Home > About the Ministry > Ontario Immigrant Investment Corporation (OIIC) Financial Statements For the Year Ended March 31, 2015

Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (OIIC)
Financial Statements for the Year Ended March 31, 2015

Statement of Financial Position as at March 31, 2015

  2015
($ 000)
2014
($ 000)
FINANCIAL ASSETS  
Cash 4,656 10,241
Investments (Note 3) 1,052,509 1,207,736
Accounts receivable 61 71
  1,057,226 1,218,048
LIABILITIES AND ACCUMULATED SURPLUS  
Accounts payable 536 622
Repayable Provincial Allocations (Note 4) 959,408 1,139,228
  959,944 1,139,850
Net Financial Assets 97,282 78,198
Non-Financial  Assets  
Deferred Commission Charges (Note 5) 19,082 26,404
Accumulated Surplus 116,364 104,602

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

Approved on behalf of the Board:

Director

Statement of Operations
For the Year Ended March 31, 2015

  2015
($ 000)
2014
($ 000)
Revenue  
Interest income 25,901 29,809
  25,901 29,809
Expenses (Note 6)  
Amortization of deferred commission charges (Note 5) 12,034 14,596
Investment management fee (Note 3) 2,105 2,270
  14,139 16,866
Excess of Revenue over Expenses 11,762 12,943
Accumulated Surplus, beginning of year 104,602 91,659
Accumulated Surplus, end of year 116,364 104,602

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

Statement of Changes in Net Financial Assets
For the Year Ended March 31, 2015

  2015
($ 000)
2014
($ 000)
Excess of Revenue Over Expenses 11,762 12,943
Deferred Commission Charges- Current Year (4,801) (15,150)
Amortization of Deferred Commission Charges 12,034 14,596
Deferred Commission Recovered 89 20
 
Increase in Net Financial Assets 19,084 12,409
Net Financial Assets, beginning  of  year 78,198 65,789
Net Financial Assets, end  of  year 97,282 78,198

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

Statement of Cash Flows
For the Year Ended March 31, 2015

  2015
($ 000)
2014
($ 000)
Cash provided by (used in) operating activities  
Interest received 804 604
Investment Management Fees paid (2,182) (2,214)
  (1,378) (1,610)
Cash (used in) provided by investing and financing activities  
Provincial allocations received net of commissions 75,735 249,712
Provincial allocations repaid (258,625) (233,397)
Provincial allocations refunded (1,640) (266)
  (184,530) 16,049
Investments matured 578,830 477,769
Investments purchased (398,507) (493,757)
  180,323 (15,988)
Net (decrease) in cash (5,585) (1,549)
Cash, beginning of year  10,241  11,790
Cash, end of year 4,656 10,241

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

Notes to Financial Statements
March 31, 2015

1.  Nature and Future of the Corporation

The Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (Corporation) was established as a corporation without share capital on April 30, 1999 pursuant to Ontario Regulation 279/99 made under the Development Corporations Act.

The Corporation was established in order to participate in a federal Immigrant Investor Program (IIP).  Under the IIP, each participating province established a vehicle to receive and invest immigrant investor dollars for the purposes of creating or continuing employment in Canada in order to foster the development of a strong and viable economy.  Each participating province, in turn, guarantees immigrant investors that their investment will be repaid after five years with no interest.

In February 2014, the Federal government announced the termination of the Immigrant Investor Program. Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) is processing the remaining 160 applications designated for Ontario’s allocation amount of approximately $29.8 million. However, CIC has indicated that above numbers are estimates based on how many applications are actually approved. Ontario is expected to receive its share of the remaining funds by the end of March 2016. The repayment of this allocation to the immigrant investors after five years will occur by March 2021. Accordingly, the Corporation will remain operational until then to meet its obligations under the Immigrant Investor Program.

2.  Significant Accounting Policies

(a)  Basis of Accounting

As the Corporation is a government organization, these financial statements are prepared in accordance with Canadian public sector accounting standards.

(b)  Revenue recognition

Accrued interest is recognized as earned and amounts not yet received are included in the carrying value of investments.

(c)  Financial instruments

A financial instrument is an asset or liability that will ultimately be settled in cash.

(d)  Deferred commission charges

Commissions paid to intermediaries, for introducing new immigrant investors, are deferred and amortized to expense on a straight-line basis over the same period as the related Repayable Provincial Allocation beginning in the fiscal year when the allocation is received. If the application for permanent residence is withdrawn by the immigrant investor or denied by the federal government, the Corporation recovers the commission in the year when this occurs.  The deferred charges represent the unamortized balance of the commissions.

3.  Investments

Prior to February 2011, the Corporation invested all of its allocations in fixed income securities issued by the Province of Ontario, maturing within five years.  In general, zero-coupon bonds were purchased to align maturity dates to the Provincial Allocations repayment schedule provided in Note 4.  As at March 31, 2015, these fixed income securities had a weighted-average yield of 2.56% (2014 - 2.84%). 

In September 2010, in order to satisfy the requirements of the Federal Immigrant Investor Program the Corporation approved a new investment strategy to direct a significant portion of allocations received to the Loan Program managed by Ontario Infrastructure and Lands Corporation (OILC) a related party.  Through its Loan Program, OILC helps finance hundreds of infrastructure projects such as the construction of roads, bridges and facilities thereby fostering economic development and job creation.

The Corporation entered into an agreement with OILC to direct a significant portion of the allocations to OILC monthly, in exchange for promissory notes due five years from the date of the transfer at either a fixed or floating interest rate effectively equal to the OILC’s cost of borrowing for similar terms as determined by the Ontario Financing Authority.  As a result of the announced termination of the Immigrant Investor Program, there was a significant reduction in the provincial allocations. In fiscal 2015, OILC received $42 million of the provincial allocations (2014 – $200 million). As at March 31, 2015, these promissory notes had a weighted average interest rate of 2.10% (2014 – 2.09%).

The entire portfolio of investments is managed by the Ontario Financing Authority (OFA), a related party, in accordance with the terms and conditions set out in an agreement signed between the OFA, the Corporation and the Province.  The OFA receives an investment management fee of 0.2% of the average par value or face value of the investments outstanding during the year for performing these services.

The investments balance which includes accrued interest is broken down as follows:

  March 31, 2015
Cost
($ 000)
March 31, 2015
Market
($ 000)
March 31, 2014
Cost
($ 000)
March 31, 2014
Market
($ 000)
OILC Promissory Notes 608,171 594,312 553,635 543,440
Zero Coupon Bonds 227,890 229,466 491,609 498,898
Fixed Income Bonds 129,524 129,682 93,330 92,255
Treasury Bills 86,924 86,924 69,162 69,162
  1,052,509 1,040,384 1,207,736 1,203,755

The Corporation is exposed to interest rate risk whenever any funds received from immigrants are invested in fixed income securities because the future return and market value of the investments is dependent on the prevailing interest rates.  However, there is very little exposure to fluctuating interest rates during the 5-year period of the repayable provincial allocations because the maturity of the fixed income investments matches the maturity of the repayable provincial allocations. 

It is management’s opinion that the Corporation is not exposed to significant credit or currency risk because all investments are with related parties supported by the Province and none of them are denominated in a foreign currency.

4.  Repayable Provincial Allocations

The Corporation incurs long-term obligations from funds received under the federal Immigrant Investor Program in accordance with the terms and conditions set out in agreements signed in June 1999 and June 2011 between the federal Minister of Citizenship and Immigration and the Corporation.  The agreement states that the federal Minister, as agent of the Corporation, receives funds from immigrant investors and transfers Ontario’s share of the funds (Provincial Allocation) to the Corporation.  The Corporation will repay any Provincial Allocations received without interest at expiry of the Allocation Period, being five years from the date the Provincial Allocation was originally received.

The Province guarantees the repayment of the Provincial Allocations when due.  The repayment schedule on Provincial Allocations is as follows:

  ($ 000)
Due fiscal year 2016 257,993
Due fiscal year 2017 218,732
Due fiscal year 2018 138,575
Due fiscal year 2019 264,146
Due fiscal year 2020 79,962
  959,408

An investor’s application for permanent residence may be withdrawn by the Investor or denied by the federal government. As at March 31, 2015 there are $967,000 of applications that are in process. If any of these applications are withdrawn by the Investor or denied by the federal government the Provincial Allocation pertaining to the Investor is to be returned to the federal government within 30 days of receipt of request from the federal government.

5.  Deferred Commission Charges

Deferred commission charges are comprised as follows:

  2015
($ 000)
2014
($ 000)
Balance, beginning of year 26,404 25,870
Commissions – current year 4,801 15,150
Commissions recovered (89) (20)
Amortization (12,034) (14,596)
Balance, end of year 19,082 26,404

6.  Administration Support Services

Business support, strategic management services and other administrative support, including accommodation, financial, legal and human resource services is provided by the Ministry of Economic Development, Employment & Infrastructure and the Ministry of Citizenship, Immigration & International Trade without charge.

Accueil > À propos du ministère > Société Ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFFI) - États financier

Société ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFII)
États financiers pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015

État de la situation financière 31 mars 2015

  2015
(en milliers de dollars)
2014
(en milliers de dollars)
ACTIFS FINANCIERS  
Encaisse 4 656 10 241
Placements (note 3) 1 052 509 1 207 736
Comptes débiteurs 61 71
  1 057 226 1 218 048
PASSIFS ET EXCÉDENT ACCUMULÉ  
Comptes créditeurs 536 622
Allocations provinciales remboursables (note 4) 959 408 1 139 228
  959 944 1 139 850
Actifs financiers nets 97 282 78 198
Actifs non financiers  
Frais de commission reportés (note 5) 19 082 26 404
Excédent accumulé 116 364 104 602

Consulter les notes afférentes aux états financiers.

Approuvé au nom du conseil :

Administrateur

État des résultats
pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015

  2015
(en milliers de dollars)
2014
(en milliers de dollars)
Revenus  
Intérêts créditeurs 25 901 29 809
  25 901 29 809
Charges (note 6)  
Amortissement des frais de commission reportés (note 5) 12 034 14 596
Frais de gestion des placements (note 3) 2 105 2 270
  14 139 16 866
Excédent des produits sur les charges 11 762 12 943
Excédent accumulé au début de l’exercice 104 602 91 659
Excédent accumulé à la fin de l’exercice 116 364 104 602

Voir les notes afférentes aux états financiers.

État de l’évolution de l’actif financier net
pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015

  2015
(en milliers de dollars)
2014
(en milliers de dollars)
Excédent des revenus sur les charges 11 762 12 943
Frais de commission reportés payés (4 801) (15 150)
Amortissement des frais de commission reportés 12 034 14 596
Frais de commission reportés remboursés 89 20
 
Augmentation des actifs financiers nets 19 084 12 409
Actifs financiers nets au début de l’exercice 78 198 65 789
Actifs financiers nets à la fin de l’exercice 97 282 78 198

Voir les notes afférentes aux états financiers.

État des flux de trésorerie
pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015

  2015
(en milliers de dollars)
2014
(en milliers de dollars)
Encaisse générée par les activités d’exploitation (ou utilisées dans le cadre de ces activités)  
Intérêts reçus 804 604
Frais de gestion des placements payés (2 182) (2 214)
  (1 378) (1 610)
Encaisse générée par les activités de placement et de financement (ou utilisée dans le cadre de ces activités)  
Allocations provinciales reçues moins les frais de commission 75 735 249 712
Allocations provinciales acquittées (258 625) (233 397)
Provincial allocations refundedAllocations provinciales remboursées (1 640) (266)
  (184 530) 16 049
Placements arrivés à échéance 578 830 477 769
Placements achetés (398 507) (493 757)
  180 323 (15 988)
(Diminution) nette de l’encaisse (5 585) (1 549)
Encaisse au début de l’exercice  10 241  11 790
Encaisse à la fin de l’exercice 4 656 10 241

Voir les notes afférentes aux états financiers.

Notes afférentes aux états financiers
31 mars 2015

1.  Nature et avenir de la Société

Le 30 avril 1999, la Société ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOFGII) a été constituée à titre de société sans capital-actions en vertu du Règlement de l’Ontario 279/99 pris en application de la Loi sur les sociétés de développement.

La Société a été établie afin de participer au Programme d’immigration des investisseurs (PII) du gouvernement fédéral. Dans le cadre du PII, chaque province participante a créé un organisme chargé de recevoir et d’investir les sommes des investisseurs immigrants pour créer ou préserver des emplois au Canada et favoriser le développement d’une économie forte et viable. En retour, chaque province participante garantit aux investisseurs immigrants que leur placement leur sera remboursé sans intérêt au terme de cinq ans.

En février 2014, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé sa décision de mettre fin au Programme d'immigration des investisseurs. Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) traite les 160 demandes en suspens pour lesquelles l’Ontario devrait recevoir la somme d’environ 29,8 millions de dollars. Toutefois, CIC a indiqué que les montants susmentionnés sont des estimations établies en fonction du nombre de demandes qui seront réellement approuvées. L’Ontario devrait recevoir sa part des fonds restants d’ici la fin du mois de mars 2016. Le remboursement de cette allocation aux investisseurs immigrants au terme de cinq ans aura lieu en mars 2021. Par conséquent, la Société poursuivra ses activités jusqu’à cette date pour s’acquitter de ses obligations en vertu du Programme d’immigration des investisseurs.

2.  Principales conventions comptables

(a)  méthode de comptabilité

Puisque la Société est un organisme gouvernemental, les présents états financiers ont été rédigés conformément aux Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

(b) comptabilisation des revenus

Les intérêts courus sont comptabilisés comme des gains, et les montants à recevoir sont inclus dans la valeur comptable des placements.

(c)  instruments financiers

A financial instrument is an asset or liability that will ultimately be settled in cash.

Un instrument financier est un actif ou un passif qui finit par être réglé en trésorerie.

(d) frais de commission reportés

Les commissions versées aux intermédiaires qui présentent de nouveaux investisseurs immigrants sont reportées et amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement constant au cours de la période de l’allocation provinciale remboursable à partir de l’exercice où l’allocation est reçue. Si la demande de résidence permanente est retirée par l’investisseur immigrant ou refusée par le gouvernement fédéral, la Société recouvre la commission au cours de l’année où cela se produit. Les charges reportées représentent le solde non amorti des commissions.

3.  Placements

Avant février 2011, la Société investissait la totalité de ses allocations dans des titres à revenu fixe émis par la province de l’Ontario et arrivant à échéance dans un délai de cinq ans ou moins. En règle générale, elle achetait des obligations à coupon zéro pour faire concorder les dates d’échéance avec le calendrier de remboursement des allocations provinciales présenté à la note 4. Au 31 mars 2015, ces titres à revenu fixe affichaient un rendement moyen pondéré de 2,56  % (2,84 % en 2014).

En septembre 2010, afin de satisfaire aux exigences du Programme d’immigration des investisseurs du gouvernement fédéral, la Société a approuvé une nouvelle stratégie de placement visant à transférer une grande partie des allocations reçues vers le programme de prêts géré par la Société ontarienne des infrastructures et de l'immobilier (IO), société apparentée. Grâce à ce programme de prêts, IO finance des centaines de projets d’infrastructure, comme la construction de routes, de ponts et d’installations, favorisant ainsi le développement économique et la création d’emplois.

La Société a conclu une entente avec IO pour qu’une bonne partie des allocations soit versée à IO chaque mois en échange de billets à ordre venant à échéance cinq ans après la date du transfert et à un taux d’intérêt fixe ou variable correspondant au coût d’emprunt de la province pour des durées semblables établi par l’Office ontarien de financement (OOF).  Après l’annonce de la suppression du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs, les allocations provinciales ont été considérablement réduites. Au cours de l’exercice 2015, IO a reçu 42 millions de dollars à même les allocations provinciales (200 millions de dollars en 2014). Au 31 mars 2015, ces billets à ordre étaient assortis d’un taux d’intérêt moyen pondéré de 2,10% (2,09% en 2014).

La totalité du portefeuille de placement est gérée par l’OOF, société apparentée, conformément aux conditions énoncées dans une entente conclue entre l’OOF, la Société et la province. En contrepartie de ses services, l’OOF reçoit des honoraires de gestion des placements correspondant à 0,2 % de la moyenne de la valeur nominale des placements en cours durant l’année.

Le solde des placements, qui comprend les intérêts courus, est réparti comme suit :

  31 mars 2015
Coût
(en milliers de dollars)
31 mars 2015
Marché
(en milliers de dollars)
31 mars 2014
Coût
(en milliers de dollars)
31 mars 2014
Marché
(en milliers de dollars)
Billets à ordre d’IO 608 171 594 312 553 635 543 440
Obligations à coupon zéro 227 890 229 466 491 609 498 898
Obligations à revenu fixe 129 524 129 682 93 330 92 255
Obligations à revenu fixe 86 924 86 924 69 162 69 162
  1 052 509 1 040 384 1 207 736 1 203 755

La Société est exposée à des risques de taux d’intérêt chaque fois que les fonds venant des immigrants sont placés dans des titres à revenu fixe, car le rendement futur et la valeur marchande de ces placements dépendent des taux d’intérêt en vigueur. Cependant, les risques de fluctuation des taux d’intérêt sont très faibles durant la période de cinq ans des allocations provinciales remboursables, étant donné que l’échéance des titres à revenu fixe coïncide avec celle des allocations.

De l’avis de la direction, la Société n’est pas exposée à des risques de devises ou de crédit importants puisque tous ses placements sont effectués auprès d’apparentés qui sont financés par la province et qu’aucun de ces placements n’est libellé en devises.

4.  Allocations provinciales remboursables

Conformément aux conditions énoncées dans des ententes conclues en juin 1999 et en juin 2011 entre le ministre fédéral de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration et la Société, cette dernière contracte des obligations à long terme à l’égard des fonds reçus dans le cadre du Programme d’immigration des investisseurs fédéral.  L’entente prévoit que le ministre fédéral, à titre de mandataire de la Société, reçoit des fonds des investisseurs immigrants et transfère à la Société la part des fonds revenant à l’Ontario (allocation provinciale). La Société rembourse toutes les allocations provinciales reçues sans intérêt à la fin de la période d’allocation, soit cinq ans après la date de réception. 

La province garantit le remboursement des allocations provinciales lorsqu’elles sont exigibles. Voici le calendrier de remboursement des allocations provinciales :

  (en milliers de dollars)
Exigible au cours de l’exercice 2016 257 993
Exigible au cours de l’exercice 2017 218 732
Exigible au cours de l’exercice 2018 138 575
Exigible au cours de l’exercice 2019 264 146
Exigible au cours de l’exercice 2020 79 962
  959 408

La demande de résidence permanente d’un investisseur peut être retirée par l’investisseur ou refusée par le gouvernement fédéral. Au 31 mars 2015, des demandes représentant une valeur de 967 000 $ étaient en cours de traitement. Si une demande est retirée par l’investisseur ou refusée par le gouvernement fédéral, l’allocation provinciale se rapportant à l’investisseur doit être retournée au gouvernement fédéral dans les 30 jours qui suivent la réception de la demande du gouvernement fédéral.

5.  Frais de commission reportés

Les frais de commission reportés se présentent comme suit :

  2015
(en milliers de dollars)
2014
(en milliers de dollars)
Solde au début de l’exercice 26 404 25 870
Commissions – année en cours 4 801 15 150
Commissions récupérées (89) (20)
Amortissement (12 034) (14 596)
Solde à la fin de l’exercice 19 082 26 404

6.  Services de soutien administratif

Le ministère du Développement économique, de l’Emploi et de l’Infrastructure et le ministère des Affaires civiques, de l'Immigration et du Commerce international offrent gratuitement un soutien opérationnel, des services de gestion stratégique et d’autres soutiens administratifs, y compris des services d’aménagement des locaux, financiers, juridiques et de ressources humaines.