Home > About the Ministry > Ontario Immigrant Investment Corporation (OIIC) Annual Report 2014 - 2015

Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (OIIC)
Annual Report 2014 - 2015

The Corporation and its Mandate

a) Establishment of the Corporation

The Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (OIIC) was incorporated as an operating agency of the Ontario government on April 30, 1999. On June 22, 1999, the Corporation was accepted by the federal government as an approved fund under the Immigrant Investor Program (IIP).

b) Primary Purpose

The OIIC was established to act as the Government of Ontario’s vehicle for receiving and investing Ontario’s share of immigrant investor funds, as required by the federal government under the federal Immigrant Investor Program (IIP). The OIIC’s principal responsibility is to receive and invest Ontario’s share of funds from immigrant investors and to pay back immigrant investors upon the maturity of their investment in five years.

The broad goal of the OIIC is to create or continue employment in Ontario in order to foster the development of a strong and viable economy, consistent with the requirements of the regulations under the federal Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA).

c) Corporation Status

The 2014 Federal budget announced the termination of the IIP. Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) has indicated to the OIIC through formal estimates that there are 160 total outstanding cases to be processed. CIC is committed to processing these remaining cases, which represents a figure of $29.8M. However, CIC has indicated that the quoted remaining figures are not guaranteed to be approved through the program. This means that the total remaining allocation amount for Ontario may vary from this sum. Ontario can expect to receive its share of the remaining funds by the end of March 2016. The repayment of this allocation to the immigrant investors after five years will occur in 2020-21. Accordingly, the OIIC will remain operational until 2020-21 to meet its obligations under the Immigrant Investor Program and is expected to wind up shortly thereafter.

In February 2015, the OIIC was transferred from the Ministry of Economic Development, Employment, and Infrastructure (MEDEI) to the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration (MCIIT). OIIC program staff have been working with the OIIC Board of Directors and Officers to finalize the transition of governance roles, program delivery, and financial reporting responsibilities.

d) Governance and Management

The OIIC reports to the Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade through the Chair of the Board of Directors. There must be at least three members of the Board of Directors in order to meet quorum at all meetings. Board members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.  There were four directors serving at fiscal year end March 31, 2015:

Name Position Tenure

Robert Burns

Chair May 12, 2010- July 26, 2016

Susan Guinn

Vice Chair May 17, 2006- July 26, 2016
Cameron Sinclair Director February 8, 2015- April 21, 2018
Tony LaMantia Director October 17, 2012- October 16, 2015

Four executive officers were carrying out the day-to-day operations of OIIC at fiscal year end March 31, 2015:

Name Position Appointment Date

Ramneet Aujla

President July 4, 2014

Lawrence Wagner

Chief Financial Officer January 25, 2013
Sabrina Parnham General Manager July 4, 2014
Jim Sahdra Secretary January 25, 2013

 

Program Operations and Performance:

Ontario has always taken a prudent approach to investment given that the province is obligated to repay funds to the immigrant investors in five years.  Accordingly, similar to other participating provinces, Ontario had previously only utilized the interest accrued on the capital to invest in economic development and job creation. 

In 2014-2015, the OIIC continued to manage investment under the Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures (SIPP) to ensure compliance with the Federal Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Through the existing Credit Facility/Loan Agreement between the OIIC and the Ontario Infrastructure and Lands Corporation (IO), funds received from OIIC were used towards infrastructure projects and job creation in Ontario. In addition, the OIIC provided information to CIC as per the federal Immigrant Investor program reporting requirements.

For the fiscal year April 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015 OIIC received $75.7M in IIP funds from the federal government. The OIIC loaned $42M of these funds to IO which supported eight economic development projects and created 2,859 jobs. This represents 55.5% of IIP allocations invested in economic development and job creation projects. In August 2014, IO indicated that it will no longer be accepting funds from the OIIC. The Loan Agreement between the OIIC and IO is set to expire on December 23, 2015.

These infrastructure projects will promote economic growth and job creation by building and maintaining healthy infrastructure/roadways, supporting public safety and environmental protection.

Below are examples of IO infrastructure projects funded in 2014-2015:

Recipient Business/Entity Name: Description of Use of Funds Forecasted Projection of the Number of FTE's to be created

Town of Amherstburg

Road construction and repair 274

Town of Essex

Fire station infrastructure expansion & upgrade 137

City of Hamilton

Stadium and other infrastructure construction and renovation

274

City of Vaughan

City infrastructure construction and upgrade 12

City of Thunder Bay

Communication infrastructure - DSLAM deployment

314
 

During this fiscal year, the OIIC continued to use a portion of funds to support previous funding commitments to the Ministry of Research and Innovation, via the Innovation Demonstration Fund (IDF), in its efforts to assist innovative companies to develop emerging technologies.

Financial Operations and Performance:

During the fiscal year ended 2014-2015, the OIIC received Provincial Allocations representing Ontario’s share of payments made by 428 immigrant investors under the Immigrant Investor Program. These funds were deposited into the Corporation’s interest bearing account by the federal government, and then transferred to the Ontario Financing Authority (OFA) for investment.  The investments included loans to IO, fixed income securities issued by the Province of Ontario (maturing between one and five years) and investments to IDF.

A copy of the audited financial statements of the OIIC for the year ended March 31, 2015 follows.

Accueil > À propos du ministère > Société Ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFFI) - Rapport annuel 2014 - 2015

Société ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFII)
Rapport annuel 2014 - 2015

La Société et son mandat

a) Constitution de la Société

La Société ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFII) a été constituée en personne morale sous la forme d'un organisme opérationnel du gouvernement de l'Ontario le 30 avril 1999. Le 22 juin 1999, elle a été admise par le gouvernement fédéral comme fonds agréé dans le cadre du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs (PII).

b) But premier

La SOGFII a été constituée pour servir d'organe au gouvernement de l'Ontario chargé de percevoir et d'investir la quote-part ontarienne des fonds des investisseurs immigrants, comme l'exige le gouvernement fédéral en vertu du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs (PII). La principale responsabilité de la SOGFII consiste à percevoir et investir la quote-part ontarienne des fonds des investisseurs immigrants, et à les rembourser cinq années plus tard, une fois leur placement arrivé à échéance.

L'objectif général de la SOGFII est de créer ou de préserver des emplois en Ontario afin de favoriser le développement d’une économie solide et viable, conformément aux exigences des règlements pris en application de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) fédérale.

c) Statut de la Société

Le budget fédéral de 2014 a annoncé la clôture du PII. Par le biais d'estimations officielles, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) a signalé à la SOGFII qu'il restait un total de 160 dossiers en souffrance. CIC s'emploie à traiter ces dossiers restants, ce qui représente une somme de 29,8 M$. Cependant, CIC a indiqué qu'il n'était pas garanti que les sommes estimatives restantes soient approuvées par le programme. Cela signifie que le montant total de la dernière allocation revenant à l'Ontario est susceptible de différer de cette somme. L'Ontario peut s'attendre à percevoir sa quote-part des fonds subsistants d'ici à la fin du mois de mars 2016. Le remboursement de cette allocation aux investisseurs immigrants après cinq ans surviendra en 2020-2021. Par conséquent, la SOGFII continuera de fonctionner jusqu'en 2020-2021 en vue de satisfaire à ses obligations en vertu du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs et devrait être liquidée peu après.

En février 2015, la SOGFII a été transférée du ministère du Développement économique, de l'Emploi et de l'Infrastructure (MDEEI) au ministère des Affaires civiques, de l'Immigration et du Commerce international (MACICI). Le personnel chargé du programme de la SOGFII collabore avec le conseil et les attachés d'administration de la SOGFII pour finaliser la passation des rôles de gouvernance, de la prestation du programme et des responsabilités en matière de communication de l'information financière.

d) Gouvernance et gestion

La SOGFII rend compte au ministère des Affaires civiques, de l'Immigration et du Commerce international par l'intermédiaire du président du conseil d'administration. Le conseil d'administration doit compter au moins trois membres pour atteindre le quorum lors de toutes les réunions. Les membres du conseil sont nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil. Quatre administrateurs siégeaient à la fin de l'exercice financier clos le 31 mars 2015 :

Nom Poste Mandat

Robert Burns

Président 12 mai 2010-26 juillet 2016

Susan Guinn

Vice-présidente 12 mai 2010-26 juillet 2016
Cameron Sinclair Administrateur 8 février 2015-21 avril 2018
Tony LaMantia Administrateur 8 février 2015-21 avril 2018

Quatre attachés d'administration effectuaient les activités quotidiennes de la SOGFII à la fin de l'exercice financier clos le 31 mars 2015 :

Nom Nom Date de nomination

Ramneet Aujla

Présidente 4 juillet 2014

Lawrence Wagner

Directeur général des finances 25 janvier 2013
Sabrina Parnham Administratrice générale 4 juillet 2014
Jim Sahdra Secrétaire 25 janvier 2013

 

Gestion du programme et rendement :

L'Ontario a toujours adopté une approche prudente en matière de placements, étant donné que la province est tenue de rembourser les fonds aux investisseurs immigrants après cinq ans. Par conséquent, l'Ontario ne faisait auparavant qu'utiliser l'intérêt couru sur le capital pour investir en faveur du développement économique et de la création d'emplois, à l'instar des autres provinces participantes.

En 2014-2015, la SOGFII a continué de gérer ses placements selon l'énoncé des politiques et des procédures de placement (EPPP) afin de s'assurer d'être en conformité avec la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés fédérale. Grâce à la facilité de crédit/convention de prêt existante entre la SOGFII et la Société ontarienne des infrastructures et de l'immobilier (IO), les fonds reçus de la part de la SOGFII ont été employés pour les projets d'infrastructure et la création d'emplois en Ontario. En outre la SOGFII a fourni des renseignements à CIC, conformément aux exigences en matière de rapport du Programme fédéral d'immigration des investisseurs.

Au titre de l'exercice financier allant du 1er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2015, la SOGFII a perçu 75,7 M$ de fonds de la part du gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre du PII. Elle a prêté 42 M$ de ces fonds à IO, qui a appuyé huit projets de développement économique et créé 2 859 emplois. Cela signifie que 55,5 p. 100 des allocations du PII ont été investis dans des projets de développement économique et de création d'emplois. En août 2014, IO a indiqué qu'elle n'accepterait plus de fonds de la part de la SOGFII. La convention de prêt entre la SOGFII et IO expirera le 23 décembre 2015.

Ces projets d'infrastructure stimuleront la croissance économique et la création d'emplois en construisant et en entretenant une infrastructure et des chaussées saines, et en assurant la sécurité publique et la protection de l'environnement.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des exemples de projets d'infrastructure d'IO financés en 2014-2015 :

Nom de l'entreprise/entité bénéficiaire : Description de l'utilisation des fonds Projection prévue du nombre d'ETP qui seront créés

Ville d'Amherstburg

Travaux de construction routière et de voirie 274

Ville d'Essex

Agrandissement et modernisation de la caserne de pompiers 137

Ville de Hamilton

Travaux de construction et de rénovation du stade et d'autres infrastructures

274

Ville de Vaughan

Travaux de construction et de rénovation de l'infrastructure de la ville

12
Ville de Thunder Bay

Infrastructure des communications – déploiement de DSLAM

314
 

Durant cet exercice financier, la SOGFII a continué d'utiliser une portion des fonds pour respecter des engagements de financement antérieurs pris par le ministère de la Recherche et de l'Innovation par l'intermédiaire du Fonds pour les projets pilotes d'innovation (FPPI), dans le cadre de ses efforts visant à aider les sociétés innovantes à mettre au point de nouvelles technologies.

Gestion financière et rendement :

Durant l'exercice financier 2014-2015, la SOGFII a touché des allocations provinciales correspondant à la quote-part de l'Ontario des versements effectués par 428 investisseurs immigrants dans le cadre du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs. Ces fonds ont été déposés par le gouvernement fédéral sur le compte portant intérêt de la Société, avant d'être transférés à l'Office ontarien de financement (OOF) aux fins de placement. Les placements comprenaient des prêts à IO, des titres à revenu fixe émis par la province de l'Ontario (arrivant à échéance entre un et cinq ans) et des investissements en faveur du FPPI.

Vous trouverez ci-après une copie des états financiers vérifiés de la SOGFII pour l'exercice clos le 31 mars 2015.