Home > About the Ministry > Ontario Immigrant Investment Corporation (OIIC) Annual Report 2011 - 2012

Ontario Immigrant Investment Corporation (OIIC) Annual Report 2011 - 2012

Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation

The Corporation and its Mandate

a) Establishment of the Corporation

The Ontario Immigrant Investor Corporation (OIIC) was incorporated as an operating agency of the Ontario government on April 30, 1999. On June 22, 1999, the Corporation was accepted by the federal government as an approved fund under the Immigrant Investor Program (IIP).

b) Primary Purpose
The OIIC was established to act as the Government of Ontario’s vehicle for receiving and investing Ontario’s share of immigrant investor funds, as required by the federal government under the federal Immigrant Investor Program (IIP). The OIIC’s principal responsibility is to received and invest Ontario’s share of funds from immigrant investors and to pay back immigrant investors upon the maturity of their investment in five years.

The broad goal of the OIIC is to create or continue employment in Ontario in order to foster the development of a strong and viable economy, consistent with the requirements of the regulations under the federal Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA).

c) Governance and Management
The Minister of Economic Development and Innovation (MEDI) was responsible for directing the OIIC through the Chair of the Board of Directors during fiscal year 2011 - 2012. The OIIC reported to the Minister of Economic Development and Innovation through the Chair of the Board of Directors.

Ontario Regulation 279/99, made under the Development Corporations Act, (the “OIIC Regulation”) stipulates that there must be at least three members of the Board of Directors, and that these members are to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. There were five directors serving at fiscal year end March 31, 2012:

Appointment dates, as well as length of each director’s term are provided in the table below.

Name Appointment Date Term
David Clifford May 12, 2010 July 27, 2013
Susan Guinn May 17, 2010 July 27, 2013
Tony Rockingham May 12, 2010 May 11, 2013
Hope Jaglowitz July 28, 2010 July 27, 2013
Cameron Sinclair February 8, 2012 February 8, 2015

Four executive officers were carrying out the OIIC’s responsibilities at fiscal year end March 31, 2012:

Officers hold office until successors are appointed. Appointment dates for the four executive officers named above are provided in the table below.

Name Position Appointment Date
Guy Poirier President July 19, 2010
Robert Burns Chief Financial Officer July 19, 2010
Sabrina Parnham General Manager October 1, 2010
Leila Dabir Secretary October 28, 2011

Program Operations and Performance:

Historically, Ontario has always taken a prudent approach to investment given that the province is obligated to repay funds to the immigrant investors. Accordingly, similar to other participating provinces, Ontario had previously only utilized the interest accrued on the capital to invest in economic development and job creation.

With the September 29, 2010 approval of a new investment strategy (the Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures - SIPP), a significant portion of the principal was also being utilized. This investment strategy is consistent with OIIC’s goals to create and/or continue employment in Ontario in order to foster the development of a strong and viable economy, as mandated by the regulations under the Federal Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

In order to implement the SIPP, a Credit Facility / Loan Agreement between the OIIC and Ontario Infrastructure and Lands Corporation (OILC) was signed on January 24, 2011, stipulating the funds received from OIIC will be used towards infrastructure projects and job creation.

Also included in the Loan agreement are the repayment terms and the reporting requirements. The OILC will provide information on a quarterly basis on the projects funded through the advances received from OIIC. This information will be included in the quarterly reports and submitted to CIC as per the IIP reporting requirements.

For the fiscal year April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2012, OIIC received $195.4M in IIP funds from the federal government. OIIC loaned $182.2M of these funds to OILC which supported 43 economic development projects and created 12,497 jobs. This represents 93% of IIP allocations invested in economic development and job creation projects, significantly exceeding Ontario’s obligations under the federal program.

These infrastructure projects will promote economic growth and job creation by building and maintaining healthy infrastructure/roadways, supporting public safety and environmental protection.

Below are examples of OILC infra-structure projects funded in 2011-2012:

Recipient Business/Entity Name: Description of Use of Funds Forecasted Projection of the Number of FTE's to be created
MaRS Phase 2 New building construction 472
The County of Brant Road construction and repair 151
The Regional Municipality of Niagara Municipal recreation infrastructure upgrades 367
The Regional Municipality of York Road construction and repair 327
St. Joseph’s Health Centre-Guelph Building construction 87
The City of London Sewer replacement and upgrade 720

Prior to February 2011, the Corporation invested all of its allocations in fixed Income securities issued by the Province of Ontario, maturing within five years. In general, zero-coupon bonds were purchased to align maturity dates to the Provincial Allocations repayment schedule. As at March 31, 2012, these fixed income securities had a weighted-average yield of 3.45% (2011 -3.67%).

During this fiscal year, the OIIC continued to use a portion of funds to support previous funding commitments to the former Ministry of Research and Innovation, via the Innovation Demonstration Fund (IDF), in its efforts to assist innovative companies to develop emerging technologies.

Financial Operations and Performance:

During the fiscal year ended 2011-2012, the OIIC received Provincial Allocations representing Ontario’s share of payments made by 1,273 immigrant investors under the Immigrant Investor Program. These funds were deposited into the Corporation’s interest bearing account by the federal government, and then transferred to the Ontario Financing Authority (OFA) for investment. The investments included loans to OILC, fixed income securities issued by the Province of Ontario (maturing between one and five years) and investments to IDF.

One refund was issued to an immigrant investor this fiscal year and the Provincial Allocations from 490 immigrant investors matured and their investments were repaid.

A copy of the audited financial statements of the OIIC for the year ended March 31, 2012 follows.

Accueil > À propos du ministère > Société Ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFFI) - Rapport annuel 2011-2012

Société Ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFFI) - Rapport annuel 2011-2012

Ministère du Développement économique et de l’Innovation

La Société et son mandat

a) Constitution de la Société

La Société ontarienne de gestion des fonds des investisseurs immigrants (SOGFII) a été constituée en entreprise opérationnelle du gouvernement de l’Ontario le 30 avril 1999. Le 22 juin 1999, la Société a été agréée par le gouvernement fédéral en tant que fonds agréé au titre du Programme d’immigration des investisseurs (PII).

b) Principale fonction
La SOGFII a été constituée dans le but de servir de véhicule permettant au gouvernement de l’Ontario de recevoir et d’investir la quote-part de l’Ontario des fonds d’investisseurs immigrants, comme le prescrit le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre du PII fédéral. La principale responsabilité de la SOGFII est de recevoir et d’investir la quote-part ontarienne des fonds d’investisseurs immigrants et de rembourser ces derniers cinq ans plus tard, quand leurs placements arrivent à échéance.

L’objectif global de la SOGFII est de créer ou de conserver des emplois en Ontario afin de favoriser le développement d’une économie forte et viable, conformément aux exigences prévues aux règlements afférents à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) fédérale.

c) Governance and Management
responsabilité de diriger la SOGFII par l’intermédiaire du président du conseil d’administration durant l’exercice 2011-2012. La SOGFII faisait rapport au ministre du Développement économique et de l’Innovation par l’intermédiaire du président du conseil d’administration.

Le règlement de l’Ontario 279/99, pris en application de la Loi sur les sociétés de développement, (le « Règlement relatif à la SOGFII ») stipule qu’au moins trois membres doivent siéger au conseil d’administration, et que ces membres doivent être nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil. Cinq administrateurs siégeaient au conseil à la fin de l’exercice clos le 31 mars 2012 :

Les dates de nomination, ainsi que la durée du mandat de chaque administrateur, sont indiquées dans le tableau qui suit.

Nom Date de nomination Fin du mandat
David Clifford 12 mai 2010 27 juillet 2013
Susan Guinn 17 mai 2010 27 juillet 2013
Tony Rockingham 12 mai 2010 11 mai 2013
Hope Jaglowitz 28 juillet 2010 27 juillet 2013
Cameron Sinclair 8 février 2012 8 février 2015

Quatre attachés d’administration s’acquittaient des responsabilités de la SOGFII à la fin de l’exercice clos le 31 mars 2012 :

Les agents exercent leurs fonctions jusqu’à ce que des successeurs soient nommés. Les dates de nomination des quatre attachés d’administration nommés précédemment sont indiquées dans le tableau suivant.

Nom Poste Date de nomination
Guy Poirier Président 19 juillet 2010
Robert Burns Directeur général des finances 19 juillet 2010
Sabrina Parnham Administratrice générale 1er octobre 2010
Leila Dabir Secrétaire 28 octobre 2011

Gestion et performance du programme :

Historiquement, l’Ontario a toujours adopté une approche prudente en matière de placements, étant donné que la province est tenue de rembourser les fonds aux investisseurs immigrants. En conséquence, à l’instar des autres provinces participantes, l’Ontario n’investissait auparavant que les intérêts courus sur le capital dans des projets de développement économique et de création d’emplois.

Depuis l’adoption, le 29 septembre 2010, d’une nouvelle stratégie de placement (l’Énoncé des politiques et des procédures de placement - EPPP), une partie importante du principal était également utilisée. Cette stratégie de placement est conforme aux objectifs de la SOGFII consistant à créer ou à conserver des emplois en Ontario qui favorisent le développement d’une économie forte et viable, comme le prescrivent les règlements afférents à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés fédérale.

Afin de mettre en oeuvre l’EPPP, la SOGFII et la Société ontarienne des infrastructures et de l’immobilier (IO) ont signé une facilité de crédit/contrat de prêt le 24 janvier 2011, stipulant que les fonds reçus de la SOGFII seront investis dans des projets d’infrastructure et de création d’emplois.

Le contrat de prêt énonce également les modalités de remboursement et les exigences en matière de rapports. IO fournira des informations sur une base trimestrielle concernant les projets financés au moyen des avances versées par la SOGFII. Ces informations seront incluses dans les rapports trimestriels et soumises à CIC conformément aux exigences en matière de rapports du PII.

Pour l’exercice du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2012, la SOGFII a reçu un montant de 195,4 M$ en fonds au titre du PII du gouvernement fédéral. La SOGFII a prêté un montant de 182,2 M$ de ces fonds à IO, qui a fourni du soutien à 43 projets de développement économique et créé 12 497 emplois. Cela représente 93 % des allocations du PII investies dans des projets de développement économique et de création d’emplois, ce qui dépasse largement les obligations de l’Ontario dans le cadre du programme fédéral.

Ces projets d’infrastructure favoriseront la croissance économique et la création d’emplois en contribuant à la construction et au maintien d’infrastructures/de chaussées en santé, et en promouvant la sécurité publique et la protection de l’environnement.

Voici quelques exemples de projets d’infrastructure d’IO financés en 2011-2012 :

Nom de l’entreprise/entité bénéficiaire : Description de l’utilisation des fonds Nombre prévu d’ETP qui seront créés
MaRS - Phase 2 Construction d’un nouveau bâtiment 472
Comté de Brant Construction routière et travaux de voirie 151
Municipalité régionale de Niagara Modernisation d’infrastructures récréatives municipales 367
Municipalité régionale de York Construction routière et travaux de voirie 327
Centre de santé St-Joseph - Guelph Construction immobilière 87
Ville de London Remplacement et modernisation d’égouts 720

Avant février 2011, la Société investissait toutes ses allocations dans des titres à revenu fixe émis par la province de l’Ontario et assortis d’une échéance de cinq ans. En général, des obligations zéro coupon étaient achetées de façon à faire concorder les dates d’échéance avec le calendrier de remboursement des allocations provinciales. Au 31 mars 2012, ces titres à revenu fixe offraient un rendement moyen pondéré de 3,45 % (3,67 % en 2011).

Durant cet exercice, la SOGFII a continué d’utiliser une partie des fonds pour soutenir des engagements de financement antérieurs auprès de l’ancien ministère de la Recherche et de l’Innovation, par le truchement du Fonds pour les projets pilotes d’innovation (FPPI), dans ses efforts pour aider des entreprises innovantes à mettre au point de nouvelles technologies.

Gestion et performance financières :

Durant l’exercice 2011-2012, la SOGFII a reçu des allocations provinciales représentant la quote-part de l’Ontario des paiements effectués par 1 273 investisseurs immigrants dans le cadre du Programme d’immigration des investisseurs. Ces fonds ont été déposés dans le compte portant intérêt de la Société par le gouvernement fédéral, puis transférés à l’Office ontarien de financement (OOF) aux fins de placement. Les placements comprenaient des prêts à IO, des titres à revenu fixe émis par la province de l’Ontario (assortis d’échéance de un à cinq ans) et des placements dans le FPPI.

Un remboursement a été émis à un investisseur immigrant au cours de l’exercice, et les allocations provinciales de 490 investisseurs immigrants sont arrivées à échéance et les montants qu’ils ont investis leur ont été remboursés.

Veuillez trouver ci-jointe une copie des états financiers audités de la SOGFII pour l’exercice clos le 31 mars 2012.