Home > About the Ministry > Ontario Immigrant Investment Corporation (OIIC) Business Plan 2015 - 2018

Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (OIIC)
Business Plan 2015 – 2018

1.0 Executive Summary

The Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (OIIC) Business Plan captures the key accomplishments in the 2014-15 fiscal year and provides insights into the fund’s main activities anticipated from 2015-18.

Based on the current Credit Facility/Loan Agreement between the OIIC and the Ontario Infrastructure and Lands Corporation (IO), $42M was invested in infrastructure projects and 2,859 jobs have been created with Immigrant Investor Program (IIP) funds that were allocated to IO’s loan program for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

The 2014 Federal budget announced the termination of the IIP. Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) has indicated to the OIIC through formal estimates that there are 73 total outstanding cases to be processed. CIC is committed to processing these remaining cases, which represents a figure of $11,760,550. However, CIC has indicated that the quoted remaining figures are not guaranteed to be approved through the program. This means that the total remaining allocation amount for Ontario may vary from this sum. Ontario can expect to receive its share of the remaining funds in the 2016 calendar year. The repayment of these allocations to CIC will occur after five years, in 2020-21. Accordingly, the OIIC will remain operational until 2020-21 to meet its obligations under the Immigrant Investor Program and is expected to wind up shortly thereafter.

The OIIC will continue to manage its resources wisely and prudently, fulfill its mandate, and take any necessary steps to mitigate risks arising from the termination of the federal Immigrant Investor Program.

2.0 Mandate

The Corporation was established to act as a receiving vehicle for immigrant investor funds, as required by the federal government under the Federal Immigrant Investor Program. Under the IIP, each participating province is required to establish a vehicle to receive and invest immigrant investor dollars for the purposes of “creating or continuing employment in Canada in order to foster the development of a strong and viable economy” and to pay back immigrant investors upon the maturity of their investment. Immigrant investors loan the Corporation money, which is evidenced by a promissory note, and the amount is repaid, without interest, in five years. Each participating province guarantees immigrant investors that the promissory note will be honoured. (Each province is liable for repayment of only its share of the amount invested by the immigrant investors.)

3.0 Governance and Organizational Structure

The Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (OIIC) is an operational enterprise of the Ontario government, incorporated on April 30, 1999 under the Development Corporations Act and approved by the federal government as an “approved fund” on June 22, 1999.  The OIIC governance and organizational structure is depicted in the chart below:

The Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade (MCIIT) is responsible for providing overall government direction to the Corporation through the Chair of the Board of Directors, including:

The OIIC is governed by a Board of Directors, which reports to the Minister of MCIIT.

4. Environmental Scan

Following the federal government’s announcement to review the federal immigration programs in 2011, the government began public roundtable discussions on the federal Immigrant Investor Program (IIP) in April 2012. Following consultations in 2013, the federal government announce in the 2014 budget the elimination of the Immigrant Investor Program. Ontario can expect to receive its share of the remaining funds (maximum $11,760,550) in the 2016 calendar year. Provinces are obligated to adhere to the repayment schedule, which requires that the principal investment be returned to the immigrant investor after five years. As a result, the Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation will remain operational until 2020-21.

In 2014-15, CIC processed and approved a monthly average of 31.9 applications designated to Ontario. This is a significant decrease from 2013-14, and is the lowest average number of applicants accepted since 2003-04. Given the termination of the IIP, it is expected that investor intake figures will continue to decrease as CIC approves fewer applications on a monthly basis.

The table below provides a summary based on the information provided by CIC of the annual number of immigrant investors since the implementation of the IIP, based on a calendar year.

Calendar Year Immigrant Investors approved
2000 20
2001 56
2002 90
2003 89
2004 524
2005 857
2006 577
2007 980
2008 1,423
2009 1,307
2010 1,702
2011 1,222
2012 897
2013 1,312
2014 502
2015 (forecasted) 39
2016 (forecasted) 36
2017 (forecasted) 0
2018 (forecasted) 0

For the 2014 calendar year, Ontario received the largest amount of the Provincial Allocations from CIC totalling approx. 35.8% ($130M) of total federal allocations as shown in the chart below: 

CIC Allocations to Provinces/Terriories as of December, 2014

Provinces/TerritoriesPercentage (%)
Ontario35.8
P.E.I6.5
B.C 15.9
Manitoba 8.8
Newfoundland 7.7
Nova Scotia 7.9
New Brunswick 7.6
Saskatchewan 9.7

* Based on Provincial Allocation Report from CIC for the 2014 Calendar Year

Since the inception of the program, Ontario has received approximately 42.3% of total net allocations to participating provinces. 

5.0 Strategies and Activities

The goal of the OIIC is to create or continue employment in Ontario in order to foster the development of a strong and viable economy, as mandated by the regulations under the federal Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA).

Under the IRPA, each participating province is required to receive and invest immigrant investor dollars for the purposes of “creating or continuing employment in Canada in order to foster the development of a strong and viable economy” and to repay immigrant investors after five years.

In accordance with the signed agreement between Infrastructure Ontario and OIIC, IO’s Loan Program makes low-cost, fixed and floating-rate investments through Ontario’s broader public sector partners to renew and build critical public infrastructure. These investments play an important economic development and job creation role in the Province.   

As per the loan agreement, based on the amount of funds received from CIC, OIIC directs a minimum of $12.5M of the OIIC monthly allocations to IO. If OIIC receives funds in excess of $12.5M in any given month, IO may request additional funds and approval will be provided by the OIIC Board of Directors.  As well, if the monthly amount received from CIC is less than $12.5M, then the shortfall will be made up in the following months, where the funds received are in excess of the $12.5M. In August 2014, IO indicated that it will no longer be accepting funds from the OIIC. The formal Loan Agreement between the OIIC and IO is set to expire on December 23, 2015. The first loan to IO was made in February 2011.

The current floating variable rate in the loan agreement has allowed IO to flow the capital more quickly. IO has been able to offer a lower interest rate to their clients, allowing them to increase the amount of funds being borrowed and invested. The floating rate will be reviewed by OFA on a 3 month basis to ensure there is no risk in repaying back the immigrant investors in 5 years.

By the end of March 2015, OIIC had transferred $42M or 55.5% of CIC allocations received to IO, which supported various economic development projects including:

Recipient Business/Entity Name:

Description of Use of Funds

Number of FTE's* created

Town of Amherstburg

Road construction and repair

274

Town of Essex

Fire station infrastructure expansion & upgrade

137

City of Hamilton

Stadium and other infrastructure construction and renovation

274

City of Vaughan

City infrastructure construction and upgrade

12

City of Thunder Bay

Communication infrastructure - DSLAM deployment

314

*FTE’s = full time equivalents

6.0 Performance Measures and Targets

OIIC performance measures:

  1. To ensure that funds are secure and earn a positive return on investments.
  2. To stimulate economic development and job creation through public infra-structure investments

Under the investment strategy (SIIP), a significant portion of the IIP principal is directed to infrastructure investments under Infrastructure Ontario’s Loan Program to support economic development and job creation with targets of 5,000 full-time jobs for every $75 million invested.

7.0 Resources and Staff

Historically, MEDEI staff in the Business Immigration Branch has carried out all of the duties of the Corporation, as appropriate, along with financial support from MEDEI’s Corporate Services Division. However, in February 2015 the OIIC was formally transferred to MCIIT.

Under the transfer to MCIIT, Business Immigration and Selection Branch staff will continue to provide policy and administrative support to the Corporation, ensuring the Agency continues to meet Agency and Appointments Directive (AAD) requirements. MEDEI’s Corporate Services Division will continue providing financial tracking and reporting support to the Agency. In addition, the Business Immigration Branch will monitor changes at the federal level.

8.0 Financial Projections

Financial projections for the OIIC assume that the federal IIP will continue to wind-down, and as a result investor intake figures and monthly allocation amounts will decline significantly from recent yearly averages.

Number of Investors:  

Participating Provinces/Territories:

The current federal Immigrant Investor Program (IIP) came into effect on April 1, 1999.  By virtue of the Canada-Quebec Accord, Quebec has its own separate program.

Ontario, Prince Edward Island, British Columbia, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan and New Brunswick are currently participating provinces in the IIP. If all the provinces and territories outside of Quebec choose to participate in the IIP, Ontario’s share would be reduced to 27.9%. 

Investment Policy:

Funds will continue to be managed by OFA to ensure that the outstanding obligations to immigrant investors can be met in their entirety and that OIIC funds accumulate the interests in order to be able to meet the repayment schedule to CIC.

Forecasted Statement of Operations* – March 31 ($M)

  2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Revenue      
Interest Income 17.2469 10.9127 8.4797
Total revenue 17.2469 10.9127 8.4797
       
Expenses      
Amortization of deferred commission 8.4644 5.6974 3.9741
Investment Management fee 1.7846 1.4197 1.1294
Banking fees .003 .003 .003
Total expenses 10.2520 7.1202 5.1066
       
Excess of revenues over expenses 6.9949 3.7925 3.3731
Accumulated surplus, beginning of year 115.9457 122.9406 126.7331
Accumulated surplus, end of year 122.9406 126.7331 130.1062

* Forecasted figures are taken from the 2015-16 MEDEI PRRT.

9.0 Risk Analysis and Contingency Planning

The following risks have been identified and contingencies put in place:

  1. Withdrawal of participating provinces/territories prior to all money being allocated.
    • Funds are allocated based on the respective GDP’s of participating provinces and territories. Should any jurisdiction withdraw from the program before it is finalized, Ontario would receive a larger portion of the funds, which would alter financial projections.
  2. Limited capacity to direct additional funds to economic development projects.
    • IO has indicated that they will no longer be taking any new funds from the OIIC. Given that the Loan Agreement is set to expire in December 2015, and that the federal IIP has been terminated and is in a wind-down phase it is not anticipated that this poses a serious risk to the Province of Ontario.

10.0 Communications Plan

Business Immigration will continue to coordinate communication amongst those areas involved in or impacted by the elimination of the IIP.

Accueil > À propos du ministère > Société Ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFFI) - Rapport annuel 2015-2018

Société Ontarienne de gestion des fonds des
Investisseurs Immigrants (SOGFII)
Plan d'activités 2015 – 2018

1.0 Sommaire

Le plan d'activités de la Société ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFII) identifie les réalisations clés durant l'exercice financier 2014-2015 et donne un aperçu des principales activités prévues pour le fonds de 2015 à 2018.

Sur la base de la facilité de crédit/convention de prêt courante entre la SOGFII et la Société ontarienne des infrastructures et de l'immobilier (IO), 42 M$ ont été investis dans des projets d'infrastructure et 2 859 emplois ont été créés grâce aux fonds du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs (PII) ayant été alloués au Programme de prêts d'IO au titre de l'exercice financier 2014-2015.

Le budget fédéral de 2014 a annoncé la clôture du PII. Par le biais d'estimations officielles, Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) a signalé à la SOGFII qu'il restait au total 73 dossiers en souffrance. CIC s'emploie à traiter ces dossiers restants, ce qui représente une somme de 11 760 550 $. Cependant, CIC a indiqué qu'il n'était pas garanti que les sommes estimatives restantes soient approuvées par le programme. Cela signifie que le montant total de la dernière allocation revenant à l'Ontario est susceptible de différer de cette somme. L'Ontario peut s'attendre à percevoir sa quote-part des fonds subsistants durant l'année civile 2016. Le remboursement de cette allocation à CIC surviendra cinq ans après, en 2020-2021. Par conséquent, la SOGFII continuera de fonctionner jusqu'en 2020-2021 en vue de satisfaire à ses obligations en vertu du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs et devrait être liquidée peu après.

La SOGFII continuera de gérer ses ressources en faisant preuve de prudence et de discernement, de remplir son mandat et de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour atténuer les risques découlant de la clôture du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs fédéral.

2.0 Mandat

La Société a été constituée pour servir d'organe de perception des fonds des investisseurs immigrants, comme l'exige le gouvernement fédéral en vertu du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs. En vertu du PII, chaque province participante est tenue de créer un organe chargé de percevoir et d'investir l’argent d’investisseurs immigrants dans le but de « créer ou de préserver des emplois au Canada afin de favoriser le développement d’une économie solide et viable » et de rembourser les investisseurs immigrants une fois leur placement arrivé à échéance. Les investisseurs immigrants prêtent de l’argent à la Société, ce qui est matérialisé par un billet à ordre, et le montant est remboursé sans intérêt cinq ans plus tard. Chacune des provinces participantes garantit aux investisseurs immigrants que le billet à ordre sera honoré. (Chaque province n'est redevable que de sa quote-part du montant investi par les investisseurs immigrants.)

3.0 Structure de gouvernance et d'organisation

Entreprise opérationnelle du gouvernement de l'Ontario constituée en personne morale le 30 avril 1999 en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés de développement, la Société ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFII) a été admise par le gouvernement fédéral comme « fonds agréé » le 22 juin 1999. La structure de gouvernance et d'organisation de la SOGFII est décrite dans l’organigramme ci-dessous :

Il incombe au ministre des Affaires civiques, de l'Immigration et du Commerce international (MACICI) de donner une orientation gouvernementale générale à la Société par l'intermédiaire de la présidente du conseil d'administration, y compris :

La SOGFII est régie par un conseil d'administration qui rend compte au ministre des Affaires civiques, de l'Immigration et du Commerce international.

4.0 Analyse environnementale

Suite à l’annonce par le gouvernement fédéral de son intention de passer en revue les programmes d’immigration fédéraux en 2011, le gouvernement a commencé à organiser des tables rondes publiques sur le Programme d'immigration des investisseurs (PII) fédéral, en avril 2012. Au terme de consultations tenues en 2013, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé la suppression du Programme d'immigration des investisseurs dans le budget 2014. L’Ontario peut s’attendre à percevoir sa quote-part des fonds subsistants (11 760 550 $ au maximum) durant l'année civile 2016. Les provinces sont tenues de se conformer au calendrier de remboursement, qui exige que le placement principal soit reversé à l’investisseur immigrant après cinq ans. Par conséquent, la Société de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants continuera de fonctionner jusqu’en 2020-2021.

En 2014-2015, CIC a traité et approuvé une moyenne mensuelle de 31,9 demandes affectées à l’Ontario. La diminution est considérable par rapport à 2013-2014 : il s'agit du nombre moyen de demandeurs acceptés le plus bas depuis 2003-2004. Compte tenu de la clôture du PII, le nombre d'investisseurs admis devrait continuer de décliner dans la mesure où CIC approuvera chaque mois moins de demandes.

Le tableau ci-dessous constitue un récapitulatif, d'après les données fournies par CIC, du nombre d'investisseurs immigrants par année civile depuis la mise en œuvre du PII.

Année civile Investisseurs immigrants approuvés
2000 20
2001 56
2002 90
2003 89
2004 524
2005 857
2006 577
2007 980
2008 1,423
2009 1,307
2010 1,702
2011 1,222
2012 897
2013 1,312
2014 502
2015 (prévision) 39
2016 (prévision) 36
2017 (prévision) 0
2018 (prévision) 0

Pour l'année civile 2014, l'Ontario a perçu le montant le plus important parmi les allocations provinciales de CIC, s'élevant à environ 35,8 p. 100 (130 M$) des allocations fédérales totales, comme le montre le graphique ci-dessous :

Allocations de CIC aux provinces/territoires au mois de décembre 2014*

Provinces/territoires pourcentage (%)
Ontario35.8
Î.-P.-É.6.5
C.-B. 15.9
Manitoba 8.8
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 7.7
Nouvelle-Écosse 7.9
Nouveau-Brunswick 7.6
Saskatchewan 9.7

*D'après le rapport de CIC sur les allocations provinciales pour l'année  civile 2014

Depuis le lancement du programme, l'Ontario a perçu approximativement 42,3 p. 100 des allocations nettes totales versées aux provinces participantes.

5.0 Stratégies et activités

L'objectif de la SOGFII est de créer ou de préserver des emplois en Ontario afin de favoriser le développement d’une économie solide et viable, conformément aux exigences des règlements pris en application de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) fédérale.

En vertu de la LIPR, chaque province participante est tenue de percevoir et d'investir l’argent d’investisseurs immigrants dans le but de « créer ou de préserver des emplois au Canada afin de favoriser le développement d’une économie solide et viable » et de rembourser les investisseurs immigrants après cinq ans.

Conformément à la convention signée entre Infrastructure Ontario et la SOGFII, leProgramme de prêts d'IO effectue des placements à bas coût et à taux fixe ou flottant par le truchement des partenaires du secteur parapublic de l'Ontario, afin de moderniser et de construire des infrastructures publiques essentielles. Ces placements jouent un rôle prépondérant dans le développement économique et la création d'emplois au sein de la province.

Selon la convention de prêt et la somme de fonds reçue de la part de CIC, la SOGFII alloue un montant minimal de 12,5 M$ de ses allocations mensuelles à IO. Si la SOGFII perçoit une somme supérieure à 12,5 M$ durant un mois donné, IO peut demander des fonds supplémentaires sur approbation du conseil d’administration de la SOGFII. De même, si la somme mensuelle reçue de la part de CIC est inférieure à 12,5 M$, l'insuffisance sera alors compensée au cours des mois suivants, lorsque les fonds perçus dépasseront les 12,5 M$. En août 2014, IO a indiqué qu'elle n'accepterait plus de fonds de la part de la SOGFII. La convention de prêt officielle entre la SOGFII et IO expirera le 23 décembre 2015. Le premier prêt à IO a été consenti en février 2011.

Le taux flottant actuellement en vigueur aux termes de la convention de prêt a permis à IO de faire circuler les capitaux plus rapidement. IO a été en mesure de proposer un taux d’intérêt inférieur à ses clients, qui ont pu emprunter et investir davantage de fonds. Le taux flottant sera examiné par l’OOF tous les trimestres pour garantir que le remboursement des investisseurs immigrants dans cinq ans ne présentera aucun risque.

À la fin du mois de mars 2015, la SOGFII avait transféré à IO 42 M$, soit 55,5 p. 100 des allocations reçues de la part de CIC, ce qui a permis d'appuyer divers projets de développement économique, y compris :

Nom de l'entreprise/entité bénéficiaire : Description de l'utilisation des fonds Nombre d'ETP* créés
Ville d'Amherstburg Travaux de construction routière et de voirie 274

Ville d'Essex Agrandissement et modernisation de la caserne de pompiers 137

Ville de Hamilton Travaux de construction et de rénovation du stade et d'autres infrastructures 274

Ville de Vaughan City infrastructure constTravaux de construction et de rénovation du stade et d'autres infrastructuresruction and upgrade

12

Ville de Thunder Bay Infrastructure des communications – déploiement de DSLAM 314

*ETP = équivalents temps plein

6.0 Mesures et objectifs de rendement

Mesures de rendement de la SOGFII :

  1. S'assurer que les fonds sont protégés et obtenir un rendement du capital investi positif.
  2. Stimuler le développement économique et la création d'emplois en investissant en faveur de l'infrastructure publique.

Conformément à la stratégie en matière de placement (EPPP), une part importante du principal du PII est affectée à des investissements infrastructurels dans le cadre du Programme de prêts d’Infrastructure Ontario, le but étant de favoriser le développement économique et la création d’emplois en visant les 5 000 emplois à temps plein créés pour chaque tranche de 75 millions de dollars investie.

7.0 Ressources et personnel

Traditionnellement, c'est le personnel de la Direction de l'immigration liée au développement des affaires du MDEEI qui s'acquitte, au besoin, de toutes les tâches de la Société avec le soutien financier de la Division des services généraux du ministère. Toutefois, la SOGFII a été officiellement transférée au MACICI en février 2015.

Dans le cadre du transfert au MACICI, le personnel de la Direction de l'immigration liée au développement des affaires et des programmes de sélection continuera de fournir un soutien administratif et stratégique à la Société, pour veiller à ce que l'organisme continue de respecter les exigences de la Directive concernant les organismes et les nominations. La Division des services généraux du MDEEI continuera d'assurer un soutien en matière de suivi et de rapports auprès de l'organisme. En outre, la Direction de l'immigration liée au développement des affaires surveillera les changements survenant à l'échelon fédéral.

8.0 Projections financières

Les projections financières concernant la SOGFII partent du principe que le PII fédéral va continuer de réduire progressivement ses opérations, et que par conséquent, le nombre d'investisseurs admis et le montant de l'allocation mensuelle vont décliner considérablement par rapport aux moyennes annuelles récentes.

Nombre d'investisseurs :

Provinces/territoires participants :

Le Programme d'immigration des investisseurs (PII) fédéral actuel est entré en vigueur le 1er avril 1999. Aux termes de l'Accord Canada-Québec, le Québec dispose de son propre programme.

À l'heure actuelle, les provinces participant au PII sont l'Ontario, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la Colombie-Britannique, le Manitoba, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la Nouvelle-Écosse, la Saskatchewan et le Nouveau-Brunswick. Si hormis le Québec, toutes les provinces et tous les territoires décidaient de participer au PII, la quote-part de l’Ontario serait ramenée à 27,9 p. 100. 

Politique de placement :

L’OOF continuera de gérer les fonds de façon à s’assurer que les obligations non réglées envers les investisseurs immigrants sont honorées dans leur intégralité et à permettre aux fonds de la SOGFII d’accumuler les intérêts nécessaires pour respecter le calendrier de remboursement à CIC.

État prévisionnel des opérations* – 31 mars (M$)

  2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
Produit      
Intérêts créditeurs 17.2469 10.9127 8.4797
Produit total 17.2469 10.9127 8.4797
       
Charges      
Amortissement de commission différée 8.4644 5.6974 3.9741
Frais de gestion des placements 1.7846 1.4197 1.1294
Frais bancaires .003 .003 .003
Charges totales 10.2520 7.1202 5.1066
       
Excédent du produit sur les charges 6.9949 3.7925 3.3731
Excédent accumulé, début d'exercice 115.9457 122.9406 126.7331
Excédent accumulé, fin d'exercice 122.9406 126.7331 130.1062

* Chiffres prévisionnels provenant du Processus d'ERRP du MDEEI en 2015-2016.

9.0 Analyse des risques et planification des mesures d'urgence

Les risques suivants ont été identifiés et des mesures d'urgence ont été mises en place :

  1. Retrait des provinces/territoires participants avant que tout l'argent ait été alloué.
    • Les fonds sont alloués en fonction du PIB respectif des provinces et territoires participants. Au cas où une province ou un territoire se retirerait du programme avant qu'il soit clos, l'Ontario recevrait une plus grande part des fonds, ce qui modifierait les projections financières.
  2. Capacité limitée d'affecter des fonds supplémentaires à des projets de développement économique.
    • IO a indiqué qu'elle n'accepterait plus de fonds de la part de la SOGFII. Étant donné que la convention de prêt expirera en décembre 2015, et que le PII fédéral a été clos et est en passe d'être liquidé, cela ne devrait pas constituer un risque sérieux pour la province de l'Ontario.

10.0 Plan de communications

La Direction de l'immigration liée au développement des affaires continuera de coordonner les communications entre les secteurs concernés ou touchés par la suppression du PII.