, élaborant un programme de sensibilisation pour les écoles élémentaires, aménageant un jardin accessible et menant régulièrement des consultations avec les organismes pour connaître leurs besoins en matière d'accessibilité. Leur défi du parcours à obstacles en fauteuil roulant ou avec privation sensorielle est devenu un événement populaire de la Journée annuelle de plaisir familial d'Innisfil, soulignant les avantages de l'accessibilité pour les personnes de toutes aptitudes.
Hand Over Hand 2016 Markham Hand over Hand (HOH) est un organisme sans but lucratif voué à la création d'une collectivité où les jeunes adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle peuvent se sentir en sécurité, acceptés et soutenus. Il a été formé en 2005 par un groupe d'élèves du secondaire pour s'attaquer à la pénurie de services et de programmes de loisirs offerts à ces jeunes après leurs études secondaires. Son équipe croissante de bénévoles collabore avec des entreprises et des organismes locaux pour organiser des activités sociales, pour commanditer des événements de réseautage et pour partager des ressources avec les familles et les personnes. En améliorant l'accès à des réseaux et à des systèmes de soutien, HOH aide plus de jeunes ayant une déficience intellectuelle à se sentir en lien avec leur collectivité, tout en faisant la promotion de l'inclusion à l'échelle de la région de York.
Service de police de la région de Durham 2016 Oshawa Le Service de police de la région de Durham est déterminé à aider les enfants handicapés à participer à des activités sportives, tout en faisant la promotion de l'accessibilité dans la collectivité. Depuis 31 ans, il a collaboré avec la Ville de Pickering, l'école Campbell Children's School, le Grandview Children's Centre et maintenant l'organisme March of Dimes pour organiser les Children's Games annuels de la Police régionale de Durham. Cet événement populaire donne aux jeunes handicapés de la région la chance de découvrir de nouveaux sports inclusifs, de défier et de surmonter les obstacles, et de participer en tant que bénévoles organisateurs. En mobilisant les enfants, leur famille et la collectivité dans son ensemble, le Service de police de la région de Durham - en collaboration avec ses partenaires - contribue à éliminer les obstacles et à renforcer les liens entre les personnes de toutes aptitudes.
Cohen Highley LLP 2016 London Cohen Highley LLP est un cabinet d'avocats bien établi, avec des bureaux à London, Kitchener, Sarnia et Chatham. Ce cabinet soutient l'accessibilité depuis plus de 25 ans par des pratiques d'embauche inclusives, par une culture de milieu de travail positive et par un engagement communautaire. Son équipe talentueuse d'une centaine d'employés, formée d'avocats, de parajuristes et de personnel de soutien, comprend plusieurs personnes handicapées. Les membres du personnel de Cohen Highley ont contribué à recueillir près de 400 000 $ pour Community Living London. En conseillant les clients et les organismes sur les normes d'accessibilité de l'Ontario, Cohen Highley aide à renforcer l'inclusion dans les milieux juridiques et communautaires du Sud-Ouest de l'Ontario.
Accès Troubles de la communication Canada 2016 Toronto Accès Troubles de la communication Canada (ATCC) œuvre depuis 15 ans à soutenir les besoins des personnes qui ont des troubles de l'élocution et du langage. Ses programmes de recherche, d'éducation et de sensibilisation ont permis de mettre en évidence les obstacles auxquels ces personnes font face lorsqu'il s'agit d'avoir accès à des biens, à des services, à des soins de santé et à des soutiens juridiques. En tant que pionnier des communications inclusives, ATCC a publié le premier projet de recherche au monde définissant ce que l'accessibilité signifie pour les personnes qui ont des troubles de l'élocution et du langage. Aujourd'hui, son module de formation en ligne est utilisé par les entreprises, les hôpitaux, les services municipaux et le personnel juridique pour aider à supprimer les obstacles à la communication partout en Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Le formulaire de candidature renferme de plus amples renseignements sur les conditions rattachées au programme.

Pour nous joindre

Courriel : ontariohonoursandawards@ontario.ca

Téléphone : 416 314-7526
Appel sans frais : 1 877 832-8622
ATS : 416 327-2391

Poste :
Secrétariat ontarien des distinctions et des prix
Ministère des Affaires civiques, de l’Immigration et du Commerce international
400, avenue University, 4e étage
Toronto ON   M7A 2R9